We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”
Review of Sherwood Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sherwood Cottage
Ranked #9 of 265 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had the honour of staying in the attic room with views over Nuwara Eliya; what a great view!! and it comes with a private balcony (which i a lovely place to enjoy the squirrels while sipping your morning coffee. Sherwood Cottage lies on the outskirts of Nuwara Eliya which makes it a quiet place but a bit far from the city centre. The house is clean, breakfast and diner are oke (a bit basic). The cottage has a nice garden, construction work on a new building is in progress. We found Nuwara Elyia a bit disappointing, but this place made it all worth it!

Room Tip: Take the attic room with views over Nuwara Elyia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obbie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

This guest house is located in the worst end of a very scruffy, dirty town. You have to make your way through a smelly rubbish bonfire and up many steps to get to the house. There was a frost the night we stayed and the house was very cold. Our room had three outside doors with views of a building site, a corrugated iron roof or a bank of earth. The family were pleasant enough but we hated Nuwara Eliya so despite paying for 2 nights we left after one and had another night in Ella which was wonderful.

Room Tip: There is one room at the front which may have a nice view but our room at the back was poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Sherwood Cottage I'd beautifully located on the far side of town, a short walk up the mountain. Especially the front room (make sure you get that one) has a lovely view, overlooking Nuwara Eliya.

The family who runs the place is super friendly. They also cook up a great, if relatively expensive, dinner. If asked they can make lunch boxes, very handy if you leave early for a tour to one of the nature parks.

Recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Thijs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here. Very cosy! Gorgeous Cottage, Beautiful flower garden. Mishan and his mother were extremely welcoming. Nuwara eliya city is not too far, compared to other places. Its a really Lovely place for those who are on a budget. It suited us perfectly since we were in Nuwara eliya to sight see. Major issues that surely can be looked into and Improved are.. Safe parking! and Heating!.. But its opened only a few months ago so I'm sure things will improve. There is also a really cute Dog, a Dalmatian :D

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mahen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

this is the most wonderful cottage me and my 6 friends lived in Nuwara Eliya. all of my friends wanted to extent one more night there but all the rooms were fully booked!! T.T and defintely they made the best breafast we ever had in Sri Lanka!!! i love the people there, they just make me feel home sweet home. good view outside the balcony and fresh air!! Especially the super handsome and nice guy Mishan!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Highly recommend!!
My friend and I stayed there for 2 night. The cottage located on the small hill, it means quite quiet and nice city view, just walk 15mins from the center of the town. Not hard to find it and every tutu knows there. The location doesnt botther me. Actually, I love to live a little far from downtown. Because in downtown, there's nothing. Here is more beautiful view and fresh air.

For the room, it is the best!!! kindsize bed, clean room, french window, very good hot water for shower...
Most of all, we make friend with the owner, the handsome young man...haha. He's really good, friendly, not so commercialized, just treat you as a friend.
You can try their dinner, not bad and would be a good choice.
I will go back next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacyCute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Cold breakfast with a glass of hot water. Not sure what they were thinking. Location is awful so many steps to get there and up a road that no tuk tuks come up. Hard to find in the first place. Room very cold but very large. No soap. Owners nice people. Nuwara eliya gets a miss anyway.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jayden V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.8 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#3 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chez Allen
Chez Allen
#26 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
155 reviews
0 mi away
Spring Garden
Spring Garden
#7 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
110 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heidi's Home
Heidi's Home
#4 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Cottage

Address: 22 Waterfield Drive, Underbank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £16 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherwood Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood cottage is a high quality accommodation, equipped with modern facilities. Situated at just below the mount Pedro (the highest mountain in Sri Lanka) and surrounded by extreme natural beauty of rain forest. It has superb views over looking misty mountains range and valley of down town.Ten minutes walk to the city center ensure that the gust can quickly accesses to local points interest such as bus station, super market, post office, restaurants and pubs. This charming country cottage offers two spacious double rooms and two spacious attic family rooms with balconies, each included with large en suite bathrooms, wardrobes, Wi-Fi access facility. Step inside the Sherwood cottage and everything taken care of by friendly team. We guarantee every guest a warm welcome and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sherwood Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing