We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best cottage of nuwaraeliya.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherwood Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sherwood Cottage
Ranked #9 of 216 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“The best cottage of nuwaraeliya.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here wihere my family .mishan mother were extremely welcoming. Mishan mother made us delicious meals.it was like at home.the family was very nice with us from the beginning to end of our stay.my wife and threchidrens enjoyed on stay he

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walpola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    63
    29
    14
    10
See reviews for
23
113
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at Sherwood Cottage for 2 days, the last leg in our Sri Lanka trip. The cottage has 2 entrances apparently, which we did not know about and ended up using the one with a huffing puffing 5 minute hike (we are not particularly fit, but we do not recommend this entrance either way if you are mobility challenged or are too tired) with all our bags! The road that leads up to the cottage is a bit deserted. If you need to take a rickshaw to go anywhere, you will have to walk at least 5-10 mins down to the main road (The climb back up the road would be rather steep).

We got the "Superior Room" which had 3 balconies, none of which opened out into the valley to get a good view. But the flowers at the back were beautiful.

Quite cold for late March and we had to huddle under blankets and wear sweaters while in the room even during the daytime. Would appreciate a room heater!

The pillow covers smelled a bit funny. We would have liked fresher sheets/covers overall.

The geyser ran out of hot water after one shower where I had to wash my hair. My friend was left shivering after! The shower stall was too tiny and had no place to keep your toiletries. The only soap that was in the bathroom had a hair stuck on it! o_0 We had our own toiletries, but still, that wasn't a nice sight to see. The bathroom had a strange smell coming in from the windows, I presume.

The host was nice to us and helped arrange a car for our visit to Horton Plains (the most beautiful trek I've done so far!) and also arranged a local rickshaw to drop us off to the Railway station for our ride back to Colombo. Would have liked it if he could have packed us a breakfast for the trek since we left pretty early in the morning and had nothing but crackers and some biscuits through the 9 km trek. The breakfast on the day that we left was very very good. Big spread and quite yummy!

Their dog Defender was quite an excitable chap, who loved biting plastic bottles to bits! We loved playing with him!

Could keep the rooms and the bed linens a lot fresher and smelling better! The bathroom definitely needs a bit more care. But overall, decent for the price.

Room Tip: The superior room is the one at the back and has 3 balconies, but not such a good view. Not sure wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mythreyee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Guesthouse rather well located on the hills of Nuwara Eliya. Only 10 minutes walk from the city center. It is run by Mishan and his mother. We received a very warm welcome, Mishan speaks perfect English and is always available to help us. His mother, always smiling, is an excellent cook.
It is clean, hot water available, wifi uninterrupted and blankets are provided for cold nights in the mountains.

Room for 4 with mezzanine is quite spacious and offers a beautiful view of the city.
Nice evening in the lounge with fireplace talking with Mishan and other guests. We felt like at home.
If I have to go back to NE, I would not hesitate and go back to this place!

Guesthouse plutôt bien située, sur les hauteurs de Nuwara Eliya. A seulement 10 minutes à pieds du centre-ville. Elle est tenue par Mishan et sa mère. Nous avons reçu un très bel accueil, Mishan parle parfaitement l’anglais et est toujours dispo pour nous aider. Sa maman, toujours souriante, est une excellente cuisinière.

L’établissement est propre, eau chaude disponible, wifi ininterrompu et des couvertures sont fournies pour les froides nuits en montagne.

La chambre pour 4 avec mezzanine est assez spacieuse et offre une très belle vue de la ville.
Soirée sympa dans le salon avec cheminée à discuter avec Mishan et les autres clients. On se sent comme à la maison.

Si je dois retourner à NE, je n’hésiterais pas et retournerais dans cet endroit !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I went to this cottage last March 2014, with 2 friends (we were 3 girls), and we had a really nice stay. The cottage is really clean, so cute, you are like at home, we were welcomed by Mishan and his mum: the owners of the cottage, with a cup of tea. They did everything to make our stay the best one.
We arrived late in the night and Mishan's mum prepared us local dishes !! And it was very very good. We spent the evening with our hosts and other guests in the lounge, in a pleasant atmosphere, it was like at home, wifi is also available.
Mishan gave us all the tips of the city, to sum up, the family was very nice with us from the beginning to the end of our stay.
The cottage is quiet, perfect for relaxing or for a short stay. The room was perfect, it has not been cold in the cottage (but for those who are really cold by nature, you should bring warm clothes with you in addition).
If you plan to arrive at night, ask your guests in advance in order to welcome you outside the cottage, as there is a little way to go to reach the cottage.
We keep very good memories of the cottage, of the food, hospitality, atmosphere and Mishan and his mom, who were adorable with us.
Nuwara Eliya is a small city (you can visit the post office, and you have 1 market, a Mosque (new and beautiful), and there is a golf in a so british hotel where you can drink or take a drink), 1 small garden, you also have many restaurants and coffees lower in the city) I think you just have to stay 1 or 2 days there, or more if you plan to relax above all.
I recommend this cottage without hesitation ! The best place to be at Nuwara Eliya. If I plan to go to Nuwara Eliya I will book the same cottage.

Sonia B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect ! no worry really !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakistan
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

it was horrible! the room was dark and gloomy with only one energy saver. there was no bed sheet and only the top cover was provided. we had to ask for pillow cases. what a shame! the hotel is located on a hill and takes about 20 m walk to go to town. the climb is very steep and as your reach you have to climb another 80 to 100 steps to get the hotel, you will also have to pass a very smelly and open garbage dump with flies all over. there is no staff to help you with the luggage and no room service. the room had mosquitos and flies all over, when we asked for a mosquito spray they said they will provide it but they never did. after asking twice we got our own. only 1 of the plug works so charging your laptop etc is a problem. there was no table to put our things and not even a single glass in the room. the cupboard is empty with no shelves or hangers inside and was moldy. the food is over priced, its better to go down to town.

Room Tip: Deluxe room we took was dirty, just horrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here with a group of friends in Mar 2014. Overall a good place to stay at.
Pros:
1. Good view
2. Good breakfast served in a hospitable and professional manner
3. The most awesome and homely dinner that I had in Sri Lanka was cooked by the lady who owns this place :)

However improvements could be. Some rooms could have additional lighting and the stairs leading to the cottage could have some light to avoid dependence on the torch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanchan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed here with my husband in December 2013. We had a lovely time. Mishan was a great host and made sure we had an enjoyable stay. His mother made us delicious meals and his friend Thimi drove us to 'worlds end' one day and then also to Tissa for our next stop. Both Thimi, his friend, and Mishan were lovely, friendly guys, spoke perfect English and were happy to help in any way they could. They treated us like friends, so nice. The guesthouse itself was quite fancy and well kept. We had a loft room that was cool, would recommend to any group travelling Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VTP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
4.8 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Cottage

Property: Sherwood Cottage
Address: 22 Waterfield Drive, Underbank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sherwood Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sherwood cottage is a high quality accommodation, equipped with modern facilities. Situated at just below the mount Pedro (the highest mountain in Sri Lanka) and surrounded by extreme natural beauty of rain forest. It has superb views over looking misty mountains range and valley of down town.Ten minutes walk to the city center ensure that the gust can quickly accesses to local points interest such as bus station, super market, post office, restaurants and pubs. This charming country cottage offers two spacious double rooms and two spacious attic family rooms with balconies, each included with large en suite bathrooms, wardrobes, Wi-Fi access facility. Step inside the Sherwood cottage and everything taken care of by friendly team. We guarantee every guest a warm welcome and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Sherwood Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing