We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really special little "big" Place”
Review of Nidwalden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nidwalden Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at JP's place after trying unsuccessfully somewhere else first, and boy are we glad we did. The moment I stepped out of the Tuk Tuk I was greeted by a warm welcome handshake and I knew there and then it would be the start of a beautiful bromance.... loga made a lovely cup of tea on arrival, while JP's brother, father and daughter told us stories of the area and how his father used to bath in the waterfall which once fell behind their house.. Nothing is to much trouble for JP and the homemade food was delicious...even made a take away breakfast for a 5am departure!!! It's a little cooler in Nuwara Eliya compared to the rest of the country so dress warm as the rooms can catch you by surprise as there is no heating, but I believe there are heaters available! but snuggle up under the fluffy throws and you soon forget the cooler conditions anyway. If you want to feel relaxed, comfortable yet looked after then look no further than Nidwalden Resort. Kind personal regards JP & Loga. Brian & Claudia (Ireland & England)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had a great time meeting the exuberant and larger than life JP and his wonderful and patient wife Loga, who is a great cook and served us up some tasty local treats. The stay was one of the highlights of our trip and It's all down to these guys. JP went out of his way to help us out when there was a cock up on behalf of Agoda. We highly recommend staying here, even just for a night. Stay for breakfast, lunch or dinner to sample authentic dishes but make sure you're hungry, because Loga will stuff you full of food. She'll also give you tips on how to cook it yourself. We laughed our way through our stat here thanks to JP. Thanks to then both. Amber and John

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caterj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Me and my family had the opportunity of staying three nights at Nidwalden in our recent visit to Nuwara eliya. In my previous trips we stayed at almost all star class hotes in Nuwara eliya, but this time JP, Loga and Ram made our trip to a most memorable trip we ever had.
Their hospitality warmth and Loga's delicious foods made us delighted. My two children were the most happiest. August 14 th was my wife's birthday and they arranged a suprise party for us and we were extremly happy and surprised. It made us so memorable to us thanks Jp, Loga and Ram
My wife enjoyed thier cooking instructions as Loga prepared all meals infront of us as it is not common in Sri Lankan hotels or guest houses.
My children are eagerly waiting to make our next trip to Nuwara Eliya then to Nidwalden.

Room Tip: Front triple room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raniljanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The warmth, hospitality, and kindness displated by JP and Loga are unrivaled to any other accomodations I have experienced in my travels. JP is over the top welcoming and friendly and goes out of his way to give his guests an inside glimpse into life in Up country. Loga is equally warm and cooks up the most delicous, authentic, homemade Sri Lankan food anywhere. I will always remember my 4 days at JP and Loga's place amd highly recommemd this guesthouse to any travellers interested in authentic culutal experiences.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Really nice manager, fixed us up some breakfast on arrival day after a 3h drive from the airport where we arrived ar 03.30 in the morning. Enough hot water, got a heater for the room for a little extra charge upon asking. Though situated really inconvenient up the hill. We had our own driver, so no problem for us.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Segdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This is te best guesthouse ever. We immediately felt like home, something I have never experienced before.
JP is so nice and makes you never want to go home again. Loga cooks the the best Sri Lankian meals whenever you ask for it.
If you want to experience a warm homecoming guesthouse, Nidwalden is the place to be!
Definitely want to come
back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russellsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Best place, food, everything! JP and Loga welcome you like family. JP can arrange anything you want for the best price. The rooms are slightly older but the couple makes up for that in every way. When we left we and JP and Loga teared up becaise we bonded that well in just 2 days. To see and experience true tamil life and hospitality go to Nidwalden ( the name of the resort has a good story, JP will tell you ).

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Nienke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.8 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
1.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Fern Cottage
King Fern Cottage
#3 of 260 in Nuwara Eliya
501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#12 of 260 in Nuwara Eliya
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nidwalden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nidwalden Resort

Address: 36 Water Field Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 211 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £31 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nidwalden Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the highest point at the foot hill of Piduruthalagala, Nidwalden Resort is a unique place in Nuwaraeliya. The owner Muthu Jeyaprakash (JP) and his wife Loga are personally involved in managing the place. The most memorable experience of any visitor staying at this place is its delicious homemade cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Nidwalden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing