We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is a fabulous old Colonial building very close to the city center. The rooms in the old wing and the staff takes you back to the days of the Raj. Restaurants serve delicious food and the breakfast and dinner buffets are extremely good. A wide variety of cuisines are served as theme nights. Service is excellent.. For the modern traveler there are rooms in the new wing. I love room 318 as it is enormous with 2 bay windows over looking their magnificent gardens. Hotel is spotlessly clean. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: our favorite is 318 as it is enormous with 2 large beds. 2 bay windows where you can sit and look ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surakshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest, Our sincere thanks for your review. We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We at the grand are constantly thinking of ways of making your experience a most enjoyable one. This July we have introduced a Specialty Coffee and Flambe dessert promotion at our famed tea lounge, to add to the High Tea and Fondue selection. For those of you who like the outdoors we have developed some new treks and excursions accompanied by our Naturalists. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    769
    374
    141
    80
See reviews for
534
895
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in a standard non-smoking room for two nights. As other reviews mentioned, the non-smoking rooms are in the wing that hasn't been renovated. It really does need it, as it feels tired, the floor creaks and the fittings are poorly done. Having said that, it was clean, comfortable and functional. Also requires a lift, which they've installed in the renovated wing.

Otherwise, the hotel service is very good, and the buffet breakfast and restaurants are a treat. The hotel has a great atmosphere and is walking distance from town.

Value is OK, however being from overseas I'm not a fan of charging overseas tourists a lot more than locals. Makes sense in a way though.

Overall, this hotel has a lot going for it, once the renovations are complete.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the renovated wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VWBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,Thank you for reviewing us. We are happy to learn that you were able to enjoy most part of your stay with us. At the same time we appreciate your comments on the areas for improvements and will certainly work towards correcting them. We at the grand are constantly thinking of ways of making your experience a most enjoyable one. This July we have introduced a Specialty Coffee and Flambe dessert promotion at our famed tea lounge, to add to the High Tea and Fondue selection. For those of you who like the outdoors we have developed some new treks and excursions accompanied by our Naturalists. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I had read some bad reviews of this hotel but ignored them as the bad reviews don't usually turn out to be anywhere near as awful as they sound......I should have listened.
The public areas of the hotel are lovely, smart gardens and beautiful dining and bar areas. We were walked a long way to our room, with 3 flights of stairs (I should have realised then). Our room was very dated, which is fair enough, but the bathroom was dirty - hairs in the bath, the toilet splashed water when flushed, there was an adjoining door to the next room and you could hear everything. My husband complained - something we have never done and when he mentioned raising our issues with Virgin Holidays we were swiftly moved to another room in the main part of the hotel - clean, modern and a lift. He was told we weren't given this nicer room in the first place as it had just been checked out - but they strangely got it cleaned etc very quickly. Our travelling companions had very similar issues and were also moved. The food was very good and the bar was nice. I was glad we only stayed 1 night. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't let them fob you off with the cheap and nasty rooms - complain if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, We are saddened to hear that your stay with us was not what it should have been. We have noted the areas pointed out by you and have already taken measures to correct them.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, at some time in the future, and do hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri Lanka. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel provides a nice colonial experience. It is not a modern hotel, but it provides that specific experience that some travelers seek. Best time to go to Nuwara Eliya is in April which is the season, if you don't mind the influx of tourist to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HasithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to review us. We at the grand are constantly thinking of ways of making your experience a most enjoyable one. This July we have introduced a Specialty Coffee and Flambe dessert promotion at our famed tea lounge, to add to the High Tea and Fondue selection. For those of you who like the outdoors we have developed some new treks and excursions accompanied by our Naturalists. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have to say, this was my least favourite hotel in Sri Lanka - no horrific experience but it just needs a total makeover. I can appreciate heritage hotels but they should never be shabby or dirty. On top of that, the staff tried to be friendly but definitely not efficient - I suspect some professional training might help. The Grand has a beautiful shell but it would be wonderful to see her given some TLC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PrincessInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, We are indeed saddened to hear that your stay with us was not what it should have been. We have noted the areas for improvement mentioned by you and will certainly take corrective action. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, at some time in the future, and do hope you had an enjoyable time in Sri Lanka. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Grand as child upto about 8 yrs ago. Not since of late as I compare it with the peace, quiet & restfulness I get at the Hill Club.
Many visitors to the Grand are noisy & quite unruly. I have personally witnessed how large groups of arab tourist behave, and vowed never to go back. It was applling.
But the Grand is a lovely place to dine, at Cafe Magnolia or Grand Thai. Portions are enornous & value for money!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, We are extremely happy to learn that you were able to enjoy your stay with us and we thank you for taking the time to review us. We at the grand are constantly thinking of ways of making your experience a most enjoyable one. This July we have introduced a Specialty Coffee and Flambe dessert promotion at our famed tea lounge, to add to the High Tea and Fondue selection. For those of you who like the outdoors we have developed some new treks and excursions accompanied by our Naturalists. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights.
The hotel itself is very beautiful. It has an old colonial feel and a lot of elegance. there are also very nice gardens around the hotel.
The room was very big (we stayed in a junior suite). Our main problem was that we got 2 single beds pushed together, instead of a double bed (on our honeymoon...). Also, there was no WiFi in the rooms, just in the lobby and restaurant.
The food was good and the staff were very kind.
On our second night, a VIP stayed in the hotel (a Sri Lanken minister). this was a bit of an inconvenience, as he stayed in the room next to us and his security staff made a lot of noise. Also, the main restaurant was closed that night. Our main problem with that was that nobody from the hotel talked to us about it, so we just walked out of our room and saw armed soldiers in the corridor, or went to the restaurant and found out it was closed... Maybe they could have thought of the non VIP guests a bit more...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelsz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Grandhotel, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy to learn that you had enjoyed most part of your stay with us. We have taken note of the areas to be improved and will certainly take corrective action. We at the grand are constantly thinking of ways of making your experience a most enjoyable one. This July we have introduced a Specialty Coffee and Flambe dessert promotion at our famed tea lounge, to add to the High Tea and Fondue selection. For those of you who like the outdoors we have developed some new treks and excursions accompanied by our Naturalists. We do hope your stay in Nuwara Eliya was a good one and hope to see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Grand. Sincerely, Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
158 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing