We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritance Tea Factory
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

After a journey up a twisty road, we arrived at the Tea Factory. Stunning views, impeccable service, beautifully clean rooms and a gorgeous meal in the train carriage made this a stay to remember. I particularly recommend a before-dinner cocktail!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stunning. The staff were impeccable in the service they provided. The room was very clean with a lovely bathroom. We ate in the train carriage restaurant and it was a memorable meal. This hotel is a way out of the town and up twisty roads but is definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

so yes, the Tea Factory is "in the middle of nowhere" and joining will need you about 20 minutes of bumping road but one you're there, that's a plc a you don't want to leave. All is done to let you feel like a star: really warm welcome, fantastic view of the tea plants valley (especially from our room, one of the few with a balcony), great food...
Having a bit of time in the morning after, we went for the tea plucking activity and that's a must: you the experience what these women experience 8 or 10 hours a day. One bad comment tough: our (three) kids stayed in a room at the back of the hotel and this was VERY noisy (most of) all night long. So just make sure that your room is at the front of the hotel, and you'll enjoy a fantastic moment at Heritance Tea Factory

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent place for the entire family to enjoy the vacation.
Bit far from the Nuwara Eliya town and night time you will be limited to the hotel

Don't forget to take warm clothes as the nights are cold and the day is excellent.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank LankaHolidayGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

After our disaster of a hotel and service at the grand , we decided to check out the competition and viewed four places and both my husband and I wished we had booked the tea factory, although we didn't stay here, we visited for the evening and were greeted from arrival to enjoying food and we asked to see a standard room which was not a problem to them, the room was great with modern fixtures but keeping the old rustic feel.
We wish we had booked here although am told they have 98% occupancy all year.
The best thing was the tea picking dressed in a sari and getting to take your tea home.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank chelsea1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is amazingly nice place. Far from everything, 20 min driving from Nuwara Elyia. On the hill sir rounding by tea plantation. Beautiful area. Original ambience inside. Very good service. Huge variety of the food. Nice rooms. The SPA service from Bali :-) this is the place worth to stay for a two night a minimum or for the Golfers who are looking for the silence and cosy Butique places - go ahead!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowakadventuretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel compares itself to the Treetops in Kenya. We have been to be both and would recommend both.

After the stunning drive up from Kandy, we stayed one night in this converted tea factory. We had upgraded to one of the three bed rooms, so were on one of the end with windows on three sides. We slept with the end curtains open so we could see the sunrise over the mountains. The food was good and the staff were attentive. Our breakfast score was 95%, only dropping for no pork sausages.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,120 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
352 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
922 reviews
3 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
182 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#15 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Tea Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Tea Factory

Address: Kandapola, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £187 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Tea Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Heritance Tea Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Nuwara Eliya
Tea Factory Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing