We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
East Bay, near San Francisco
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were booked into the Grand Hotel as part of a prepaid tour. In reading the reviews on TripAdvisor before our departure, I was very apprehensive. My expectations were low. However, we were very pleasantly surprised.

Our room might have been one that was more recently renovated. It was large, with 2 very comfortable beds, a table and chairs, and a large bathroom with plenty of places to hang our laundry. Our room was toward the back of the hotel, making for a quiet night's sleep.

The buffet was extravagant with a large variety of dishes in both western and Sri Lankan style. One evening the hotel laid out a full outdoor barbecue, with many delicious choices.

Even though the downtown area was not exceptional, it was a very pleasant and short stroll from the hotel. If you wander downtown, be sure to get off the main drag, through the alleyways, and into the more authentic market stalls.

Staying here felt like staying in an Old English Grand Dame. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    742
    361
    138
    78
See reviews for
500
872
65
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed for just one night as part of a tour, it was like stepping back in time, and had a great colonial feel, check in was efficient and friendly. Our room,was ok nothing exciting and not very big but was clean and had all we needed. The evening meal was buffet service but had lots of choice, I did have to try the ginger sponge and custard though just to remind me of home (yummy),the dining room was beautiful and the band playing during our meal was very good.The gift shop downstairs in the hotel is worth a mention, lots of gifts cards and clothes very reasonabley priced and no pressure to buy either, we also got some discount without even asking.
A good hotel in a beautiful area, just loved the tea plantations waterfalls and beautiful scenery

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
553 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

By far the worst hotel we stayed at in Sri Lanka.

Arrived to find that because we were on a B & B basis we couldn't book a table until 9.15pm despite them knowing we had to be up at 5 am to trek Horton Plains. Rooms are bare, basic and shabby and I don't have particularly high standards. Draughty with old poor furniture. Small worn bath towels and no flannels. Common areas are dark. Food is of a good standard but service is awful. We had to ask for cups twice and coffee three times before they arrived. Management need to get their act together, the lack of competition is giving them too easy a ride.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Our initial impression was poor as our driver was sent off with our bags to a separate door, reception was buried behind half a dozen wood-and-chandelier drawing rooms, and the service was chaotic with about ten people seeming to be organising our room key. Then they wanted cash for an internet code. However, things improved with a good evening meal and an excellent packed breakfast which was ready as requested at 5.15am. (We were doing the World's End walk) and they let us keep the room until 1pm so we could shower and pack on our return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The hotel stands apart and slightly above the local area. It has a long and historic past and would not look out of place in a film about the English Raj.
The average mark is down to the whole place needing a full up-date. Rooms looking tired and need some money spent on them. Food very good and the service as usual was excellent.
The immediate local area has an English pub and most of the hotel guests congregated there. The local town/shops were disappointing, no local produce just Matalan on a really, really bad day.

Room Tip: Do not go into town, not worth the effort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeroSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We travelled as a family of 4 and booked 2 rooms for 1 night. The hotel is very busy with lots of tourists spending just 1 or 2 nights. It reminds me of typical good 4* hotels near attraction parcs or near a national park in the US. The only difference is that it is an old English built house in Sri Lanka. You will get a comfortable clean room, good friendly service (considering all employees are very busy), fair price, good decent food, everything is working. Hotel is about 10- 15 min walk from center, but a tuk-tuk is there in 4 min.

We can clearly recommend this hotel. Only remark: In the night in January, it can be really cool in Nuwara Elyia and the rooms have no heating (or you can ask for little portalbe "electrical hot air heaters"). But if you like fresh air in the rooms and to sleep with open windows (what we do), these little heaters will not help a lot...if you open the windows it can be just 10° in the room and we had just one wool cover...in this case we recommend have a warm pyjama and socks (not just a t-shirt and shorts...). But it is less cool in other periods and you may ask other wool-covers..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our small group (16 ie 8 rooms) stayed 2 nights and rooms were VERY variable! Ranging from good size with modern bathrooms to ours , which was reminiscent of servants quarters from a bygone age. In very cold weather we had bare floorboards ,very shabby, old,musty furniture ,a tiny non working portable floor heater and a tiny basic shabby bathroom with broken tiles ,dirty windows. Appalling!
The public areas had probably not long been refurbished, but were mostly dull and gloomy except for the washrooms which were very modern, smart and clean !
The service too was erratic- in the a la carte restaurant we waited over an hour for soup ! In the main restaurant the self service buffet style food was very good with an excellent breakfast choice but was slow and badly organised for tea and coffee service.
If you choose to stay here then look carefully before accepting your room as some are no doubt acceptable but many need a long overdue refurb!

Room Tip: Specify firmly that you want an acceptable quality of room and ask for the better standard wing Poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pharaway4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing