We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best memories!!”
Review of Sherwood Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sherwood Cottage
Ranked #8 of 238 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Best memories!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

this is the most wonderful cottage me and my 6 friends lived in Nuwara Eliya. all of my friends wanted to extent one more night there but all the rooms were fully booked!! T.T and defintely they made the best breafast we ever had in Sri Lanka!!! i love the people there, they just make me feel home sweet home. good view outside the balcony and fresh air!! Especially the super handsome and nice guy Mishan!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    67
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
23
116
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Highly recommend!!
My friend and I stayed there for 2 night. The cottage located on the small hill, it means quite quiet and nice city view, just walk 15mins from the center of the town. Not hard to find it and every tutu knows there. The location doesnt botther me. Actually, I love to live a little far from downtown. Because in downtown, there's nothing. Here is more beautiful view and fresh air.

For the room, it is the best!!! kindsize bed, clean room, french window, very good hot water for shower...
Most of all, we make friend with the owner, the handsome young man...haha. He's really good, friendly, not so commercialized, just treat you as a friend.
You can try their dinner, not bad and would be a good choice.
I will go back next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacyCute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Cold breakfast with a glass of hot water. Not sure what they were thinking. Location is awful so many steps to get there and up a road that no tuk tuks come up. Hard to find in the first place. Room very cold but very large. No soap. Owners nice people. Nuwara eliya gets a miss anyway.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayden V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a pretty little cottage sitting on a hill close to the town centre. The rooms are beautifully done up and very clean. I loved the potted flower plants surrounding the windows of the room we stayed in (deluxe). Nice view to wake up to. The host, Mishan was extremely hospitable and we could see the effort he puts in to make his guests comfortable. We were treated to some amazing Sri lankan food made by Mishan's mom. One of the best places we stayed in during our Sri Lankan trip. Had an awesome time. Absolute value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uma210978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Everybody was very nice and the Guesthouse is very beautiful.

But there is some room for improvement:
- There was no heating what so ever in building, at least the common space should be heated. The place was fully booked and it had 8 degrees outside, but not even the fireplace was on. Since it was to cold in the rooms to hang out, we and the other guests where sitting in the common Lobby/Living room in the evening with a sweater AND fleece jacket + warm socks and we where still freezing. For the night we asked for extra blankets which where supplied and 100% necessary.
- The place arranged a car/taxi for us to drive to Horton Plains/ Worlds End: The driver was super nice and skilled nut the heating in the car was broken. In order to get to worlds End we where picked up at 5:00 am at 8 degrees celcius and the drive is 90 minutes - so a heating is a must!
- Similar to other recommendations, on arrival we had to pass 1m between the burning pile and the wall) a big pile of burning trash/waste with loads of rubber and plastics in it, which is neither eco friendly nor desirable in any case.
- In contrast to most other places we stayed in the beds where just about 190cm which is just not enough for me (199cm)
- The Breakfast is billed on top - which makes the place quite expensive compared to other places we stayed. Taken into consideration that there is no heating it is TOO EXPENSIVE!!!


So I do wish the owners the very best, I am sure you will find a way to improve your place and receive top recommendations

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Me and my family stayed at this nice little cottage in nuwara eliya, the place is not a an hotel and is located on a hill that makes it alittle bit hard for persons that has problems hicking to reach. The family was very freindly, and the rooms a clean and nicely kept in a small garden of flowers and a view over town. Its quiet easy tonhick down to town and st andrews hotel if needed. I would recommend the rooms that are abit more exepensive to get the view and cousiness. All in all for this price its a perfect match for backpackers, couple that dont need a luxury comfort or a small family that want to relax for a day or two in a more guesthouse type of of location!

Room Tip: Get the more exepnsive rooms with view! Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0bias77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nuwara Eliya is the highest town in Sri Lanka and rightly named 'little England'. We arrived in January and it was colder and wetter than the UK. A warm welcome at Sherwood Cottage helped. The guesthouse is a 5 minute walk uphill from the town and has incredibly steep roofs. The rooms were very clean, if basic with fantastic views. Mishan and his family did everything they could to help us and the food was so good at dinner that we chose to eat there both nights of our stay. It was too cold and wet for us to do any exploring and sight seeing so I can't comment on the ' attractions' of NE. What I will say is that I left a bag of clothes in the the taxi booked by the hotel to take us to Buttala, and when I called the driver he said it wasn't there, Mishan said it could have been stolen at my next stop which was impossible and which belongs to a very good friend of mine. He also asked me to make a good report. What I have said is fair and honest. If you decide to visit NE, take warm clothes and an umbrella.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.8 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
4.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spring Garden
Spring Garden
#5 of 238 in Nuwara Eliya
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Cottage

Property: Sherwood Cottage
Address: 22 Waterfield Drive, Underbank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherwood Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood cottage is a high quality accommodation, equipped with modern facilities. Situated at just below the mount Pedro (the highest mountain in Sri Lanka) and surrounded by extreme natural beauty of rain forest. It has superb views over looking misty mountains range and valley of down town.Ten minutes walk to the city center ensure that the gust can quickly accesses to local points interest such as bus station, super market, post office, restaurants and pubs. This charming country cottage offers two spacious double rooms and two spacious attic family rooms with balconies, each included with large en suite bathrooms, wardrobes, Wi-Fi access facility. Step inside the Sherwood cottage and everything taken care of by friendly team. We guarantee every guest a warm welcome and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sherwood Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing