We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“decent hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

decent hotel right in the heart of nuweraliya town within walking distance of lake, shopping area .good hotel with grandeur of colonial era with golf course near by. great welcome with fater check in.and an elaborate break fast and there is a indian restaurant too in the hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rachotappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to review us. We at the grand are constantly thinking of ways of making your experience a most enjoyable one. This July we have introduced a Specialty Coffee and Flambe dessert promotion at our famed tea lounge, to add to the High Tea and Fondue selection. For those of you who like the outdoors we have developed some new treks and excursions accompanied by our Naturalists. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    760
    368
    140
    79
See reviews for
518
890
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I must say that the location of the hotel, and the view from the room is exquisite. It is a colonial building surrounded by mountains.

The ambiance and the hotel service is excellent, however, the property is old and some facilities are not up to the mark. Eg: the rooms still have lock&key doors which do make a noise disturb people in surrounding rooms.

The first room where we checked-in had a washroom issue that the bathtub drain would overflow if you used the washbasin. When we complained, we were immediately moved into a new & bigger room with a better view.

The staff is very courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: Take the garden view room on the ground floor. Those are bigger and the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali Hamza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad to note that you had enjoyed most part of your stay with us, and especially experienced the service of our team members. However, please be assured that we will take special note of the areas for improvement mentioned by you. We have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience , starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong from Thailand. .As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity is another option that is well received by our guests. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Sri Lanka was a good one and hope to see you again.
Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The reception areas and lounges are really nice and comfortable, would be really nice if there was some decent service there, the service was really bad. The rooms were large and very old fashioned. The afternoon tea on 'the lawn' is not as you would expect it, 'the lawn' is a triangle of grass in the middle of the driveway and carpark

It was annoying that we could not reserve the main restaurant, seems like they give priority to the bus tours, our only option was room service.

The main dining room, where we had breakfast was very dark and dreary, no windows at all. Breakfast food was below average.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest, While we thank you for your post, we are indeed saddened to hear that your stay with us was not what it should have been. To be average or "OK" is not what we want to be. We have noted the areas pointed out by you and have resolved most areas. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, at some time in the future, and hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri Lanka. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The place is average but on very nice location by the lake. It is not well equipped and it is not so clean. The personal is very friendly and helpful. Recommend it for a short stay. We didn't have breakfast there but in the city

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marenostrumkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest, Whilst thanking you for your review, we are taking serious note of your comments on where we have to do better. We certainly do not want to be an average Hotel, and will certainly make improvements to be excellent. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ornex, France
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is not really confortable, however, the Victorian style really makes you feel all that history.

Everything is oldish and not confortable (bed is ok but we had a dog barking all night).

We ate at the a la carte restaurant, service was slow but the food was ok.

Service in this hotel is good.

The bar offers a lot of cocktails.

You can read my full review here (in French but you can Google translate it) http://www.gate-41.com/wordpress/?p=2947

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. We are happy to learn that you were able to enjoy most of your stay with us. Please be assured that we will take special note of the the areas for improvement In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Had a really great time with my family, the scenes in the morning was just beautiful, hotel was quite old however we'll managed with friendly staff, food was alright however specials went really quick which meant we had to get up early for breakfast, all and all had a good time

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your kind words. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. In our endeavor to offer more to our guests, we have lined up many value additions to the Grand experience, starting with a 30 minute Yoga and stretching exercise at 7am each morning, absolutely free for house guests and the Grand Thai manned by Chef Boonsong . As always our focus will continue to be on improving our customer care, to be on par with the best of the best. Our Nature program which is growing in popularity, is another option that is well received by our guests. We would also invite you to tell us of any special requests you will need during your stay with us. All this is put together to make your next stay with us longer and even more enjoyable. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I must say that the place is a real authentic old british style hotel and very much a place i would go back to stay in. But here are the problems i faced...

1. No one in room service knew what a "tea mug" was. in Sri Lanka you need a good tea mug to enjoy tea and this hotel did not know about it.

2. The Indian restaurant in the hotel - really one of the worst experience. the staff appears lacking in training. they bring food to serve before placing the plates on the table. They take too long to serve after placing order and i saw about 3-4 tables very disappointed with the service and quality of food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhaykasbekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest, We are indeed saddened to hear that your stay with us was not what it should have been. We have noted the areas pointed out by you and have resolved most areas and have put in place extra measures to ensure that our rooms and public areas are kept at the required standards. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, at some time in the future, and do hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri Lanka. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
810 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
653 reviews
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
157 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing