We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hotel and surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for one night during a tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is very nice, a delightful colonial style with beautiful grounds and gardens, which transported you back to bygone days. Slightly disappointed with the comfort - the room was very nice and spacious, but in need of some minor redecoration particularly in the bathroom and the bed was quite hard and uncomfortable, but for one night it was acceptable. Nice window seat though to enjoy the view of the gardens while a wrote my postcards. The bar area was very relaxed and quirky. The reception staff were very helpful and attentive and also explained a bit of the history of the hotel which was very nice and well received. One very minor criticism relates to the food, which whilst tasty, was slightly disappointing compared to other hotels we had stayed in on the tour and did not quite live up to our expectations. Dinner was a set menu which offered quite a fusion of flavours which didn't in our opinion necessary go well together (and other diners made similar comments) and the breakfast choices were a bit limited compared to other hotels, but were tasty nonetheless. The gardens were absolutely lovely, very well kept and cared for, and well worth a walk around to admire the many flowers, plants and topiary.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at Jetwing St. Andrew’s and your comments on trip advisor will help us to improve our standards, which is something that we are constantly striving to achieve.

Our scheduled refurbishment program will start shortly to improve the facilities in the hotel and your valued comments are taken care of.

Whilst thanking you for choosing Jetwing St. Andrew’s and hoping to see you soon on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

An English-style building with a nice garden, comfortable rooms and good food. During my tour of 10 days in Sri Lanka, this was the only hotel where I needed an adapter, but you can borrow one at the reception. The hotel is located only from 5 minutes walk from the center.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meryem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew's during your recent visit to Nuwara Eliya and for your kind comments on Trip Advisor.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our old colonial gem.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Built in the midst of flower gardens.. Heritage building.. Cool weather.. Delicious Food.. Loved the Log fire in the reading room.. Close to the city centre.. Not very expensive.. Best there is in NuwaraEliya.

Room Tip: Facing flower beds..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to go through your lovely comment on Trip Advisor on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to share your praises with our team and surely this helps us to do better in the future.

Wishing you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is something from a bygone era. Rooms are lovely and the dining room is in original condition. Great to also have lunch in the beautiful gardens whilst sipping on Sri Lankan tea. It's also in a hood location to take a walk outside and explore the town.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our British colonial hotel. You appear to have understood what we are all about, preserving the hotels authenticity and heritage is key in our offering, we want guests to sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. It is great to see that you enjoyed your lunch alfresco in the gardens and were able to walk around and see ‘Little England’.

We are glad that you’ve had a pleasant experience here at Jetwing St. Andrew’s and we hope to have you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had three nights at this hotel and despite being seasoned backpackers had a wonderful value for money stay.1/ the historical charm, gardens and information surrounding the building.2/ Very pleasant superior garden facing room- rear facing view probably not so. 3/ Really attentive and friendly staff including personal visit by staff director. Staff seeking to help marked out value for money. 4/ The resident naturalist, Ishan has a widespread knowledge of birds, frogs, reptiles and trees across Sri Lanka. His basic walking tours from the St Andrews are $10 for 1-2 hours. Bird tours are a maximum of two people. Tours go further afield to national parks. Well credentialed .# Excellent English with humour and interest. 5/ Good food- reasonably priced with great service.
Improvement.Front desk communication and phone reservations.
Sujani excellent in reception and welcoming .
Steve/ Heather Australia April 21-23/ 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveAuld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Jetwing St Andrew’s. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of our walking trails, with the assistance of our resident naturalist, during your stay.

Our team are very passionate about exceeding customer expectations and providing an exceptional quality of service to all our guests and we are very happy to have achieved that with you. Your kind comments have been passed onto the aforementioned members of staff.

Thank you for raising our attention to the Front Desk communication and phone reservation. We set very high standards for ourselves and greatly appreciate you informing us of any areas that require attention.

Your feedback is always valued. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Sri Lanka and take many happy memories away with you. Thank you for choosing Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

Yours sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We did visit during week of new year celebrations though...

Family room was clean and averagely appointed. Was nice to be able to open windows and not rely exclusively on air conditioning.

Beautiful garden - must do is to have the cream tea.

Novelty to sit in front of the open fire in Sri Lanka although bar was usually full of crusty type travellers smoking shisha...

Food was quiet good although thought the a la carte menu offered better value than buffet.

Excellent breakfast.

Fantastic history relating to colonial era

Safe, clean hotel..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your room and were able to appreciate not solely relying on air conditioning. As an eco-friendly hotel it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests appreciate and implement sustainable practices during their stay.

The climate in Nuwara- Eliya is such, that affords our guests to enjoy the novelty of an open fire which is very unique to us. We are pleased you were able to experience this!

Thank you also for your positive comments regarding our food. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Elegant old hotel ( don't expect modern ) on the hill side with beautiful English Gardens and a lot of wonderful history. Nice surprise of warm soup on arrival to suit the cooler climate. We were upgraded to an attic room as we have the 3 children which was nice. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helped us with whatever we needed, no trouble at all. There is the old restaurant and the new restaurant which we ate in mostly as it was quieter there away from bigger groups. Buffet dinner was excellent as was a la carte if you did not feel like the buffet.
The hotel had activities for kids such as night frog walks but we did not do any of these. I think that one night would be enough in Nuwara Eliya. Lunch we decided to try The Grand Hotel which was a nice change and well worth seeing the grounds as well.
The graffiti room as other trip advisors said was out of place and now looking quite ugly. It definitely needs to be redecorated to keep in style with the rest of the elegant old hotel. We did however still enjoy nice stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms were nice. The bathrooms were a bit tired looking but that did not bother us. No tissues i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melsDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. We are always happy to receive feedback as it helps us improve our services and experiences to a completely guest-centric approach.

We are very proud of our team and our food, and we are glad to hear that both exceeded your expectations, this is something we strive to achieve with all of our guests. Your recommendation regarding the graffiti room has been noted and is under consideration.

Thank you very much for your feedback, we value it greatly. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Sri Lanka and look back lovingly on your stay here for a long time to come.

Yours sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
878 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
322 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#11 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £116 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing