We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, cheap and cousy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sherwood Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sherwood Cottage
Ranked #10 of 223 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap and cousy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Me and my family stayed at this nice little cottage in nuwara eliya, the place is not a an hotel and is located on a hill that makes it alittle bit hard for persons that has problems hicking to reach. The family was very freindly, and the rooms a clean and nicely kept in a small garden of flowers and a view over town. Its quiet easy tonhick down to town and st andrews hotel if needed. I would recommend the rooms that are abit more exepensive to get the view and cousiness. All in all for this price its a perfect match for backpackers, couple that dont need a luxury comfort or a small family that want to relax for a day or two in a more guesthouse type of of location!

Room Tip: Get the more exepnsive rooms with view! Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0bias77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    64
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
23
114
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nuwara Eliya is the highest town in Sri Lanka and rightly named 'little England'. We arrived in January and it was colder and wetter than the UK. A warm welcome at Sherwood Cottage helped. The guesthouse is a 5 minute walk uphill from the town and has incredibly steep roofs. The rooms were very clean, if basic with fantastic views. Mishan and his family did everything they could to help us and the food was so good at dinner that we chose to eat there both nights of our stay. It was too cold and wet for us to do any exploring and sight seeing so I can't comment on the ' attractions' of NE. What I will say is that I left a bag of clothes in the the taxi booked by the hotel to take us to Buttala, and when I called the driver he said it wasn't there, Mishan said it could have been stolen at my next stop which was impossible and which belongs to a very good friend of mine. He also asked me to make a good report. What I have said is fair and honest. If you decide to visit NE, take warm clothes and an umbrella.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

It's a very cozy family-run B&B on the chilly mountain side, by the Owner (Mishan) and his mother who is a great chef. The location tho not the best, the surrounding is quiet and peaceful. We stayed in the City attic room which is very spacious and value for money.

We spent the Christmas there and Mishan with his family and friends were more than hospitable to host a Christmas bbq dinner for the guests. It's a very nice gesture and extra mile he goes to ensure every guest is well taken care of.

Would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryokosha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China, Beijing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The owner of the place is more than hospitable. They offered a pot of hot tea when we arrival, which indeed a great help in the montain chill. They could prepare wonderful local foods for breakfast and dinner as you required with a reasonable charge, and the taste is just as good as resturant.
The room is clean, well facilited. However, there is no window in the bathroom and chill winds just circulate in, moreover, no heater and air-con provided. Basically, we wore clothes to bed.
The location is not ideal, on the mountain side. The road is under maintaining which is hard for u travel with a car, and the walking path to town is not easy to reconginize without light.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sophia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I spent there one night with my family in City attic room which is a bit of adventure with a beautiful view of Nuwara Eliya city! The road we went is called Water-field drive and the entrance to the narrow steps to the hotel was a nightmare with a stinky garbage bin. However, the cottage is nice, clean and well maintained.

The owner, Padmini aunt is very friendly and kind. The room was spacious with a king size bed. The bathroom was clean though the commode was not that clean. There was a nice bath tub with enough hot water. They provided an extra blanket as soon as we requested since it was a bit colder inside the room. The only issue was there was poor Wi-Fi signal strength in our room.

However, it was a nice experience staying there in a cute, quiet place like Sherwood cottage.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSapphireLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Sherwood cottage is the best hotel we lived in Sri Lanka. Hotel is very new, clean, and comfortable, feeling like at home. Mishan and his friend,Timira treated us very well like close friends. They are very friendly and helpful. Thanks Timi for sending us off at train station. We were touched. Hotel offered very good service like helping us to rent cars, recommending the sights and introducing local cultures and religions. it was very good experience living in Sherwood cottage

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Sherwood cottage is a lovely place situated at walking distance from the town center. The hosts are the among the most hospitable and helpful that I've come across in all of my travels. As soon as we checked in the hostess brought us a pot of hot tea which is always most welcome at a chilly hill town. We opted to have their homemade dinner at the cottage. Dinner was a lovely spread of homemade Srilankan food that was served in the common area of the cottage.

The cottage itself is extremely clean and well kept. We stayed in the attic room which is spacious with balconies on two sides. The bathroom was also spotlessly clean. The water heater/geyser/boiler in the bathroom is sufficiently big enough to ensure a good hot shower without being over cautious about running the shower. Adequate bedding was provided for the cold nights (and it does get really cold!).

As far as the town is concerned, there really isn't much to do there. Very limited options for food as well. However I guess the location serves well as a base for day trips to Horton plains, Ramboda falls, etc. Personally my girlfriend and I love quaint, chilly places with minimal commercialization, so we quite loved the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Prathap_Nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.8 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
4.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Cottage

Property: Sherwood Cottage
Address: 22 Waterfield Drive, Underbank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherwood Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood cottage is a high quality accommodation, equipped with modern facilities. Situated at just below the mount Pedro (the highest mountain in Sri Lanka) and surrounded by extreme natural beauty of rain forest. It has superb views over looking misty mountains range and valley of down town.Ten minutes walk to the city center ensure that the gust can quickly accesses to local points interest such as bus station, super market, post office, restaurants and pubs. This charming country cottage offers two spacious double rooms and two spacious attic family rooms with balconies, each included with large en suite bathrooms, wardrobes, Wi-Fi access facility. Step inside the Sherwood cottage and everything taken care of by friendly team. We guarantee every guest a warm welcome and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sherwood Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing