We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Unique Place to Stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed The Tea Factory in February this year, accompanying an old friend who was visiting Sri Lanka with her children - my rating is based on the overall experience, including kids' activities etc.

Cresting the steep, winding drive up to the property at dusk led to a wonderful first impression, seeing the hotel brightly lit up and giving off an air of a warm welcome on a cool and windy evening. The impression turned out to be quite accurate and the memory that stayed with me even more than the unique interior of this converted working factory was the warmth and hospitality of the hotel's staff, who went out of their way to look after from start to finish, from the greeting upon our arrival to the send-off upon our departure…

This has to be one of the most striking hotel interiors anywhere in the world, with its combination of high ceilings and polished wooden floors, set off against wrought-iron staircases and original tea factory machinery dotted here and there as highly unusual adornments. The atmosphere is reminiscent of colonial times and one almost expects to see a "pukka sahib" or two seated in the comfortable armchairs of the bar, sipping a cup of tea from the property's own tea-gardens and smoking a reflective pipe.

The hotel has also got to possess one of the most striking settings in the world, sitting above the clouds at an elevation of 6800ft, surrounded by emerald-green tea plantations with the hills of Nuwara Eliya in the distance - a stunning vista on a crisply cool, blue-skied day.

The hotel's rooms are not special - fairly standard fixtures and fittings, more colonial club than five star hotel, truth be told. The dish of fresh strawberries and cream provided as a welcoming treat was certainly more attractive than the bedclothes which, I hasten to add were clean and neat - just not particularly eye-catching.

Meals were also fairly standard buffet-fare in the main, though there was a set-menu three-course meal at dinner, which made up in quantity and aspiration for what it may possibly have lacked in élan. The breakfast buffet was superb, though, hitting all my sweet-spots in terms of fresh bread, bacon-and-eggs, the local pol symbol and good coffee in amongst a plentiful selection of other local and western offerings.

There was plenty for the kids to do, too, from pony rides to hikes to mini-golf to what was undoubtedly the highlight - donning traditional garb and plucking your own tea leaves from the mini tea garden and watching them being turned into the drinkable stuff in the mini tea factory. A very nice touch to round off the experience too, in the form of a packet of your tea to take away with you. The Indonesian spa on the premises provided a decent range of massage options, as well.

I would recommend the hotel as a unique experience, with decent food and lodging, made all the nicer by genuinely hospitable service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetherset, General Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feed back and to have enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and the unique hospitality extended by my team. We appreciate very much for sharing your experience with all readers and also for encouraging us to improve wherever required.
We thank you to have stayed at our hotel and look forward to see you again at Heritance Tea Factory.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,439
    774
    233
    66
    36
See reviews for
598
1,404
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay. Great location, away from the bustle of the city. Superb architecture. Lovely staff especially the restaurant folks - assistant chef Shanmu and Pradeep who waited on us were simply outstanding. The whole family including my girls enjoyed the stay. Will go back again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RaviKyran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

i spent my honeymoon there for 2 days.the staff was very friendly and we felt like @ home there.hotel staff even helped us to get lot of photos. food was excellent they even postponed the closing time of the lunch jst for us bcz we were late on arrival. superb view .best hotel i visited so far.love to vist once again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Sadly for us we only spent one night here, had we been in Sri Lanka for more than a week we would definitely have stayed longer.

After what seemed like the longest car journey through the beautiful scenery of tea fields we arrived at Heritance Tea Factory. We were welcomed with a traditional tea ceremony prior to checking in. We then had a delicious lunch in the main restaurant before going to our room. We had one of the rooms with a balcony and as our room was on the corner we had even more amazing views than we expected!

The hotel is high up with nothing near by but tea fields, so there are a number or organised walks and activities you can join. Or you can make use of the spa facilities, read all about the history of the building and how it was transformed from a tea factory into the hotel or spend all your time drinking the tea which is picked and made on site in the Hotel's small tea factory.

As we were only there for 1 night we opted to go tea picking in the afternoon and a walk around the grounds the following day. We also played on the hotel's mini putting green.

The tea picking was a lot of fun and ended with a tour of the tea factory and on departure were given a bag of tea leaves each as a souvenir. The walk we did the following morning was with a very knowledgeable guide and was well worth doing.

The hotel has a train carriage in the grounds (when this was a working tea factory it was the highest railway station) which has been turned into a restaurant with 4 booths, we were lucky enough to get a table in there and what a wonderful experience it was! The food was excellent and the conductor/waiter was fantastic fun. It was not a cheap meal, but well worth the money we paid for the experience.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at the Heritance Tea Factory and would highly recommend it. If we find ourselves back in Sri Lanka we will definitely be booking here again.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with balconies, if you can get one of these it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Should have been amazing !!
Arrived after a beautiful train ride from Kandy.
The hotels location is approximately 30mins by car on not so good roads from Nuwara Eliya-so once there don't expect to just drop into town for a shop or a coffee at the golf club.
Arrival I could only say was "intense"! Usual face clothes then the turmeric dot on the forehead,then the hard selling of services. Firstly the railway carriage restaurant 75US$per person for exclusive dining! Not attractive nor luxurious and certainly not private.
Next was the spa offering a deal 15%discount, but what the don't tell you about are all the taxes and government service charges, so even with the discount the bill significantly more the the advertised price ??So ask first. Massage was good but surroundings a little shabby .
Also not told to arrive 15 minutes prior to booked time or massage cut short...what is that?
Room on second floor - no double bed just singles pushed together and made up as singles even though booked as double!
Small room nice outlook. Little or no soundproofing so felt one was in a station. 6/10
Restaurant 4/10 very average got totally fed up being asked if my meal was good sometimes after only a mouthful.
Tea picking experience 10/10- lovely lady who though a little hard to understand did a great job in getting us picking and then going through the tea making process at the end of which we got our "own picked tea" which May have been a bit generous as sure I didn't pick enough for a pot
Overall-felt overstaffed with not enough to do so invaded our personal space almost certainly not intentionally.
Would not return

Room Tip: If you want a double bed make sure you ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I toured Sri Lanka and the Maldives for our honeymoon in April 2014. We stayed at the Tea Factory for one night. We were greeted with spices and a cup of tea and a traditional dot placed on our foreheads. The grounds/plantations surrounding were amazing, extremely pretty and pretty to see. The inside of the hotel had original machinery inside and the 'red and green' colour scheme ran throughout the hotel, We were taken to the third floor to our room and were quite disappointed as our room was quite small. The heater had been put on for our comfort, but it was too warm for this this to be on! The bed was beautifully decorated and we also had fruit and plenty of tea to drink! The wifi was quick and there were no access issues. We then went downstairs for lunch and we popped our head into the train carriage restaurant - this looked lovely, but after seeing the fancy menu and having paid for half board we weren't interested in booking to eat here, - especially as we were told we were having a candle lit dinner that evening anyway. Our candlelit dinner!!! - a red candle on the table - that was it and a set menu! We were sat with the other diners and this wasn't what we were expecting! We did not opt for the set romantic meal menu as it wasn't to our tastes - but the buffet was great as was the breakfast buffet the next day. We had a short and sweet trip here - a shame the weather was too bad to go tea plucking. The staff were very friendly and most helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

lovely atmosphere, good rooms and friendly staff. beautiful surroundings and gardens. excellent for a weekend getaway. access road is a little difficult, so get there before dark. the food was excellent with a good vegetarian selection, unlike so many other hotels i have stayed in. tea lounge is a lovely place to sit and have different teas and read a book or just enjoy a warm fire in the evenings.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony. lovely place to sit and have tea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank champa_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,523 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,019 reviews
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
289 reviews
5.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing