We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in a lovely part of Sri Lanka”
Review of The Gregory House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gregory House
Ranked #124 of 277 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I enjoyed a very restful and comfortable stay here in December. The staff, rooms and food were all a delight. It is a great choice if you are after a friendly and clean place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Gregory House is a very charming place and I absolutely loved it. The rooms are great, the views unbeatable and the food is so yummy. I stayed for 2 days and I must say that it was the most comfortable stay of my entire trip!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malavika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This guest house sits on a hill very near to Gregory Lake. The house is beautiful with large rooms and bathrooms. Incredible views of the lake and hills. What makes this place so special is the staff. Friendly, kind, considerate.. We were greeted with a cup of soup from the Chef and the staff lined up to bid us farewell as we left.
The chef makes incredible tasting food. We had dinner the evening we arrived and we have two picky eaters in our family who were just amazed at the food the Chef prepared for us. Once again at breakfast we were provided with delicious food presented with the flair of a 5 star restaurant!
We really enjoyed being able to walk around in the neighborhood after dinner and it is very quick few minutes walk to the lake. There is a path you can walk on all around the lake. It is very pretty.
We slept quite well in the beds. They have a very high quality linen and a nice netting around which makes sleeping very easy.
Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for either room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdefraites1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at Gregory House during our last Visit to Sri Lanka. I took 4 of my Chinese friends and we wanted a reasonable Clean place with good View and Food.
The hosts were very friendly with always willing to help and we were looked after really well.
We enjoyed our stay and we will recommend to anyone who is looking for a place in N'Eliya

We will surely go there again when we visit in June again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berty_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Situated at a very lovely surrounding in the hill country. can't ask for more.the view was superb. the food was just mouth watering specially their early morning coffee's. Food yummy. Rooms clean and neat. Bed could be more comfy. Staff very hospitable. Definitely want to go again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gihani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,714 reviews
0 mi away
Mount View Hotel
Mount View Hotel
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
257 reviews
0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,182 reviews
0 mi away
Nuwara Eliya Hostel By Backpack Lanka
Nuwara Eliya Hostel By Backpack ...
#104 of 231 in Nuwara Eliya
25 reviews
0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gregory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gregory House

Address: 31 Abeya Pura, Kalukele, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £43 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gregory's House is a boutique hotel that totally pampers only a few at a time. 4 luxurious, stylish rooms welcome you to stay, along with a tantalizing cuisine any way you want it. 24 hour smiling service with every modern amenity awaits you. Total comfort relaxation and peace of mind is what Gregory House is all about. The perfect retreat for a small group of friends or family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing