We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect to get a wifi signal”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The welcome drink and snack provided was lovely. The guest lounge had a nice ambience although non-existent wifi. My room had 3 beds, the shower was hot, heavy curtains in the front-facing bay window either made me completely visible to street level or blocked out all the light. The location is central. Loaner umbrellas were available in the lobby. Front desk staff were not very helpful when I asked for a weather forecast or even a temperature. Overall the hotel showed signs of previous elegance and grandeur that hasn't been optimally maintained. I did not eat in the restaurant although the hotel prepared boxed breakfasts for our group because we had an early morning hike to World's End. The food was generous but staff were disorganized as to which sandwiches had been placed in which boxes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at the Windsor Hotel as our previously booked accommodation was unfit to stay in (Fairlyland Inn). The town was very busy and all the decent accommodation was fully booked so we had little choice and ended up having to stay at the Windsor. The hotel may have been good in its earlier days but it is sadly now very rundown and over priced. The accommodation, furnishings and food is well below the 3 stars it claims to have and should not achieve 1 star. We had vermin scurrying in the roof void and the WiFi was unusable as it was of such poor signal.
The only positive is the hotel is in the town center.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sambro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Like just about everything in Nuwara Eliya this hotel is overpriced but is a good midrange option. I paid $US84 for a double room that was a little musty but was comfortable with a decent bed and good shower. Buffet dinner was ok and was 2050 LKR which again is expensive by local standards. Very friendly staff and a central location. Worst wifi connection I've encountered in a long time though.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrynNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Location was very helpful. Food was incredibly overpriced. Wifi was basically non existent. Bathroom maintenance was horrific. The shower is not even a shower but merely a cubical with a shower curtain. Otherwise the room condition was average, do not expect an incredibly clean and comfortable bed. This hotel is okay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Windsor Hotel was very nice and accommodating. The staff speaks English well and I noticed the staff conversing in German also. The hotel has an excellent menu and food is served in large portions. I recommend any of the available soups on the menu. The rooms are clean. The beds are hard as only thin mattresses are used. The blankets are down filled and very nice considering the temperature at night. The hotel bar is nice and a local attraction. Nearby the hotel are ATMs and shops that sell North Face clothing very cheap. All in all, I would be happy to stay In this hotel again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Danandlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location of this hotel is good.
we had a triple room which was a good size and we were not all squashed in.
the bathroom had an excellent hot power shower so that alone made this room worth what we paid for it. we paid 5,000 LKR per night in low season
the beds were comfortable and clean and we were supplied with duvets too as it was so cold
wifi was only available in the top floor rooms
the staff were helpful and friendly but some were a little more reserved than we have been used to in Sri Lanka
The local mosque was audiable but was not loud enough to wake us in the mornings - our room was at the back of the hotel
The manager was a very friendly chap

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel needs to be upgraded the location is good. Food was not great rooms very bad condition and the bath rooms are not clean. We booked for two nights but only stayed for one night.

Staff was ok but the hotel looked haunted and we were the only guest in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are Average and the curtains are bad in the room so you et direct sunlight to the room very ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sureni24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,597 reviews
1.1 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#22 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: 2 Kandy Road, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £64 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing