We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Comfortable, clean with an excellent breakfast. The staff gave a warm welcome and an unasked for upgrade due to there being four of us (two children under 12). The hotel has retained the charm of a colonial plantation guest house but with the necessary mod cons and in lovely grounds. The room was large with a mezzanine floor where the children's beds were; the only minor issue was a slightly creaky bed. Like many places in Sri Lanka, the staff attentiveness and their assistance with the children was exemplary.
We didn't have the dinner but the breakfast was ample and served in a tastefully upgraded modern part of the dining area.
The hotel does back onto a school which plays some uplifting music whilst the students assemble before classes commence and there was some building work going on. A quiet lie in cannot, therefore, be guaranteed, but this was not a problem for us.
The hotel is walking distance into town, although you have to pass through the less picturesque area to get to the Victoria Park and Post Office. It is near to the Golf course and there are plenty of cheap places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTravelling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments as to what one can expect when staying at Jetwing St. Andrew’s are delightful to read, and we are honoured that we made enough of an impression to warrant your recognition.

It will be my pleasure to convey your positive feedback to all the teams concerned who will be very happy to know their efforts are recognized and praised.

Thank you for your comments regarding our food and the charm of the hotel, we take pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us. This is the standard we set for ourselves- not only meeting the expectations of our guests, but exceeding them. We are so proud that our team was successful in doing this in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future, and thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

High in the tea country, we were pleased with the St. Andrews Hotel. Upon arriving we were handed a hot creamy vegetable soup glass. It was so delicious! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was accommodating when none of our electrical conversion plugs worked. They supplied them free of charge. Dinner in the restaurant was gourmet and the buffet had a wide selection of yummy choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adventurist14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your recent visit to the hill country.

We are thrilled to hear that you were well looked after by our staff, as they do take pride in delivering the highest level of customer service and going the extra mile to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and pleasant experience.

We will pass on your kind comments to the relevant departments.
Hoping to serve you again,

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If you want to stay at a heritage hotel which also offers all modern conveniences, choose Jetwing St. Andrews at Nuwara Eliya. We had a wonderful stay for two nights here. The hotel facilities are really nice and all staff is very professional and courteous. Make sure you ask for a front-facing room, and you can enjoy overlooking the lush green golf course from your balcony. Sitting by the fireplace in the hotel lobby enjoying the misty evenings was one of the highlights of our stay here. Would definitely recommend the place for anyone interested in a nice quiet vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Jetwing St. Andrew’s. We really appreciate all the feedback that we get from our guests.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding the accommodation and the landscape of the hotel, we are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our old colonial Hotel.

We hope you take away fond memories of your time in Sri Lanka,

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Ok, I took my Srilankan Holiday when I was so much overworked at my job and the city life. I just wanted to escape - on a budget :)

Of all the trips I have made this one will always be in my heart and even when I write this review I have a smile on my face. I mean this place was awesome.

I live in UAE and have seen many luxurious hotels...but what makes this hotel different was that it was simple. The staff really was wonderful.

Yes since its an old place you will feel the Colonial Atmosphere still alive...
Despite of being so old it was clean and didnot give me that creepy feeling of being in a wrong place. I was at peace.

Do go to the lake near by and do kayaking, clycling , boat rides.. have tea (Hotel tea was awesome even if we made it in the room) I tried it again in UAE :( too bad didnot taste the same because of the water... looks like i have to go back again to this place!

We didnot get a lot of time here... Next time when I go Ill just be here for atleast a few days...

Ask for shisha its awesome -

Room Tip: Ask for quiter rooms ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFreaks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your magnificent review, we are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful experience at Jetwing St. Andrew’s and that you truly enjoyed NuwaraEliya.

It is a pleasure for us to read such positive lines so we know that we are on the right path in providing high standards of service. We shall pass on your kind comments to all the relevant departments.

We also would like to thank you for pointing out the excellent selection of teas and service provided to you in our restaurant The Old Course.

Hoping to serve you again on your next trip to Sri Lanka.
Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location was superb and I stayed for two days in a Deluxe room. You can access the town center easily and it is in walking distance. Staff was friendly and willing to offer anything.

The room was a pretty good one and it has got two beds up stairs. The wooden finishing in the room is attractive. The breakfast was quite awesome and there were so many choices you can go for.
I had arranged a photographer to take some photos but he couldn't come due to some unavoidable reason and then the hotel arranged me another preferred day for my shoot in the hotel premises.

Overall a good stay.

Thanks

Room Tip: I would recommend a Deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nadeera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your review, regarding your recent stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our hotel is indeed closely situated to all attractions and entertainment, and I’m happy that we were able to meet your expectations.
We do hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is a charming, character hotel, with lovely historic interiors. You arrive to beautifully laid out front lawns and gardens.

The interior is old world, historic, and has a lovely antique feel. They keep old hotel ledgers and books on display which you can thumb through, to get an insight into hotel activities 50 years ago.

The front of the hotel has a small bar, a separate lounge, and an odd 'graffiti' room. ( A small lounge. I gather this is being painted out and re-themed. Good idea as it doesn't fit in.)

There is a snooker room with delightfully old world wooden wall panels.

The main dining room is split into 2 halves : the original dimly lit, historical one, and the other half that appears to be a later add on, that is conservatory style.

The good and the bad :

The good :
1. fantastic service. Of all the hotels we stayed in during our trip, this is the one with the most genuine and helpful staff.

2. Atmosphere. Steeped in history and artefacts.

3. Rooms - caveat and warning here : we had the double height, duplex room on the third floor. Very spacious and nicely equipped. Good WiFi coverage. During our two nights however, we walked past the open doors of the standard rooms on the ground floor, and were shocked. Very basic and depressing. Would have hated to stay in those. Dark and damp.

4. Public rooms - cosy and inviting, with a nice log fire (if they remember to light it)


The not so good:
1.Food - I hate to say this, as I really wanted to like it. We ate both buffet and a la carte. The evening buffet was dull, overcooked and the meats were tough. The price was too high for the quality provided R2000+. They do offer you a half buffet, or certain 'sides' of the buffet at a reduced price. But that doesn't change the poor quality of cuisine. The a la carte is standard fare. Equally poorly cooked. The wait staff, though, are excellent and extremely willing.

2. Standard rooms are shocking

3. Size of public rooms, lounge and bar. All are small, with limited seating... if it were high season, I have no idea where everyone would sit.

Summary : a lovely stay, and one of the highlights of our trip round Sri Lanka.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Travel-Luxe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s during your recent visit to NuwaraEliya and for taking the time to share such detailed and valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that your stay with us, counted as one of your highlights in Sri Lanka!

We are thrilled to hear that our associates without exception exemplify the true meaning of providing outstanding service. We do work very hard to ensure the highest level of service possible is provided to all our guests and we are delighted that you appreciated our efforts.

We are sorry to hear that our cuisine didn’t meet your expectations. However, your comments have been noted, for any improvement, and will be shared with the relevant teams concerned.

We will be carrying out some exciting upgrades and refurbishment to the Hotel this year in order to strengthen our current offering and positioning as a brand with outstanding services and quality products.

We very much hope to welcome you back to our charming colonial Hotel in the not too distant future, where you can experience the difference.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

It was past 10 p.m when we arrived and had a difficulty in locating the place. Directions given by very few whom we met misled and had to roam about. By the time we arrived the buffet was closed though we informed of our late arrival, but the management prepared a quick snack for us. They maintain the colonial atmosphere and you can feel it everywhere. The rooms are very clean and comfortable The food was very good and the staff was very friendly. The two days we spent was really comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giriColombo_SriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at Jetwing St. Andrew's during your recent visit to NuwaraEliya and for your kind comments on Trip Advisor.

I shall be happy to pass your wonderful comments and discuss with culinary team regarding food for any improvement.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our old colonial gem.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,615 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
861 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
314 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £86 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing