We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the hill country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After making the long, windy trek up to Heritance Tea Factory - this place was a breath of fresh air - literally. Set amongst the tea fields, this hotel offers brilliant 360 degree views.

The staff go out of their way to help you with whatever you're after, in particular Prasanna on the front desk and Mohan were both very helpful.

This hotel is a throwback to a bygone era with an old lift servicing the 4 floors. The hotel is something of a museum dedicated to tea production.

Our room overlooked the tea country as I'm sure most do in the old converted tea factory. The lower temperatures overnight mean that you'll need your heating, something I never expected on this trip to Sri Lanka! It does get cold overnight though, before breaking into a beautiful clear day. Given that this hotel is a converted tea factory, they are compact, but cosy.

The food options are extensive. Breakfast is a large buffet, the a la carte dinner menu is also diverse. We also took the option to eat in the train restaurant which is somewhat expensive for what you get, but was something a little different to the usual. Not a must do, but if you're looking to change things up, it is a good option.

The hotel offers a range of very cheap activities like tea plucking and a nature walk where you can explore the nearby tea fields and villages.

A fantastic stay, and if you're heading to the hillside in Sri Lanka, you'll be hard pressed to find a better accommodation option than this.

Room Tip: Try and get a room looking over the outdoor patio area. The sun rises over this side and offers a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdmiller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,378 - 1,384 of 2,725 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Heritance Tea Factory certainly has the wow factor in terms of its setting high amongst the tea plantations and the tasteful restoration of the factory into a hotel.

Beautiful grounds and lovely staff who made our stay here so special. Thank you!

The bed was very comfortable, but the room was rather stuffy as there is no air-conditioning or fan, and subject to noise from other guests.

You get treated really well here and made to feel special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After arriving at the airport and a long drive, it was lovely to be greeted with warm towels and spiced tea. The tea was so lovely and refreshing I asked for more. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was on the fourth floor, overlooking the front and the tea estates.The room was spacious and luxurious. Free wifi in the room was a plus. We took a walk around the gardens, marvelling the tropical trees, plants and flowers. From all around the hotel all one could see sloping hills, tea plantations and women picking tea.
The restaurant catered for dishes for all nationalities. it was stated that the 'food is an infusion of western class and eastern aromas' with a lot of choice.
We opted for the Srilankan dishes. the waiters were attentive. When I asked about a particular recipe, the chef explained it and later typed up the recipe for me. I was touched by this.
We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There weren't many rooms facing the front with balconies, but if you could get one it would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandraSva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is situated on the highest point in the tea growing hills and has beautiful views. It's about 4km from town which means that once you arrive there's not much to do. We walked around the grounds and down to the small town where most of the staff live which was interesting but the only options for dinner are at the hotel, the buffet which was nice or the very expensive train themed dining experience. We stayed one night which was fine but would not recommend staying longer. It was very cold here in comparison to the rest of our trip so make sure you take some warm clothes!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Tea Factory is located on a very high hilltop about Nuwara Eliya. It is a lovely, restored, former tea factory which provides many nice amenities - a spa, restaurant, railroad car dining, lovely area in lobby for tea or drinks, tea tastings, trekking experiences, etc. It was not the best accommodation during our nine day journey through Sri Lanka but it certainly provided a great deal of history about the tea business and the hotel's location among the tea plantations is stunning although it is remote from any other facilities, amenities, etc. The staff is very welcoming and eager to serve. The food offered should please every palate as there was a large variety of ethnic cuisines to choose from. My husband and I ate the Sri Lankan food and enjoyed speaking with the cooks who were proud of what they were serving and willing to explain how the items were prepared and how they should be eaten. We paid for the half board option when making our reservation. Upon arrival a staff member took us to the railroad car that is outside of the restaurant and is used for serving a specially prepared meal by the chef. We immediately booked a table as only four are available and two were already booked. When my husband checked with the front desk to determine the cost for the railroad car experience, he was told that it would be full price even though we had already paid for half board which included our evening meal. We cancelled our railroad booking as we did not want to pay twice for dinner even though we were certain that the chef would make the railroad dining memorable. It would be wise if the staff promoting the railroad dining explain the pricing for people who have already paid for dinner.
The welcoming with a wet towel and delicious spiced tea was perfect following a long drive. The restoration of the building was well done and preserves its history. I did not find the bed especially comfortable but our room had great views and provided all we needed for our stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the front of the hotel so it had good views of the tea plants and surrounding ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A tortuous 4km drive from the village below, the hotel is a converted tea factory, at the highest point in Sri Lanka, over 6,500 ft. Hence warm sunny days and cool, cloudy evenings, with the mist rolling in by 4pm. Magnificent rolling hills all around, covered in tea plantations.
It really is a fascinating tea museum (great for my wife, although I'd have preferred a vineyard), with plenty of related activities, including tea leaf plucking (if that's your thing), talks and nature walks. Quaint facilities, especially the 4-floor lift, like something out of a period movie set. Capricious wifi.
We had an executive room, a little small, but cosy with ample storage. 5* room, perhaps, albeit the bathroom was more 3*. The dining - to your average Brit - was comfortingly cheap, eg £10 for the 4-course tasting menu. We ate in the special "railway carriage" restaurant, a converted old carriage with wooden seats in booths, catering for no more than a dozen people it seemed; The "captain" served a 6 course meal, with 2-6 choices per course, offering fusion dishes and excellent steaks. Remarkable value, as the quality was excellent.
Wonderful, enthusiastic, charming service. Possibly trying too hard - but made it worth our 5* rating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was quite the drive, getting here from Colombo. Definitely worth it though.

Room: Huge (corner) room for the three of us. Had all the necessary amenities, including complementary Heritance tea.

Location: Unrestricted mountain-top panorama and wonderful fresh air.

Service: Extremely hospitable staff -try the railway carriage dinner!

Would hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,193 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,660 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
966 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
50 reviews
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £145 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing