We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherwood Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rising Lion Inn(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Winter Cottage(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
Mount View Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Windsor Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hill Town Cottage(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elia Hills Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midky Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hill Club(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Grand Hotel(Nuwara Eliya)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
83
68
30
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
68
30
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomnice viewhot waterarrived late in the nightone nightsri lankawalk minutestown centremake teacold climateview from the balconyan extra blankettuk tuknice roomhomely stayplace to stayheavy rain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice clean and friendly, though high up on the hill.
We did have to pay for driver accomodation and food, at a lower rate.
The breakfast we ordered was very nice though.
they are building a new place next door, so in a year or so, this could be very nice indeed.
The views over Nuwara eliya were amazing!

Room Tip: Attic room interesting shape and views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here wihere my family .mishan mother were extremely welcoming. Mishan mother made us delicious meals.it was like at home.the family was very nice with us from the beginning to end of our stay.my wife and threchidrens enjoyed on stay he

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walpola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at Sherwood Cottage for 2 days, the last leg in our Sri Lanka trip. The cottage has 2 entrances apparently, which we did not know about and ended up using the one with a huffing puffing 5 minute hike (we are not particularly fit, but we do not recommend this entrance either way if you are mobility challenged or are too tired) with all our bags! The road that leads up to the cottage is a bit deserted. If you need to take a rickshaw to go anywhere, you will have to walk at least 5-10 mins down to the main road (The climb back up the road would be rather steep).

We got the "Superior Room" which had 3 balconies, none of which opened out into the valley to get a good view. But the flowers at the back were beautiful.

Quite cold for late March and we had to huddle under blankets and wear sweaters while in the room even during the daytime. Would appreciate a room heater!

The pillow covers smelled a bit funny. We would have liked fresher sheets/covers overall.

The geyser ran out of hot water after one shower where I had to wash my hair. My friend was left shivering after! The shower stall was too tiny and had no place to keep your toiletries. The only soap that was in the bathroom had a hair stuck on it! o_0 We had our own toiletries, but still, that wasn't a nice sight to see. The bathroom had a strange smell coming in from the windows, I presume.

The host was nice to us and helped arrange a car for our visit to Horton Plains (the most beautiful trek I've done so far!) and also arranged a local rickshaw to drop us off to the Railway station for our ride back to Colombo. Would have liked it if he could have packed us a breakfast for the trek since we left pretty early in the morning and had nothing but crackers and some biscuits through the 9 km trek. The breakfast on the day that we left was very very good. Big spread and quite yummy!

Their dog Defender was quite an excitable chap, who loved biting plastic bottles to bits! We loved playing with him!

Could keep the rooms and the bed linens a lot fresher and smelling better! The bathroom definitely needs a bit more care. But overall, decent for the price.

Room Tip: The superior room is the one at the back and has 3 balconies, but not such a good view. Not sure what the other rooms are called but the one at the front has the best view, I hear. We asked for it but was not available.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mythreyee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Guesthouse rather well located on the hills of Nuwara Eliya. Only 10 minutes walk from the city center. It is run by Mishan and his mother. We received a very warm welcome, Mishan speaks perfect English and is always available to help us. His mother, always smiling, is an excellent cook.
It is clean, hot water available, wifi uninterrupted and blankets are provided for cold nights in the mountains.

Room for 4 with mezzanine is quite spacious and offers a beautiful view of the city.
Nice evening in the lounge with fireplace talking with Mishan and other guests. We felt like at home.
If I have to go back to NE, I would not hesitate and go back to this place!

Guesthouse plutôt bien située, sur les hauteurs de Nuwara Eliya. A seulement 10 minutes à pieds du centre-ville. Elle est tenue par Mishan et sa mère. Nous avons reçu un très bel accueil, Mishan parle parfaitement l’anglais et est toujours dispo pour nous aider. Sa maman, toujours souriante, est une excellente cuisinière.

L’établissement est propre, eau chaude disponible, wifi ininterrompu et des couvertures sont fournies pour les froides nuits en montagne.

La chambre pour 4 avec mezzanine est assez spacieuse et offre une très belle vue de la ville.
Soirée sympa dans le salon avec cheminée à discuter avec Mishan et les autres clients. On se sent comme à la maison.

Si je dois retourner à NE, je n’hésiterais pas et retournerais dans cet endroit !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I went to this cottage last March 2014, with 2 friends (we were 3 girls), and we had a really nice stay. The cottage is really clean, so cute, you are like at home, we were welcomed by Mishan and his mum: the owners of the cottage, with a cup of tea. They did everything to make our stay the best one.
We arrived late in the night and Mishan's mum prepared us local dishes !! And it was very very good. We spent the evening with our hosts and other guests in the lounge, in a pleasant atmosphere, it was like at home, wifi is also available.
Mishan gave us all the tips of the city, to sum up, the family was very nice with us from the beginning to the end of our stay.
The cottage is quiet, perfect for relaxing or for a short stay. The room was perfect, it has not been cold in the cottage (but for those who are really cold by nature, you should bring warm clothes with you in addition).
If you plan to arrive at night, ask your guests in advance in order to welcome you outside the cottage, as there is a little way to go to reach the cottage.
We keep very good memories of the cottage, of the food, hospitality, atmosphere and Mishan and his mom, who were adorable with us.
Nuwara Eliya is a small city (you can visit the post office, and you have 1 market, a Mosque (new and beautiful), and there is a golf in a so british hotel where you can drink or take a drink), 1 small garden, you also have many restaurants and coffees lower in the city) I think you just have to stay 1 or 2 days there, or more if you plan to relax above all.
I recommend this cottage without hesitation ! The best place to be at Nuwara Eliya. If I plan to go to Nuwara Eliya I will book the same cottage.

Sonia B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect ! no worry really !
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews