We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed and Best View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gregory House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gregory House
Ranked #103 of 223 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Bed and Best View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

It was a wonderful experience in little England. The food was excellent & the chef was very friendly & always ready to prepare the food as per our request. My Wife & the daughter was thrilled and already planning to our next trip to Gregory House in coming December.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MigTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    10
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Gregory House - safe harbor during the trip in the tea land: after the visit in the tea factory it got windy, temperature went down and we really started worrying: you do not bring your warm clothes to Sri Lanka, do you? We had 2 rooms in Gregory House and could not believe they had small electric heaters! Not only were we warm and comfortable but also enjoyed nice dinner with wine and beer. And to sleep in the king size bad covered in lace mosquito net - unforgettable experience:-). The people of Gregory House were also friendly and helpful - but that is a Dinesh trade mark (Blue Lanka Tours), during the whole trip he never recommended anything less than friendly. Another good choice of a place to stay in the area, also conveniently located for the train trip. Truly recommend. J + 3

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarekom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during our 6 week visit to Sri Lanka. Gregory House is close to town but in a peaceful location overlooking Gregory Lake, just a short tuktuk ride from town centre. Rooms clean and welcoming with great bed - very comfortable. Helpful staff particularly the chef Dhamshka, good food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bobyooz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Apart from the fact they somehow lost our booking and we had to wait around for over 2 hours until they could sort our room for us the Gregory House is fine.

The hotel has a beautiful view of the lake from which is easy walking distance. The food was good and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent two nights in a deluxe room on the top floor. Very spacious and I have to say that the bed was the most comfortable bed I think I have ever slept in. The view was relaxing as you look out over the lake and the stream. Dhamushka the chef was very accommodating and my rice and curry was delicious. The whole place was very clean, so clean I felt I should take my shoes off at the front door. Parking is a little tight and the pigeons on the roof a little annoying but I would definitely stay at Gregory House again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kitkat069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My partner and I thouroughly enjoyed our stay at The Gregory House in Nuwara Eliya. After hearing tales of overpriced and damp-ridden guest houses in NE we decided to spend a little extra for our two nights in town and we were not disappointed with our choice. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the bed was large and warm, perfect for those chilly NE nights. The accomadation is a little further from town than other guesthouses but still only takes 4-5 minutes in a three wheeler. It's also located a few minutes walk from the recently refurbished Gregory Lake where you can hire a bike. The staff were also extremely accomadating and supportive. For a relatively new establishment The Gregory House is doing everything right and the value for money is excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

It seems our confirmed e-mail reservation got lost, so we were upgraded the first night and downgraded the second night, so we have stayed in the third floor and first floor.
The amenities in the room were as good as in minimum 4* hotel,mother mattresses are super.
But both of the rooms were a bit smelly.
One of the employees could nearly not speak a single word of English, the other couldn't help us with anything. We have asked him help to organize a tour to the tea plantations next day and he told us ok, a little bit later he would come back, but he never did. So we just went to another place, but he could have told us, that he cannot make any reservation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gringuito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gregory House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gregory House

Property: The Gregory House
Address: 31 Abeya Pura, Kalukele, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gregory's House is a boutique hotel that totally pampers only a few at a time. 4 luxurious, stylish rooms welcome you to stay, along with a tantalizing cuisine any way you want it. 24 hour smiling service with every modern amenity awaits you. Total comfort relaxation and peace of mind is what Gregory House is all about. The perfect retreat for a small group of friends or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Gregory House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing