We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Comfort in the Sri Lankan Highlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

As my home in Scotland is very near to St Andrews, I opted for this fantastic Sri Lankan highland retreat. Very comfortable rooms with private patios that look on to the well kept gardens, incredible food and a very attentive staff. Whether it is taking tea overlooking the manicured lawns or playing billiards on their 120 year old table, you can relax in colonial comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollieblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very kindly for your recommendation, following your recent stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.
It is a pleasure to read your comments as to what guests can expect when they stay at Jetwing St. Andrew’s - friendly, accommodating service and a comforting experience from start to finish.

Our aim is to impress each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that we succeeded in your case. We hope that you will return to St. Andrew’s in the future, should your travels bring you back toNuwaraEliya.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

It's hard to believe you are still in Sri Lanka when you reach Nuwara Eliya with the vast climate change!
St Andrew's is a lovely colonial hotel with a very welcoming feel and friendly staff. We were greeted with a cup of warming soup and check in was very easy.
Our room had a king bed and an upstairs mezzanine level with 2 single beds which more than accommodated 3 adults. The room was large but had a cosy homely feel. The only downside was the bathroom had an unpleasant sewerage smell. (There was a large storm while we were there so whether the pipes were blocked, not sure)
We walked into town before the rain came, which took about 10 minutes. There are lots of shops and eating places, a supermarket (if you need to stock up on snacks for the train ride to Ella) and the Bale Bazaar (or winter market). It sells mainly winter gear which is brand name, North Face etc and can be bought for cheaper than normal (but not amazing bargains like some markets) Tuk Tuks are available to take you back to the hotel or an easy 10 minute walk.
Breakfast was good, great choices available.
Wifi was available in the rooms.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lorful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your kindcomments about how you enjoyed your stay here at Jetwing St. Andrew’s.

We are happy to learn that you were impressed with the selection available and quality of the breakfast buffet. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere here at our colonial hotel; it is certainly a powerful thing to walk into our lobby and feel as if you are traveling through time! And then to, relax and replete after your journey with a steaming cup of vegetable soup during check-in.
We are sorry to learn, about the small inconvenience with your bathroom, the necessary actions have been taken and that issue is now resolved. While you may have encountered a slight inconvenience to your stay, we were able to impress you with our Jetwing St. Andrew’s Service and turn that negative into a positive. This is just the type of service we work so hard to provide for valued guests such as yourself, and it makes us very proud to learn that we were successful in that respect.

Thank you for taking the time to share your recommendation of our property on TripAdvisor; I am sure that many travellers will find your review helpful as they plan their trip toNuwaraEliya. We hope for the opportunity to host you again!

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed at St Andrews earlier this month. From valet Edward through to Ishanda, the enthusiastic young naturalist who took us to World's End we enjoyed the friendly and efficient service. As a keen golfer I was also able to enjoy a couple of rounds at the adjacent golf club (which is not associated with the hotel). Understandably the course is not in great shape but it is nevertheless a challenge and where the elderly and long serving caddies know every bump in the fairways and greens.

Room Tip: rooms facing the front probably have more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Jetwing St. Andrew’s with the Trip Advisor.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property, and we appreciate your kind words regarding the welcoming - friendly presence of our valued associates, Edward and Ishanda for their outstanding service during your stay. We strive to provide excellent guest service 100% of the time and we are happy to know you received that.

Should your travels bring you back to Sri Lanka, we hope that Jetwing St. Andrew’s will continue to be your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Why on earth should anyone visit Nuwara Eliya during your holidays in Sri Lanka: it is cold, misty, rainy and very poor and ugly. Just next to the poorest section of town lies St. Andrews Hotel. An outdated, rather dark place with nice rooms and not all that kind staff except at dinner. You might consider walking towards Hortens End but that is a two hour drive away and you will be carsick before entering the park. With all the rain and mist (this place accounts for the water supply of all Sri Lanka) you might see nothing at all. So take our advice and skip this town during your roundtrip!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank BenCoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your recent stay in NuwaraEliya.

Thank you for your kind words regarding your room, we will be happy to share your praises with the relevant teams involved.

We truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologise for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay - this is something we take very seriously. Ensuring our guests experience the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.

Although, we are known to go above and beyond for our guests, ultimately, there are many factors beyond our control that dictate the weather. We offer in-hotel entertainment options that each guest can enjoy on days such as the one you’ve mentioned.

If you decide to come back to Nuwara – Eliya in the future, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again and wish you the very best.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights and it was great. Our room was very big and the double bed, with perfect pillows, was the best hotel bed that I have ever slept in. (and I stay in many business hotels...)
There was a balcony with two beds for out (teenage) children. The bathroom was a bit small, but comfortable.
The restaurant was good, but we preferred the restaurant at The Grand. In our opinion a bit better, but the rooms in the St. Andrews are great.

Room Tip: We had a very nice family room, but probably all rooms are good. Also try the snooker table!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, for taking the time to review our British colonial hotel in “little England”.
We are so happy to read that our beds were the best you’ve ever slept in! From an avid traveller your compliments mean a lot.

Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our food and your room, it will be my pleasure to convey your positive feedback to all the teams concerned who will be very happy to know their efforts contributed to a first–rate stay.
We eagerly await your return,

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Comfortable, clean with an excellent breakfast. The staff gave a warm welcome and an unasked for upgrade due to there being four of us (two children under 12). The hotel has retained the charm of a colonial plantation guest house but with the necessary mod cons and in lovely grounds. The room was large with a mezzanine floor where the children's beds were; the only minor issue was a slightly creaky bed. Like many places in Sri Lanka, the staff attentiveness and their assistance with the children was exemplary.
We didn't have the dinner but the breakfast was ample and served in a tastefully upgraded modern part of the dining area.
The hotel does back onto a school which plays some uplifting music whilst the students assemble before classes commence and there was some building work going on. A quiet lie in cannot, therefore, be guaranteed, but this was not a problem for us.
The hotel is walking distance into town, although you have to pass through the less picturesque area to get to the Victoria Park and Post Office. It is near to the Golf course and there are plenty of cheap places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyTravelling2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments as to what one can expect when staying at Jetwing St. Andrew’s are delightful to read, and we are honoured that we made enough of an impression to warrant your recognition.

It will be my pleasure to convey your positive feedback to all the teams concerned who will be very happy to know their efforts are recognized and praised.

Thank you for your comments regarding our food and the charm of the hotel, we take pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us. This is the standard we set for ourselves- not only meeting the expectations of our guests, but exceeding them. We are so proud that our team was successful in doing this in your case.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future, and thank you again for your review!

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

High in the tea country, we were pleased with the St. Andrews Hotel. Upon arriving we were handed a hot creamy vegetable soup glass. It was so delicious! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was accommodating when none of our electrical conversion plugs worked. They supplied them free of charge. Dinner in the restaurant was gourmet and the buffet had a wide selection of yummy choices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adventurist14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, Manager at Jetwing St. Andrew’s, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel during your recent visit to the hill country.

We are thrilled to hear that you were well looked after by our staff, as they do take pride in delivering the highest level of customer service and going the extra mile to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and pleasant experience.

We will pass on your kind comments to the relevant departments.
Hoping to serve you again,

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,714 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#14 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
50 reviews
1 mi away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing St. Andrew’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing St. Andrew’s

Address: 10 St. Andrews Drive, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £126 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing St. Andrew’s 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing out amidst the inspiring scenic beauty of mist shrouded mountains and lush greenery, Jetwing St. Andrew’s enjoys a captivating locale in Sri Lanka’s hill capital Nuwara Eliya. Retaining its unique, old world charm, the hotel is now a grand colonial residence that exudes a sense of historic grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jetwing St. Andrew’s reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel St Andrews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing