We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morden hotel facilities inside an charming old tea factory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritance Tea Factory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
287 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Morden hotel facilities inside an charming old tea factory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

From outside, it looks same as any other tea factory in the area and you might be wondering why you choose to stay here, as the outlook is really not something too attractive. But once inside, you get what exactly a five starts hotel will offer. Apart from the usual things, you will feel the old England charm every where. Not exactly some british decoration, but the thing that the British had helped this area to be developed into such a world renowned area for tea manufacturing. You will also see many factory infrastructure that was left now becoming part of the hotel decoration, the steel beam, the vintage elevator, the huge generator on the basement, and a lots of old pictures with information on the past. The room was lovely, big, with ceiling to floor windows decorated with wooden frame.

One of the important things to do here is to try out the dinner on the wheels, a dining experience in a replica of a vintage railway carriage. The railway was now abandoned but in the old days, this narrow railway was the life line for the area to transport both people and the goods in and out. Although it was only a replica, it feels so real that you are really travelling back in time 100 years ago on a railway dinner car. The waiter was doing the most fantastic act to make you feel like you were really on a moving train for the dinning experience. It would be a life memory that you should try out. There is only four tables on the car so early reservation is recommended.

There is also a mini tea factor that is in operation to produce small quantity of tea for hotel guest to buy. You can visit the mini factory anytime to see how the operation work in real life.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKA_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    734
    217
    63
    33
See reviews for
552
1,333
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had 2 superior rooms which had huge windows which looked over the wonderful landscape. It is truly beautiful, especially at sunrise. The rooms were extremely comfortable, and it was a real treat to have a bath. The food was lovely and it was clear that all the staff were very proud of their hotel.
We were only here 1 night, so I don't think we really had the opportunity to use the facilities properly.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Totally wonderful, great staff and top class food. Could not have asked for more. Very friendly and helpful. A place worth a visit, on the top of a mountain 6000ft up in the clouds, just dreamy..........................................

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The journey to the Heritance was unforgettable and not for those who do not like windy roads. At 2000m the climate is quite different to that of Kandy. It was 16oC at the time of our visit. The surrounding countryside is spectacular. Once at the hotel we were a captive audience as it is a few Kms off the main road. The buildings are seeped in history and much of the original tea plantation building and features remain.
We were disappointed by the quality of the dinner which was acceptable rather than Wow! However we were happy to have stayed at the Heritance for a night to sample this unique hotel and it's very special surroundings.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveller190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Looked great in the brochure but failed to live up to my expectation.

Our room on the first floor was tiny and basic. Given the stunning location there was no view from our window and our daughter's room looked out onto a metal fire escape! The rooms were so small that there wasn't even enough space to open our two cases. The bathroom fittings were tired and in need of a refurb. Our room was also noisy we could hear everything from the restaurant below.

The concept is unique and the reclamation of a former industrial building interesting and well done. The location is stunning but there isn't really anywhere to sit and admire it. The public spaces inside like restaurant, lobby and seating areas are interesting but book this hotel for the novelty and experience and don't expect 5 star comforts. I'd certainly recommend paying for a room upgrade!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonegate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We were only here 1 night, but all wished it was for longer. The location and views were stunning, hotel staff attentive and friendly and the food was delicious. Also lovely tea. The only shame was that our rooms overlooked a service area at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed one night in this converted tea factory. The drive up from Kandy was spectacular with amazing scenery. It is much cooler so dress accordingly. The interior of the hotel is unique with lots of old machinery all painted and looking great. The rooms aren't that well soundproofed we could hear people above and below us. Service was a little slow and I felt we could have been better briefed about things to do and dinner etc. Unfortunately we didn't arrive early enough to do the tea picking which other reviews had recommended. This was an experience - I wouldn't have wanted more than one night but wouldn't have missed the breathtaking scenery on the drive up and back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
23.1 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Property: Heritance Tea Factory
Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag and Hotels.com so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing