We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful places and antique rooms”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful places and antique rooms”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I went to this gorgeous hotel on a family trip. The room has an very ancient touch to it. The food is good. I do love the garden.
However, it is quite expensive. I would not stay here if I travel solo or with my friends. Overall, I had a good experience here. If you have the money, go for it!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jocylin_fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    769
    374
    141
    80
See reviews for
534
895
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Currently traveling around Sri Lanka but opted for 4/5* hotels as mother and daughter traveling alone? After checking in, We were told where our room was, but not shown to it, The room was disgusting, apart from overlooking correlated roofs it was filthy, hairs on the bed and dirt and old spiders in the bathroom. We were moved to another room, same view but holes in the sheets and then moved again to our third room. Much more spacious but extremely dated ( old and renovated is glorious but old, dirty and dated is not)nothing like the pictures on the website, no mini bar, bathroom from the 50's, and a tv that should have been disposed of years ago. The ambiance when you walk into the hotel is lovely, but after that expectations fall short and are very much 2* rather then 5*, living in the luxury of the Middle East we have have very high expectations, I would certainly not recommend this hotel to friends and families or be tempted to come back again. Not tried to food yet but hope it is better than the hotel.

Room Tip: Best tip, not to go here! If you are here ask for a room with a view or you may end up in a room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently stayed for three nights - to summarise our comments:
1. The room amenities were average - bathroom amenities; cleanliness of room; room décor; and room comfort were all poor.
2. The hotel is beautiful and the public spaces are fine but our room was in desperate need of updating, especially the bathroom which was truly awful - it's all too old fashioned and scruffy...
3. I would expect a hotel of this perceived quality to offer Wi-Fi in all guest rooms not just in the lobby and to provide dressing gowns for all its guests...

While we would not hesitate to recommend Sri Lanka as a destination and to also recommend the other three hotels in which we stayed, sadly the same cannot be said for the Grand Hotel which is only grand in name...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We chose this hotel after lot of deliberations. And must say the first view of the hotel was stunning, beautiful landscape garden, nice location overseeing the golf Course, Colonial feel.
The Breakfast spread was good with lot of varieties and a large dining hall.

But the external beauty is marred by the small, congested and dilapidated rooms. we had booked a deluxe room but it looked and felt more like a standard room considering the amenities. The Lobby was beautiful and we found most of the guests spending time in the lobby.
The management should focus on the rooms and amenities
The Staff was very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Lovely hotel with old world grandeur and charm. Have stayed here several times now and loved it each time. Great place to explore Nuwara Eliya from. The food could be better, but the ambience makes up for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1voyageurDUmonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Everything that needs to be said about the hotel has been said so here's a little constructive criticism.

When we asked for a vase to put the flowers we brought, the hotel gave us a plastic bottle cut in two! Please buy some vases and keep them in the rooms.

We slept late and arrived 10 minutes to closing time to the restaurant for breakfast (our fault) but we were asked to hurry up buy a dark fat guy wearing a tie (restaurant manager?) in a very annoying manner. This I beleive was a moment when he forgot where he gets his salary from!

The bar/billiards staff were great, friendly as usual. Do not forget to visit the bar and have a beer and play a round at the tables. You will not see anything like it anywhere else in Sri Lanka.

Overall, a visit to Nuwara eliya is incomplete without a stay in this magnificient hotel. Would I come back? Of course.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front garden/driveway is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuhanSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Enjoyed our family holidays in this quite place. Lot of greenery around the place, nice place walk around, and nice food. Friendly staff make your stay comfortable. Ideal place for relax and enjoy.it was a very good Quiet experience with the family, and staff were friendly too

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterlebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
158 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing