We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best at Nuwara Eliya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best at Nuwara Eliya”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

One of the best hotels in Nuwara Eliya, It was good all around, nice place,nice food,nice people and good service.All the attractions are close by.I would definitely recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TharangaFernando85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

It was a pleasure to read your kind comments, our team are very passionate about exceeding customer expectations and providing an exceptional quality of service to all our guests and we are very happy to have achieved that with you.

We very much hope to welcome you back to our charming colonial hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    603
    251
    90
    46
See reviews for
328
734
43
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here. Lovely old colonial hotel which was full of character - much nicer experience than staying in a modern hotel! Comfortable room which was clean. Lovely snooker room with full sized table & a great bar where they had the best wine list we had seen in Sri Lanka. They lit the fire for us as well! There is a small room off the bar covered in graffiti which I didn't really get. Food was good - there is a new restaurant extension and the food was well presented and tasty. Friendly staff too. Recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OllieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Jetwing St. Andrew’s on TripAdvisor.

It was our great pleasure to read your kind comments. We are thrilled to hear that our staff without exception exemplifies the true meaning of providing outstanding service. We do work very hard to ensure the highest level of service possible is provided to all our guests and we are delighted that you appreciated our efforts.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our food, your positive remarks will be forwarded to all the relevant teams concerned.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Amazing road trip through gorgeous landscape. Hotel building is beautiful and it was lovely to be greeted with hot soup in a beautiful garden setting. The colourful floral arrangements of alstroemerias throughout the public areas of the hotel were fabulous. Our rooms were pleasant and reminiscent of other times in the colonial past with just enough mod cons. Sometimes the staff were hard to find and we, as independent travellers, seemed to come second to a large bus group. The town was disappointing, seemingly mainly full of tourists.

Room Tip: Balconies off our room looked over very pleasant, but slightly rundown vegetable and herb gardens wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. We are always happy to receive feedback as it helps us improve our services to a completely guest-centric approach.

While thanking you for your warm comments about Jetwing St. Andrew’s, we would also like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.Your comments have been well noted and it has been passed down to the team.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Sri Lanka and waiting for you to welcome back to our colonial gem.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for a night and we were very impressed with the Hotel. The hotel is in the midst of lush greenery and its proximity to the sight seeing spots and tea plantations make it a good stay option. The Garden in the hotel with the variety of flowers are truly breath taking. The staff are friendly and courteous, the room service was prompt. Its a good place to stay and enjoy the cool climate with a hot cup of tea :)...The Hotel could do with some more in house entertainment options..Overall, Great experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and convey your kind comments and observations having stayed with us here at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. It will be my pleasure to convey your positive feedback to all the teams concerned who will be very happy to know their efforts are recognized and praised.

We are very proud of our team and our food, and we are glad to hear that both exceeded your expectations, this is something we strive to achieve with all of our guests. Your recommendation regarding more in house entertainment options has been noted and is under consideration.

Wishing you all the best and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We got to the hotel while being on our family vacation in Sri Lanka. We checked into 6 different room. The hotel building and surroundings are extremely beautiful and very well taken care of. Dinner was great, major selection and some very good food. Located just a few minutes of walking away from the actual town.
But, The beds were absolutely horrible. Old mattresses, springs poking your ribs, hard and very uncomfortable. We spent two nights there, and my back was seriously painful. But the worst part was not sleeping at all for two night due to the noise from the very close town. It appears that every April the town celebrates every weekend with musical shows, races and different attractions, which is great. The problem is, the walls in the hotel are so thin, the windows can't be completely closed, and the music from the town lasts until at least 2 AM, leaving you lying in bed, uncomfortable and unable to fall asleep for two nights!
I think the very least the hotel can do is warn the upcoming guests about the expected noise all throughout April and see if anyone cares to switch rooms to avoid the noise. Unfortunately, that was not our case and although I really liked the way the place was decorated, I just couldn't bare to stay in there for another moment.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s during your recent visit to NuwaraEliya and for taking the time to share such detailed and valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

First of all, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We are surprised by your experience and rest assured our management team is following it up to prevent any similar situations from recurring.

We are very much delighted and appreciative to read your comments regarding the service, food and hotel landscape. We are very happy that we exceeded you expectations, it will be my pleasure to relay your positive feedback to all the teams concerned. We also appreciate the constructive feedback with regards to some of the service elements you encountered, and can reassure you that they will be addressed.

Thanking you once again for your review, we look forward to your return visit in the future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed at Jetwing St. Andrew's hotel recently with my family. Located in a very a beautiful place. Amenities in the rooms were average. Staff members were friendly. Quality of food was not that great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGRamachandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

We are always happy to receive feedback as it helps us improve our services to a completely guest-centric approach.

We are glad that you’ve had a pleasant experience here at Jetwing St. Andrew’s. Your comment regarding the ‘quality of the food’ has been well noted and will be discussed with all the relevant teams concerned.
Wishing you all the best.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights.. The beds were comfortable, and the sheets were crisp. The room was modern considering the age of the building. The hotel is interesting, but quite expensive for what you get. The towels are not very good. Shower was nice and hot. Consider the price of this hotel when you are booking in comparison to other hotels. There is a nice garden. There were tour groups when we stayed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLover053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in Sri Lanka and take many happy memories away with you.

Looking forward to serving you again,

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Property: Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing