We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food, rooms leave something to be desired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
239 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Great food, rooms leave something to be desired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a room with a view over a car park and a lean-to, complete with cigarette ends thrown from an upper window. The room was old fashioned with a bed that didn't just creak, it moaned when you got into it, a tiny wardrobe and old fashioned tv. Nice to have loose tea and a tea pot, but that meant you could only use it once a day, as there was nowhere to empty the leaves.
On the upside - there had to be one - the lounge areas (the only areas that had functioning wifi during our stay) were cosy and warm and the restaurant served some truly excellent sri lankan curries, some of the best we tasted on our whole trip. Service was good throughout, particularly in the restaurant.
The hotel is well located for a walk into town, but we didn't find a great deal to do and see there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you with regard to your warm comments about Jetwing St. Andrew’s. We will share your comments with our associates and certainly they will be delighted with your kind words regarding service. We shall positively work to improve the issues that you have mentioned.

Once again thanking you for your remarks and hoping to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    557
    232
    86
    44
See reviews for
300
665
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nuwara Eliya is the place you go when visiting Sri Lanka for the tea plantations and English colonial feel experience. St. Andrews is a beautiful 150 year old building that has stood time but is in slight need of maintenance and some repairs.

The rooms were spacious clean and even had some nice BOP tea which you could have in the room. But there were little things that could use some improvement. For example, the bed situation tends to be 2 single beds pushed together but done up separately. This is not everyone's cup of tea (pun intended!) as in this day and age most couples tend to prefer Queen or King size beds.

The bathroom door in our room wouldn't close and they put some newspaper on the knob as some way of repairing it, not quite understand the logic behind it.

The reception area also needs some sort of more elegant and matching with the hotel decor reception desk. As at the moment is not really nice or antique looking like the furniture in the rest of the hotel.

But the lobby area, bar and restaurant are absolutely in synch with the rest of the hotel. The garden is absolutely stunning too. In terms of the restaurant, I must say the decor is very nice but the only option for dinner is buffet. Again, not everyone's cup of tea and at a hotel of this level, I would have liked to see an a la carte option available that perhaps could be served at a bistro or cafe within the hotel.

Having said that it was a really good option as a colonial style hotel for the area. Just a few improvements that I'm sure the Jetwing group are probably already looking into.

Room Tip: As this is a very old building you will probably get a bit of noise from the adjacent rooms. So if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabycalvehider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our colonial hotel and posting a constructive review on Trip Advisor. We strive to be the best and to retain the old world charm and colonial touch in and around the hotel.

Once again thank you for your observations and giving us the necessary feedback to improve. With the new expansion to the existing bar, lounge area and reception, it will address all of the issues you have stated.

We hope to see you again in the near future once the refurbishment is complete.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukbandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst touring Sri Lanka and its a really gorgeous hotel over looking the town!
The rooms were luxurious with a very colonial feel big oak beds, old furniture and lots of fluffy blankets!
Staff are very friendly and helpful nothing is to much trouble!
Dining room is very cosy and low lit with the food being served buffet style and the show chefs on the terrace, all the food we tried was excellent and there was plenty of choice!
A trip to the markets in the town is a must loads of things to spend your money on and all at low prices!!
My only issue with hotel is it doesn't have a pool but no hotels do in this town so we were told! But apparently we were the lucky ones as we arrived on a very sunny day and most of the time it's over cast and a bit chiller!
One tip is make sure you have packed a cardigan or coat as the temperature up here in the evenings drops a lot compared to else where in Sri Lanka.
One the whole very nice hotel and would recommend to anyone visiting this area!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NicNic2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your wonderful comment on Trip Advisor on your recent stay with us. We are very much glad to share your compliments of our team and surely this helps us to do better in future.

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again to see the improvements in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Old time splendour with dark woods and much brass in evidence. Rooms smaller than some more modern hotels but comfortable and adequate. Pleasant location with attractive gardens but close to town too. Restaurant staff struggled to cope a bit on first night when hotel was packed. Less hectic with a better meal on the second night.

Ask for a quieter room nearer the gardens.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwall0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at our colonial hotel, Jetwing St. Andrew’s during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya.

We extend our warmest wishes on behalf of the entire team and hope to see you soon during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Set at altitude in an old tea plantation town, this is a hotel like no other I've stayed in. It felt like a journey back in time 100 years, from the impeccable decorations to the log fire to the game of snooker after dinner. We really enjoyed our stay! The only thing which had been modernised was the plumbing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Percy_Kirkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your wonderful comments of your stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. Your compliments have been passed on to our associates and I am sure they will be greatly pleased.

We wish you all the best for the future and hope to host you in the City of Lights again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Originally I was disappointed not being able to book another hotel I wanted but after I checked in to St. Andrews I was so happy I couldn't stay at the other hotel! I love the colonial style of the hotel and the sitting room with the fire place was my favorite spot. The hotel staff's service was excellent. We also got a free upgrade to the Gems Suite which was such a lovely room. I only stayed there for 1 night but wished I could stay longer.... if I ever visit Eliya again I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy6898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your lovely comments and for your stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. Your compliments have been passed on to our associates.

I extend our warmest wishes on behalf of the entire team. I only wish you could have stayed longer and hope to see you soon during your next visit to Nuwara Eliya.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed at the Jetwing St. Andrew for one night. Overall the property is charming but the rooms were not nice. We were put up in some obscure corner room which had no view and was dark and dingy. The corridors reeked of sewage and the tiny bed was not exactly clean. However, the food was absolutely fantastic. We had a dinner and breakfast at the hotel and were glad we did. The little bar and lounge were inviting places. The staff, though polite, were not the most skilled people. Despite having asked a few times about the nature trails they do in the mornings, the person at the reception did not revert and ultimately I dropped the plan.

Would I go back to Jetwing St. Andrew? Probably no. I had the opportunity to go to the Grand Hotel in Nuwara Eliya and if I were to visit the city again, I’d stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gautam269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your remarks and giving us the necessary feedback to improve. All the comments you have provided will be looked at positively as areas open for improvement.

We trust that you will return to experience the improvements made in future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
0.8 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Property: Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing