We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fawlty Towers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here as part of a Peregrine tour. Rooms were comfortable if a bit tired looking. Bathroom was adequate. Had to order our meals 2 hours in advance and it seemed as if there was only one staff member trying to do everything - reception, bar and restaurant!! He had to unlock the bar for us to go and get a drink and then would rush off to another area of the hotel. Meal was fine when we got it but all got served separately. Did not feel welcoming but fine for a one night stay.
Location was central to the town so rooms overlooking the road might be noisy. Felt dated and tired.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    39
    68
    31
    17
See reviews for
40
63
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed here as part of an 'Exodus' tour of Sri Lanka. Turning up at the hotel it looked pretty grim from the outside, however, the rooms were fine, albeit a little shabby. We had a room that looked on to the side and overlooked a small building site - not sure if the rooms at the front may have had noise from the road. It's a central location. Suspect that there are better hotels in the town than this - but don't rule it out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anet-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Need to stay in this hotel could be only because of the location otherwise the hotel is not that good. The room given to us was not that good..bed spread, bedsheets and cushions looked dirty ..When we asked for the new one even that looked the same. Bathroom was clean but not maintained, it had all chipped tiles. Restaurant was quite good. But overall, there is nothing great about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeyer_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

excellent location and very nice town view. walking distance to all the places in town. average parking area and there is a security guard in the car park so you can freely park your car for days. inside the hotel is very nice interior and the foods are average.

if you take a city view room there is minor noise from outside so i suggest you to get a room from hill side view.

if talk about prices it is very resalable and ppl at the help-desk/reception is so nice and helpful.

Room Tip: if you take a city view room there is minor noise from outside so i suggest you to get a room from h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalitha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Excellent hotel. Bang in the middle of town - close to the main market, local bus depot. They have an excellent dining room. Free WiFi internet access is available only in the lobby and dining room area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

It is an average property. Location is excellent - right in the heart of the city. In the Night we could go around and find some good restaurants to eat..so cannot say much about the hotel food. TH breakfast has to be informed well in advance - the night before. Otherwise you can have just the 3 set breakfasts only..Room was large..but had not room heater (this is a requirement since the place is cold during jan-feb...i.e the winters.). The hotel provided blankets but not enough to keep you warm. Otherwise a nice place..full of old world furnitures and wooden floorings. The rooms donot come with TV..and so if you want music you can hear radio on the landline phone.

Room Tip: Choose a road facing room. Avoid the hotel during winters. Check for breakfast the day before and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdheeshKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

When we read the reviews of this hotel, we were really worried about the kind of hotel our agent had booked us in. Thankfully we were in for a pleasant surprise. One of the members of our group was quite old and the front office manager went out of his way to allot a room on the first floor. Food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast. The hotel has a very old world ambience and decor which we enjoyed. Yes, it does need renovation especially in the bathroom. All in all we had a good stay in Windsor Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank way2goBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.1 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: 2 Kandy Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing