We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We only stayed one night at the Heritance Tea Factory as we travelled from Habarana down to Yala as part of a 10 night long luxury holiday. If Im honest I was worried about our stay in this hotel; from the pictures I was a bit concerned it would be run down and some of the other reviews had put me off. There isnt a huge amount of choice in the region and some of the other options such as the Tea Trails, as beautiful as they look, are horrifically expensive even for a "luxury" trip. So i did feel apprehensive about this stay.... but I really shouldn't have worried. I now feel a real fondness for this hotel; its a little gem and I'm ashamed of my initial reservations.

We experienced such warm hospitality on arrival and were greeted with a special blend of spiced tea. There is a really nice feel about the place; of a place that has been carefully restored and well looked after. The rooms are decorated in a much more old fashioned way than the hotels we stayed in for the rest of our stay, but far from being dated or run down, they are very well kept and immaculately clean. The decor instead just appears to have been chosen to be sympathetic with the history of the building. The rooms were the smallest of our trip but perfectly big enough especially for one night.

Tip - ask for a room at the front of the hotel for the best views.

The hotel is also situated in lovely grounds, surrounded by tea plantations where you can watch the pickers and with a tea museum and maintained gardens on site. If we had stayed longer I would definitely have tried the tea picking experience where you get to pick your own tea! There is also a spa but we didn't get a chance to try it out.

The hotel is clearly proud of its history with details of the restoration all around the foyer and a plaque in your room also tells you what would have previously existed in that location and what activities would have gone on there.

The only let down is the food, it is well presented and well made but none of it grabbed me in terms of flavour. We were there on Sri Lankan cuisine night and I was really pleased to be able to try the local cuisine but maybe it's just not to my taste. However the chefs and the wait staff were so friendly and professional they made it a really enjoyable experience.

Warning - if you suffer from motion sickness you may want to bring some antisickness tablets for the drive to this hotel because the roads are REALLY winding and its a long drive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymooner1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,326 - 1,332 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Heritance Tea Factory is rather special. Housed in a former tea factory near the small upland village of Hethersett, it occupies a remote but splendid location perched atop a hill amidst the undulating deep green of the surrounding tea plantations. The hotel has been subject to luxurious and sympathetic restoration celebrating its rich industrial heritage through the preservation of several original mechanical features. Our airy first floor suite, comprising of a useful antechamber, well-appointed bathroom, and a large carpeted bedroom with panoramic views to three sides, was nothing short of stunning. The hotel's capacious communal areas include two restaurants and two bars, which the hotel's relatively remote location pretty much obliges you to use. Baulking at the high premiums charged to eat in the TCK 6685 railway carriage, we dined in the more reasonably priced Kenmare restaurant, home to some of the largest portion sizes I've ever experienced..! The bars include the rather hokily named Goatfell Bar, home to some nice comfy armchairs and a pool table, and a relaxing place to while away the time should the weather close in. Outside the hotel are some fine terraced vantage points from which to take in the spectacular countryside and clear mountain air. Bear in mind you're at an altitude of nearly 7,000 feet (2,000m) here so the climate is cooler, and considerably wetter, than the coast. That said, if the weather is fair it's well worth taking a look around the area on foot or, as I did, by bike. A network of reasonably good trails surrounds the hotel, light brown zigzags cutting steeply up and down through the lush green plantations. I understand bikes may be hired from the hotel, but can't attest to their quality since I was using my own. As ever, the locals greeted the sight of a European on a bike with the typical mix of curiosity, wonder and bewilderment..! It was a shame our plans didn't include another night at the Heritance Tea Factory, because our residency was flawless from check-in to check-out. This really is a fantastic hotel in a stunning location. A unique, and thoroughly recommended, hotel experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theroaringcataract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of our tour of Sri Lanka and it was by far the best place we stayed. From when we arrived to the moment we left we were treating extremely well by all the staff and made to feel very welcome. A special mention should go to the Front Manager Prasant who was very attentive and a pillar of knowledge regarding the history of not only the hotel but of the country. Always smiling, Prasant made us feel at home and even sat with us at the bar on occasions whilst we were having a drink which was a nice touch.
If you get the chance and are not on a budget a meal on the train carriage is a real treat. We did on the last night and the food did not disappoint.
Tea picking is also another great experience at this hotel and the tour around the factory afterwards is very interesting.
Not surprising this hotel is ranked as high as it is - lovely atmosphere, friendly, genuine staff and beautiful scenery. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shyam_M83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

As the Hotel is some way out of Nuwara Eliya down a very long single track round it is restrictive to get in and out of town, therefore more of a stopover than a base for touring. This is a converted tea factory and all the staff are in pristine colonial uniforms which was wonderful to see. There was a very warm welcome and the staff were very courteous and endeavoured to please.
The rooms are on the small side but as they explain this was a conscious decision no to make the rooms larger and lose the original character of the building.
The food was ok we opted for the a la carte, not expensive but nothing to write home about either.
However this is a theme hotel in the middle of a working tea plantation with views to die for and most definitely unique and for that the management should be applauded. The scenery was stunning and to get up to a crisp sunny morning and see all the tea pickers out in the fields was memorable.
Nothing much in Nuwara Eliya itself so no down side by staying out of town and this hotel is a recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomoLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is not particularly conveniently located if you're planning to go into Nuwara Eliya one or more times daily, due to the long narrow entrance driveway. But if you're looking to relax in one of the most idyllic places on the idyllic island of Sri Lanka, this is it. The surrounding tea gardens are soothing to the eye, and the only sounds are those of nature. The conversion from a tea factory to a hotel was done perfectly, maintaining enough of the original architecture to provide a context for where you are, and what has gone on there over the years. Staff could be more relaxed and natural, but they try hard to serve and please.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room on the top (fourth) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed there in April as part of a tour group. Food and room was quite good, but found bar prices rather expensive. Great to see such an important part of Sri Lankas past colonial history still being significant in the 21st century.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 5 travelling on a tour of srilanka,having heard positive feedback about this place we decided to go for lunch. Upon entering the hotel we went directly to the reception to enquire about the lunch menu and we thought of having a look at the rooms. The female receptionist mentioned that there where rooms available however we were not allowed to see it claiming that it is a very strict rule by the management that only if we make a payment then we are allowed to see the room. We travelled quite a distance to visit this place and we were rather displeased with the welcome provided by your front office. We visited their other chain of hotels like kandalama and received thr warnest welcome and hospitality that we will cherish throughout our trip. I dont recommend this hotel..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Winston P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetherset, General Manager at Heritance Tea Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

We are sorry to note that you had arrived at the hotel in the morning when there had been several departures at the hotel and at a time when the rooms were being prepared for the new arrivals. As a policy we never show rooms which are not ready to any visitors until they are properly cleant and suitable to be shown. Thisinstance the receptionist had informed you that the rooms were not ready and you had misunderstood and mentioned that a payment had to be made to see a room. If rooms are ready, we are glad to show and promote our rooms to any person who visits the hotel at any time, by which,on availability, many guests from other hotels have moved over to our hotel and enjoyed the hospitality we offer. We also sorrythat you had declined to see a room when a room was prepared and was ready to be shown to you.
However, if you ever visit Nuwara Eliya again please do not hesitate to visit us again and we will be glad to make a difference for you.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,602 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
895 reviews
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
176 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#15 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £190 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Agoda, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing