We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I hadn't been to Nuwara Eliya in 10 years...and the hotel even longer, and I was pleasantly surprised. It is still as charming as it was before..a little dated....but still charming. The bedrooms are comfortable though slightly dated, and you had to investigate to find the tea making facilities hidden in the cupboard! They are however still undergoing some renovations, so opt for the new wing or else you will be rudely woken up at 8am!!
The food is good, dinner was a set menu ( I had to opt out of dessert as I was stuffed) while we had a breakfast buffet. The bar area and other sitting rooms have a cosy ambiance, with functioning fire places...... and you have the additional perk of hiring a hookah pipe!! It fits in with the chilly temp of the area! Staff were very helpful and courteous. Take your wolley's..its gets pretty cold!

Room Tip: They are currently rennovating one of the wings, so... if you have a choice go for the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PurplewallLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm comments regarding our hotel posted on Trip Advisor and your stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. I hope your trip to Sri Lanka was a pleasant one full of happy memories. As you have already mentioned the renovations, let me add to that by saying, once it is complete, the property would be fully restored to glory and reach greater standards.

We will share your thoughts with our team and hope you will visit us again once the new wing is in operation. Until then we wish you all the best from the team here at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    603
    250
    90
    46
See reviews for
328
734
42
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Well this definitely is not a 5star or. 4 star hotel. It's just a 3star hotel. But if I were to talk about this hotel I need to talk about their hospitality and their restaurant (old course restaurant) We had the best set dinner and breakfast in this hotel. Service was 5 star. Food was 6 star. And the staffs were really helpful and polite, professional too. The hotel condition was no so much Of an issue when rest of the service was more than satisfying. Please do try the welcome soup it was awesome. Don't expect swim pool, gym or a massage centre in this hotel. Well a good place to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARALAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya. We have noted your lovely comments and are happy that we have delivered our best possible Jetwing hospitality.

Your comments will be sent to all relevant associates as we believe it is very important to keep up the team morale.We thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor and look forward to your return visit in the future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Not a good location - middle of the town and very close to busy market and public bus stand. Staff at reception were courteous. Hot napkin & welcome drink was very good. room was okay but bathroom was bad. They had a decent library. cupbard was very old. no fan, fridge, coffee table.They had provided used room slippers. restaurant was dark but food was good.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near car park/road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spchidvakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Jetwing St. Andrew’s and posting them on Trip Advisor. Most of your observations are being addressed with our refurbishment program and this will rejuvenate the property.

We will be more than happy to accommodate you on your next visit to Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hotel is of the past glory, but I liked it!!
Even though it is old it gets way with it!! is has that past glory charm!!
We had a corner room what was specious, I did not have a fridge in the room
but the weather is quite cool so it did not matter that much!!
We stayed there two nights and that was one to many!! Not because of the hotel
but there is nothing to do in the city or around it!! Unless you play golf!!!

Room Tip: Corner room has lots of windows and is really light!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Appreciate your positive comments on your recent stay with us at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. Our resident Naturalist has many excursions and outdoor activities lined up for guests who are staying more than one night and it would have been our pleasure to show you around the highlands of Sri Lanka. Activities on offer include hiking, tea trails, waterfalls, farms, botanical gardens and religious excursions.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s in the near future so that you can experience the Sri Lankan highlands to its true extent.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

These hotel has lots of charms - outside and inside- really old and charming glory... but the managment is also bit of this....it could use anyoung and fresh update! Rooms have the same problem.The food is not so hood, the restaurant looks dark and the style is big group - fast food-for price style...the waiters are in a hurry, not so very friendly and it has more of an automatically run place...it is a pity.
Still the hotel is not bad for the value. But glad we stayed only for 1 night.
The hotel is totally not wheelchairfriendly (but they do not claim to be!) but they were friendly to help (all the stairs to enter!!!) and once in the hotel it was okay. travelled in 2010.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ily-wheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are well noted and will be put to positive and constructive development whilst our refurbishment program is ongoing.

Hope to welcome you back to Jetwing St. Andrew’s once the renovation is complete.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed here for one night on a 7 day tour. Old colonial hotel with bags of history and charm, food incredible and a surprise for such an out of the way place. Enjoyed poking round the hotel and reading it's history
Walked into the town and admired the buildings and market
On the way visited the Mackwood tea estate, bargain priced tea and incredible chocolate cake!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolostbaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a comment on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that our service, cuisine and the personality of the property were to your expectations and we appreciate your kind words.

Seasonal greetings from everyone here at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

A charming old world hotel. Lots of wood panelling, old pictures and prints and antique furniture. It's a blast from the past and a comfortable plesant place to stay. No it's not modern, the beds are a bit saggy and it could do with a bit of money spent on it, however it is different in a plesant way and makes a welcome change from the usual. The restaurant is very good and the staff friendly. Not too far from the beautiful golf course founded in 1889. Take a look around the historic old club house.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for your genuine comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. We are progressing with our refurbishment program and your suggestion would mean a great deal to improve our standards.

Wishing you a happy Christmas and New Year from all of us here at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Property: Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing