We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night in the lovely old stately hotel. We had a spacious room, 333, which was a corner room, with lovely bay windows overlooking the gardens. The bathroom is not modern, but clean and functional, and no complaints about the shower. I guess the outstanding element is the fantastic gardens, I think the best I have ever seen, an abundance of flowers, lovely places to sit and relax. The lobbies are stately and comfortable, and we thoroughly enjoyed the buffet dinner, a huge selection, great service- without being stuffy and good value. The night we were there there was a 6 piece band which were terrific, they played a good variety of music, and lot of people were up dancing. The breakfast buffet was also good, there was a large egg station, including eggs benedict, which I haven't seen before. I would recommend this for the ambiance and something different from the run of the mill hotels.

Room Tip: We enjoyed 333 a corner room, maybe a bit bigger and lighter than some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    750
    364
    138
    79
See reviews for
507
878
66
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing,West Sussex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great time here and note your comments about a possibility of a pool.There isn't really a great deal to do in Nuwara Eliya and so a pool would be a great addition-even though everyone here thinks the weather is cold-during the daytime its summer for us Europeans!!
We stayed for two nights , went to Horton Plains and had a look round the park and town and then went to look at the Heritance Tea Factory Hotel (A hotel converted from a tea factory).

We had high tea at the grand which was great, but wasn't advertised anywhere so you could easily miss it if you weren't around the area between 3.30 and 5.30.
The next night we went to the curry house at 6.30 when it opened (as recomended by the barman) and by 7pm it was full so glad we went early.
All the food was good.

As people have already mentioned it is old England ,when sitting in the lounge you could be at the Grand in Eastbourne, very amusing, but very stylish!
The piano player in the lobby area was brilliant!!!!!!!!!
The rooms were a bit dated -true -and we couldn't get the kettle plugged in or mosi repellent provided as they didn't fit in sockets.
One comment we did mention to management was to turn the outside ground spotlights off at
night time.We overlooked the Rose garden and the lights just lit up the room, my husband had to sleep with the eye mask he had from the plane ,not the best nights sleep.
Other than that had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyEdwards13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked the Grand Hotel since it is historic site. The rate in Agoda for the deluxe room was around 190 US$ per night and it was mentioned that there will be a spacious room of 40 square meters, with modern bath room, nice garden view and also balcony.

When you see the hotel from outside and in the lobby, it is indeed a small jewel. I recommend only to visit the hotel and maybe have a drink but not more, for following reasons:

The room (number 339) was not all spacious and was rather little (approx. 16 m2), the bath was very small and old (but not nicely old), there was no balcony and the view was just okay. The room was also not furnitured in a nice old way, rather in a simple manner. It does not earn more than a average 3 star rating. I complained at the reception and they told me that all the rooms are the same. They showed me some other rooms, but they were not better. One at least had a newer bath, but it was also very and even darker room giving sight into a small patio. Management of Grand Hotel told me that it is Agoda's mistake, since they were responsible for the description and all the rooms look like 339.

When I was checkin to the hotel, i had an other surprise. By error, I booked a room for one person instead of two persons. The hotel wanted to have the add up from my rate paid with Agoda to their rack rate for two persons (this was US$ 50 per night more, although the difference in the hotel between single use and shared use is only US$ 20). I also thought that this is a rather inacceptable manner of hotel management.

Don't go to the Thai restaurant in the hotel. Although it is a nicely decorated restaurant, the service and the food was very poor (sloppy and unreliable). I had also a big surprise that one orange wodka cost about 17 US$ what is extremely high for Sri Lanka. Ask the drink prices in the hotel before you order!!!

In the main restaurant, there is in the evening a buffet in the larger restaurant room. I would have liked it, but loud pop music from a pop band was played. I am not sure whether this fits well with a good hotel.

The hotel also declared that they have a SPA. But it was just a small sauna in the corridor. The fitness room was small and ugly, but sufficient to make some weight exercises.

The only positive thing of the hotel was the breakfast which was quite varying and also inlcuded sri lankan dishes. Although it was nicely sunny and therefore warm, you can unfortunately not sit outside in the garden for breakfast.

I complained with Agoda and at least they refunded me 20 % of the price paid by them. They were mentioning that Grand Hotel was not supporting this refund. This also demonstrates that this hotel is poorly managed and any sense of customer relationship is lacking. Agoda was supporting my complaint in a positive manner.

I am extremley surprised that the Grand Hotel is rated so highly in this place. I felt fully cheated. I can in no way explain why this hotel comes to a high tripadvisor rating! I will partly correct this with my terrible rating. For the price paid for this, it cannot be more than a terrible rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElmarBacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, We are indeed saddened to hear that your stay with us was not what it should have been. And although this is a rare adverse review, please be assured of our attention to the points mentioned by you. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, at some time in the future, and do hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri Lanka. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What anybody who frequently visits The Grand, would see is the unique colorful garden & the unchanged authentic front look of the hotel, over decades. Grand style warm & friendly hospitality is the same & admirable.
Front lobbies & lounges are still the same English with plenty of majestic wooden craftsmanship & cozy comfort.
Reception is also warm but little lethargic, perhaps due to the large turn over during the April season.
Unlike the gorgeous entry way & the lobbies, interior corridors & definitely rooms lack glamour & specialties available in smaller grade hotels. Governor's wing (old wing) rooms are apparently larger with very old doors & windows with no proper interior arrangement suited for a Grand hotel. Furniture do not have any class or do not match each other, & may disappoint any concerned guest.

Even though the hotel keeps the bygone era values, it could well have equipped the rooms with LED TVs and all.

If not for the space, new wing could be a better option.

As usual, the restaurant is the greatest in the hotel with wider array of starters, meats, pastas and deserts & most of the dishes have the authentic taste whether it is eastern or western. But it was much larger & greater a decade ago. Any way, anybody could be satisfied with something in the menu.

The staff from front lobby, the reception to the restaurant are really friendly and helpful, & the best are in the restaurant.

Best thing about the hotel is the well manicured, maintained garden, Don't forget to go around the hotel otherwise one could be deceived only by the front yard.

Room Tip: Over the window scene is better in the new wing room. Must try the Grand Thai restaurant, which tas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SISIRA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, at the same time note your comments about the need for our rooms to be improved. . In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The grand dame still maintains it beauty and charm of the bygone era. Well manicured lawns and the colourful flora around the hotel adds to the beauty of the place. The inside is equally well maintained.
We didn’t stay in the hotel because it was full. We went there for lunch buffet. From the valet to the restaurant staff the service was very good and courteous. The food was very tasty and well presented. The waiting staff was excellent and looked after us very well. All the restaurants in the hotel were very busy at lunch time.
Do recommend spending some time in the hotel even if you are only visiting for lunch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have annually visited Grand for years now.
very nice hotel to stay in and food is superb.
Staff is very friendly.
nothing to complain about.
I think 'free' wifi will be a great addition coz many hotels have it now.
Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilshanAbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. In case you did not know it, WIFI is free of charge in our Lounges. We would alos like to inform you that in our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The gardens looked beautiful upon arrival and that was the highlight of our stay. This is a hotel that is clearly still living off a reputation from a bygone era. Check-in was tardy, disorganised and confusing with luggage being delivered to a different door than the one you arrive at. The rooms aren't particularly large, as described but they are extremely warm and stuffy with no air con. There is, however, a heater should one wish to use it and we were given direction! Having already requested a baby cot prior to our arrival, it still took five reminders at reception to finally get one in the room. There is no fridge, the bathrooms are not particularly clean and we had to request a fan to be brought to cool the room down. None of the sockets take the Sri Lankan two-pin plugs, the appliances look as though they have come from a car boot sale and there is wifi only in the reception area. We decided not to keep asking for our room safe to be unlocked from the permanently locked open state, as we had lost motivation by that point.

Lunch was great after we moved to the restaurant, as we had been ignored in the Tea Lounge. Dinner was an experience in itself, with the very good pianist playing in an empty room by the reception and a very loud band (unable to talk to one another) playing in the dining hall...strange decision.

Despite all of these points staff are friendly (as all Sri Lankans seem to be) and extremely willing to help.

This hotel is in desperate need of a re-vamp and just needs some loving care and attention. Until then, it should just be re-named The Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with amenities and air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to note that you had enjoyed most part of your stay with us. We note with interest your comments about the rooms, and please be assured that we will address them and take corrective action. We have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience , starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong from Thailand. .As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity is another option that is well received by our guests. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again.
Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing