We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a holiday”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Really great hotel, very comfortable. It is a very old hotel and reminds us of being in England.
Gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. It really looks so grand inside. The music is excellent and the atmosphere is wonderful. The Resident Manager and the staff are very courteous and helpful. It is about 10 - 15 minutes to the little town and very convenient.
The weather was good. The food was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and
would recommend this hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,079 - 1,085 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

English old fashioned looking hotel. The common areas are very well maintained and the rooms have been partially refurbished. They offer free wifi in common areas (not in rooms) and breakfast buffet is quite good. There's no much things to do in Nuwara Eliya. but the city center is 10 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mininani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wow this hotel has so much heritage and culture. Gardens are spectacular, coming from Australia this feels and looks very English. Everything is grand and olden love it. Even though weather was wet and raining staff very attentive. Great rooms and breakfast thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: wifi only in common areas. ask fo.r view of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PossandBarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel located in the picturesque town of Nuwara Eliya. Locals find this place as 'Little England'. The reason behind this is that buildings are very similar to that found in England. This place is totally different than the rest of Sri Lanka.

The hotel is also very different than other hotels in Sri Lanka. It has a cosy feeling and the furniture and ambience of the hotel makes you feel very welcomed. As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we were immediately offered tea and juggery ( a sugar speciality). The restaurants within the hotel offer great food and one can find different cuisines.

The breakfast was amazing - a vast selection of different food; both european and sri lankan.

The only downside of the hotel was that wi-fi was not available in the room and to use it we had to go down to the main lobby of the hotel.

Apart from that, the room was great, with ample space, tv, coffee facilities and adequate bathroom. There was even a heater in the room due to the cold atmosphere, but we did not use it.

Overall, it is a great hotel to stay in and we really enjoyed our time there! Also the staff are very friendly and they make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CamilleriD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Also known as “Little England” the scenic town of Nuwara Eliya lies nestled in a valley more than 2500 m above sea level and is surrounded by misty mountain ranges covered in pine forests and tea cultivations. The Grand Hotel lives up to its name. It's a sprawling building in the grand style of old England. The colonial style rooms were a pleasant contrast to the modern hotels we stayed in elsewhere throughout Sri Lanka. The bar is well stocked with local and imported spirits including a particularly large collection of whiskies, though prices in general are higher than elsewhere. The buffet presents extensive choice and all good. The dining room is elegant and comfortable and featured a short but interesting wine list at fair prices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclops69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was a pleasant surprise to us. It had a beautiful graden with great play area for kids. The food was the best we had in Sri Lanka with a very wide selection and candle light setting. Unfortunately, the rooms were dated and wooden floor boards very noisy. The beds were old and uncomfortable and we did not sleep well. It is a landmark in the area and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Grand hotel is a good old fashioned hotel, it will remind you the colonial period. The exterior and interior of the hotel is victorian style, nice garden in front. View nothing spectacular considering the hotel is in one of the more scenic town of sri lanka. Centrally located, attractions like gregory lake, main market place, race course are not very far. Hotel doesnot have its own spa, but in ground floor there are few souvenir shops and also a good spa which you may require if you do horthon plain or adam peak. Price on the high side. There is an indian restaurent in addition to the main restaurent which serves buffet. Overall good for stay for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasim1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
966 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green City
Araliya Green City
#9 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Grand Hotel Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £139 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing