We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I am now staying at the hotel since 18th of April and will check out on the 21st.

We chose this hotel because there was no availability in heritance tea factory, however i must say it was quite a good decision.


The hotel is new, spacious, nicely designed, with large spacious rooms as well. The check in system was interesting and comfortable as we were not asked to stand at a reception desk, yet we were welcomed at a seating area where the receptionist came right to where we sat offering us drinks and cold towels. We booked two rooms; one for me and my husband and one my sister. One room was ready for us before 12pm as we arrived earlier. Yet the second one took 1.5 hours to prepare and it was very much irritating to have to wait after 4 hours in the plane and 5 hours in the car.


Anyways, when we entered the room, we were quite impressed even though we saw flies roaming in the room with money found on our sofa. Lol View of the room was a garage with mountains in the background. Would have preferred a better view but the mountains were enough for me to see at least.


The lunch choice isnt that amazing as all food options were quite not very international. Breakfast buffet is very good though!


Room service options didnt have a variety yet food was good, clean and quick to arrive!

I would recommend the hotel to add fans in the rooms as well as eventhough the town is cold at night, yet the rooms are warm and we cant open the windows to get a breeze due to the fact of millions of flies invading the room as there isnt a window net.


Other than that, i would say it is so far a pleasant experience and it is recommended to stay in this hotel. :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly let me thank you for selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are really happy you have enjoyed our Hospitality very much, and your comments well accepted.

We appreciate your valuable report which will keep my Team Moral-up

Hope to see you back At Green Hills.
Thanking You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    265
    107
    42
    20
See reviews for
281
287
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

since it is a new property the rooms are squeaky clean and well maintained. the property is well located near the race course and has good views. the food quality was excellent and so was the ambience. The staff are courteous and well intentioned to make guests feel comfortable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vikramguptalko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly let me thank you for selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are really happy you have enjoyed our Hospitality very much, and your comments well accepted.

We appreciate your valuable report which will keep my Team Moral-up

Hope to see you back At Green Hills.
Thanking You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Two nights here. Second night we ate at the Grand, which tells a story.
Big hotel with buffet restaurant serving international cuisine.
Helpful staff and clean rooms.
Absolutely no character to this hotel, with it's basement dining room and uninspiring cuisine it reminded me of a state hotel in the former Soviet Union.
Okay for a stopover if nothing else is available. Popular with coach parties.
No pool.

I'd try and stay at the Grand if I were going again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubai_tyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly let me thank you for selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are really happy you have enjoyed our Hospitality very much, and your comments well accepted.

We appreciate your valuable report which will keep my Team Moral-up

Hope to see you back At Green Hills.
Thanking You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We came to the hotel very late at night, IT guy named charadh and suresh have helped us and tried their best to accommodate us. Beautifull service and outstanding views inside the hotel room. Finally we got a very comfortable suite #4.
It was a very nice experience staying in Araliya.
Breakfast was nice and a variety of food from different area was present. I really enjoyed Chapati and curry.

Room Tip: Room on 4th floor with a musical tip-tip noise of rain falling on tin roof of an adjacent facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Mr. Mohomed

Firstly let me thank you for selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are really happy you have enjoyed our Hospitality very much, and your comments well accepted.

We appreciate your valuable report which will keep my Team Moral-up

Hope to see you back At Green Hills.
Thanking You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were at Green Hills from the 11th to the 15th of April, 2014, and our stay was exceptional!
“Araliya Green Hills” is located in the heart of the city and yet, it is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the town. A 5 minute walk will bring you to one of the main arteries leading into the city centre.
The hotel itself is spacious and welcoming.
The rooms (which were also spacious) were great. A third bed fit in comfortably without cramping up the space. The rooms we occupied were clean, airy and cheerful.
The toilets were spotless and the amenities worked perfectly.
The food was great and there was constant variety.
But it was the staff that made our stay truly wonderful! They were warm, friendly and eager to please. We have not experienced such exceptional service in a long time and we believe that the hotels in Colombo could definitely take a leaf out of their book! From the moment we arrived till the time of our departure, they did everything possible to make us happy and keep us comfortable.
As this establishment has only just risen to its feet, there were a few minor hiccups. But they were negligible. With time and experience, those creases will surely iron themselves out. This property shows every prospect of becoming one of the leading holiday hotspots in Nuwara Eliya.
We will definitely recommend this hotel and hope to go there again soon! We only wish we could have extended our stay…
Keep up the good work “Green Hills”! We wish you every success!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sushara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Ms. Sushara Liyanage,

Firstly let me and My Team Thank You for selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are very impressed that your Family have really enjoyed our Hospitality, and your comments will give My Team a high moral-up.

Let me and my Team thank your Family again for for your valuable comments.

Hope to see your Family back at Green Hills.
Many Thanks,
Nihal Jayawardena,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Awful experience. We stayed for 2 nights on a trip to srilanka. Had disastrous experience staying here. The iPhone 5 charger went missing from the room, the housekeeping guy was not ready to take the responsibility. The housekeeping guy did not replace soap, body lotion , water bottles and on the top of it threw away our soap and other belongings. In a nutshell avoid this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Drsoniadalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Dr. Sonia K Dalal,

Firstly let me thank you for selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
I am so sorry for the inconvenient occurred this Morning to you, and as I have apologized to you in the Lobby at the time of your departure and you were aware during our meeting we decided to buy a new adopter from the market to you which we fulfilled within less than 15 minutes time the cost was only Rs-400 (3 $) and you have acknowledged too.

Dear Dr. you also several times requested by pleading not to proceed any disciplinary actions against any of my Team Members regarding your complain.

We are so sorry again.

Thanking You,
Nihal Jayawardena
Director General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed two nights here on our Sri Lanka trip but this was the worst hotel we experienced. Its a vast hotel with little personality. There's no air conditioning so a south facing room is very warm, there were dogs barking at the back on our first night. Ground floor music boomed out from a ground floor function, in fact we could hear conversations from people in the next room who were also in their bathroom. The staff did move us to another room but rooms at the front are affected by the local mosque - the calling started at 6.15am on the sunday morning. the staff are very pleasant and well meaning but inexperienced - room service took forever. They did buy a fan for us - which was appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinwhipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly let me thank you for selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
Our Hotel is situated in the Hill Country and Nuwara Eliya Well Known as "Little England" usually here Climate Condition is below 18 "C during March and April which goes down to 5 "C end of the year, and all the Hotels in this Regen supplied with Heater System in the Room not AC or Fan, we were worried with your inconvenient in the Room and we purchased a pedestal fan to make your stay with us comfortable.
we are very sorry for the disturbers with the Banquet Function which we stopped the Music by 10 pm.
And again we apologize for the inconvenient occurred.

Thanking You
Nihal Jayawardena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Araliya Green Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Araliya Green Hills Hotel

Property: Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Address: No 10 Glenfall Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Araliya Green Hills Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Araliya Green Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing