We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't slip on the floor!”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Don't slip on the floor!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very large room with two single beds pushed together to make a double, two bedside tables and lamps, circular occasional table with two chairs, big wall mirror, suitcase rack, luggage stand, wardrobe. Bathroom has shower area but no bath. Wooden parquet flooring. Free wi-fi in room and very small flat-screen tv on wall, but no fridge. Highly polished wooden floor.
Friendly staff.
Breakfast is fruit, omelette and bacon, toast and coffee, not buffet.
Close to centre of town, but with ample car-parking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    40
    69
    31
    17
See reviews for
40
64
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The best thing about this place is the friendly and professional staff, including check-in counter, bell serive, door man, restaurant staff and location, location , location. The hotel is close to the town centre.
The decoration of the dining hall was pretty.The rooms are old and not super good, but they provide the basic comfort. The toilet didnt work the night we stayed at the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pazza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The best thing about this place is the friendly and professional staff, including check-in counter, bell serive, door man, and restaurant staff. The decoration of the dining hall was pretty.The rooms are old and not super good, but they provide the basic comfort.
Restaurant was ok, a big over-priced.
Two things to complain though. First, I stayed in a double room with a high bed. The bed has a bar supporting in the centre under the mattres, but this bar was too hard compared to other part of the mattrees without support. I had terrible backpain after the night. Second, my family stayed in another room (3 bed room) and there was no hot water shower (instead, my room has very good hot water provided). Check out the bed and the hot water when you check in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night... and that was enough. When we checked in the hotel had done some errors (or tour company have given wrong info) but instead of giving the rooms for the families with babies (we were a group of 11). they were calling here and there and trying to put the blame on someone. After raising the voice and showing the kids who are suffering after an 8 hour drive did we manage to convince the receptionist to give us the keys and sort of the issues with the rest of the group etc.

The Rooms are tired and need a good refurbishment. it had many mosquitoes. we found the staff to be really great and very attentive they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable even the kitchen did special food as per request for an infant who was with us. It was really a shame that these wonderful people didn't have a property to match their service.

no lifts and no disability facilities. so if ur on the 3rd floor some climbing to do. City center hotel so was convenient but no nice views.

The shower had a mind of it own it went from hot to cold and back to hot on it own after i tried to keep the mixer at the middle. so i had to dance around for my shower :)

No room heater and no double glass for the windows so by midnight when the temp was 6 C my wife almost lit a campfire in the room.. she suffered till morning and slept the next day in our vehicle. :(

If ur traveling to Nuwara Eliya u have to book early if not u have to put up with places like these. they know that rooms are in short supply so they are not bothered with an upgrade was what i felt.

Great people/service bad property....what a shame !

Room Tip: book some place else, If all others are full then this is better then this is good enough to survive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshan_Withanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorHotelNE, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
courteous
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My family and I stayed here for one night and I'm glad it wasn't any longer! The bathroom was so old and the shower curtain was mouldy.
The room was ok, but really needed some TLC. In fact the whole hotel could do with a makeover.
Dark dingy corridors great you around the hotel, and the staff don't smile or great you.
Breakfast was average, and I wouldn't stay here again.
The only reason we stayed here was because this was one of the hotels our travel agent had chosen for us a 8 day tour we had booked.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roshani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinoso, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

At first I thought that this was another shabby Sri Lankan hotel but, in fact, for once the service wasn't just fawning it was efficient and most of the things in the room worked as they should.

The room wasn't pretty but we had hot water the bed was comfy and the telly had several channels.

Although the food wasn't brilliant it was acceptable and served as a set menu rather than as a buffet.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Culebronchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is good for shops and restaurants but noisy during the day and calm overnight. The rooms are very large and clean but somehow old and in need of updated. The interior is nicer than exterior.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.4 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: 2 Kandy Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing