We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING RESTAURANT SERVICE”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
“DISGUSTING RESTAURANT SERVICE”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My friends and I visited Grand Hotel for lunch in October 2013. 6 of us walked in looking for a restaurant for lunch. When we found it and asked for a table for 6, the waiter (young local guy) suggested we try the buffet instead in the other restaurant. We went to check it out and decided to go for the proper restaurant with a nice a la carte menu.

We sat down in what was a nice and cosy restaurant and when we were ready to order, we called on the waiter.

We started to each give our orders, taking turns to carefully state what we wanted when he very rudely and abruptly stopped us after placing our first order. He told us, and using very rude, almost commanding hand gestures for everyone to CONSOLIDATE our order and that I should tell him the whole order alone. For e.g. I should tell him how many soups we wanted, how many of the same mains we wanted. Dude, seriously, we are at a bloody hotel and is it so difficult to take 6 orders? Anyway, we adhered and I consolidated the orders. Meanwhile, the same waiter was behaving like he was not even interested in being there when we ordered water and he did not even acknowledge and walked off.

The food came. 2 of my friends ordered clam/mussel pasta with WHITE wine sauce because they were having bad stomaches and did not want any cream. Instead, 2 creamy chicken pastas came. When we asked the waiter to come and that they served us the wrong dish, he INSISTED that it was CLAM/Mussel pasta. At this point we were speechless. We told him to try the damned meat and tell us if it was clams. He took it to the chef then came back to 'apologise' for their mistake. While waiting, I had the risotto which was absolutely sh** (just like rice soaked in cream) and my friend's expensive seafood platter too was below standards with prawns not being fresh and flakey.

Anyway, the 2 pastas finally came and guess what? Cream sauce. Voila. Perfecto. Why put white wine pasta on the menu if you just want to serve whatever you damned well please? Screw it, we could not bother to get a new order.

Yummy, when I was eating, cockroach crawled up my table. I crushed it with the place mat and told the waiter about it. He cleaned off the crushed cockroach with a tissue and walked away. I called him back and said, are you going to change my place mat? He pulled it off and walked away. Took about another 5mins before he came back with a "new one", probably the same one.

Anyway... the breads and buns served before everything were really good. That's all I can say about this restaurant.

You'd expect service to be a top priority when it comes to being in the hospitality industry but I guess not.

I'm not one to complain but even service in KFC is better. Just feel the necessity to warn people and/or to let management know. There was no manager around and the whole fort was manned by one incompetent and professionally rude waiter.

Hotel is beautiful btw.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest, We are extremely sad and shocked to hear about your experience. Your detailed description while sounding very unpleasant, has made us look at ourselves and examine the way we treat our customers. We do get an overwhelming majority of positive and in fact, excellent comments about our services, but that will not prevent us from giving your review top priority. Even as I write this response many of our managers are probing into this incident. At this point, I would earnestly request you to provide us the dates and times if possible so that we could get to the exact circumstances of this series of events. you may contact me on rm@grandhotel.lk.
Whilst thanking you for taking the time to review us, we do hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    759
    367
    140
    79
See reviews for
516
887
66
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Smart old fashioned hotel now showing its age a bit. Rather smallish room. Was rather windy and cold. We exhausted the supply of tissues trying to stop the draughts and loud rattling from the window panes - (putty and sealant dry and hard so panes were loose.) Floors uneven and sloping leading to unexpected cupboard door openings. We also had a number of inflated balloons in our room - not sure why, Didn't find the string quartet but it looked like the sort of place that would have one.
Restaurant good and staff helpful and friendly.
Certainly not a characterless modern like many others and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Check for rattles and draughts. Ask for ac - maybe noisy but you should be warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwall0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to note that you had enjoyed most part of your stay with us. However, we note with concern your comment about the window rattling due to strong winds. We have now checked all our rooms and have corrected situation. we thank you for bringing it to our notice. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Our room was big with a good sized bathroom. The bath was very deep; we added plenty of hot water and had a great soak. The room and bathroom were clean, tho they struggle with the mould in the bathroom. An exhaust fan would help with the mould. The room had a heater and was well appointed.

The food was a highlight with lots of traditional Sri Lankan to choose from. We ate in the ball room as well as the smaller snack bar. Great staff.

Check out the gift shop located in the lowest floors. Most of the souvenirs were priced well, below what we found in other places. Lots of quirky clothing.

This was part of what was a fantastic Bunnik 17-day tour.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review and we are glad to note that you had enjoyed most part of your stay with us. We have taken special note your comment about the rooms and have taken immediate remedial action.
In the meantime we would like to inform you of the additions we will make during the coming months. We have revamped our nature program to include more outdoor activities and excursions and are also adding a Thai Restaurant to enhance the dining options. All this is planned to make your next stay with us longer and more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Walking into this hotel is like walking into the past. One can visualise the British ex-pats staying at the hotel to escape the Sri Lankan heat. The room was very comfortable, however, the heater made a lot of noise during the night and had to be turned off and there was no view. The food was plentiful and very tasty, but the coffee in the coffee shop was returned as the brew was the worst coffee I had ever tasted. Thankfully, I was not charged. The shop downstairs has a good selection of clothing at very reasonable prices. The hotel is very close to town and is a good base from which to visit the tea plantations. Would recommend this place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to note that you had enjoyed most part of your stay with us. We note with concern your comments about the coffee, and please be assured that we will address this immediately. We are also glad to learn that you liked the items on offer at our Gift shop. In the meantime we would like to inform you of the additions we will make during the coming months. We have revamped our nature program to include more outdoor activities and excursions and are also adding a Thai Restaurant to enhance the dining options. All this is planned to make your next stay with us longer and more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had to book to this hotel because the other hotel in Nuawara Eliya (The tea factory) was fully booked. so it came as our second choice. When we arrived at the hotel we were surprised because it was old but to be fair it is well maintained.

The check in was smooth and welcoming like all other hotel in Sri Lanka. The room was small with old but well maintained furniture. Since Nuawara Eliya is high in the mountains, we had to use the prefabricated chimney inside the room which was by the way a nice touch.

We had breakfast and dinner and they were both very good in terms of taste and variety. Also at the dinner the ambient was nice since there was a live band playing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review and we are happy to note that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you found the food,service and the ambience of our restaurants to be excellent. To delight every single guest of ours is our singular aim, and we are so glad to hear from you.
We have revamped our nature program to include more outdoor activities and excursions and are also adding a Thai Restaurant to enhance the dining options. All this is planned to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We are on tour in Sri Lanka and this old out dated hotel was one of the hotels on our tour. Thankfully it was only one night. The hotel somehow has 4 stars. The staff are extremely unfriendly apart from very few. DO NOT eat at the Grand Indian, the staff there are ALL very unfriendly and look like they don't want to be there and extremely unhappy to see you walk into the restaurant.

Management at the hotel seem to have given up on trying to improve because they stopped replying to posts with their seemingly standard response since early 2012. Nice billiard room, cigar bar and ground floor but everything else especially the rooms are dreadful. Old carpets, dreary looking décor, intermittent hot water.

The area is a bit 'odd' so not sure what the other hotels may be like so perhaps the only choice but if you can help it, trust me you want to give it a miss.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest, We are extremely saddened to hear that your stay with us was not an enjoyable one, while a large number of other guests during the same period, had communicated to us that they were delighted with what we offer. To satisfy every single guest is our aim and clearly we have not been able to achieve that in your case. We are also very sure that the faults you had mentioned have to be exceptions and not the norm, which gives us the confidence to invite you to visit us again, and see for yourself, if in fact, the service is consistently bad.

We do hope your holiday in Sri Lanka was a good one.
Thank you and best wishes from all at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Unfortunately the hotel was sold out when we were here, however we did have a few meals in the cafe - the smaller restaurant. We found the food and the service was good and the atmosphere was very nice with classical playing in the background.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,521 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
653 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
274 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing