We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are sexist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Staff are sexist”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I'm a pretty tolerant person, however long are the days when men not matter which country you are in should get preferential treatment over women. At breakfast the egg station was somewhat busy, I waited, made eye contact with both chefs, knew I was next in line. Not one but two men who had not been previously waiting came up and jumped the invincible line, when I made a fuss was met with a shrug of the shoulders - so infuriating. Would never recommend or go back to.

Decor was hideous - very much geared up to the Arab market rather than the Western market. With fake gold and gaudy decor EVERYWHERE. Not to my taste at all.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Madam,
Firstly let me thank you by selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
I am so sorry that you were disappointed by Breakfast Egg Station line-up and we have considered your valuable comments on a positive stage.
We appreciate your feedback for a better service for our Guests.
Whiles thanking you again we hope to see you back at Araliya Green Hills.

Thanking You,
Nihal Jayawardena,
Director General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    270
    109
    42
    20
See reviews for
291
293
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eco-Oregonian
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a beautiful new hotel in a quiet spot near town. We enjoyed the location and the hotel's clean, spacious rooms. Both the breakfast and the two dinners we had here were very well done and the dinner staff was fun. They were teaching us about the game of cricket since we do not know the game.

I agree with one of the previous reviewers that the (desk) staff is a bit undeveloped here.

We booked this room through Agoda (DONT DO IT - see their terrible online reviews). When we arrived we were informed that we only booked a single occupancy room but there were two of us. So, we had to pay an extra $70 per day... Really? An extra breakfast costs $70? We asked them to add it to the room charges. Later, we were leaving the hotel for a walk we were chased down and told we still needed to pay the extra charges. Again, we said add it to our bill as we're having dinner here too. That was a bit annoying.

Next day we sat at the travel desk for quite some time with staff looking at us, walking by but not helping us. We finally asked when the travel desk person would return and were advised that he would be back soon. Still waited then I finally asked if the front desk could call someone. He finally did arrive and was helpful in setting up a private driver. When we asked him to arrange a seaplane he informed us we could do it online and turned his computer around on the desk for us to use.

This hotel is nice and clean and new but compared to 8 others we experienced on this trip it's not worth the price -especially with the extra $70 charges per night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikergirl500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Madam,
Firstly let me thank you by selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are really happy that you have enjoyed our hospitality, and your valuable comments are appreciated for a better service for our Guests.
Whiles thanking you again we hope to see you back at Araliya Green Hills.

Thanking You,
Nihal Jayawardena,
Director General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, Arkansas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

nice hotel friendly staff......... good location... spend a very good time.. nuwara eliya is a beautiful place.... Love the elephants in entrance... and love the elephants in towels... thank you for your lovely service... we will recommended to others

Room Tip: 206 is a good view room.... and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leesamark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Sir,
Firstly let me give you a Big Thank by selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are very happy that you have really enjoyed our hospitality, and I am sure your nice words will give my Team a high moral bust.
Thank you very much again for your valuable comments.

Thanking You
Nihal Jayawardena,
Director General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius
Level Contributor
413 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

First impression of the hotel is sheer opulence: elephant sculptures, marble floors, crystal chandeliers, leather furniture in public area, tea cup on reception. This starts to wear later, though. Tea cups are not cleaned away for some time and it is difficult to find uncluttered corner in otherwise large area. At the elevator there is a sparrow nest inhabited by a loud and proprietorial bird (I must admit that, endearingly so, the hotel people allow it to live on – it is fun for many visitors).
The room is very spacious as is the bathroom. Hotel provides all soaps, shampoos, etc., as well as tea/coffee facilities. Carpet in the room (same as in the corridors) is thick and pleasant, if in outrageous pattern.
Hotel grounds are limited, but nicely decorated and kept, especially catchy are colorful lighted fountains (though the glass wall in the elevator should be cleaned, if the guests are intended to admire the fountains).
Food during our stay was very good, though evening buffet was much better in comparison with breakfast.
Location is very good, actually, even arriving quite late, we had an opportunity to go to local fair and browse around.
The negatives. The shower took quite a time to warm up and when it finally did, it tended to switch off allowing only lukewarm showering. Safe box was provided; presumably it had to operate with a room key card. It did not. The room, as it was stated by many reviewers, was quite noisy, thankfully the music stopped at 11 p.m. The walls are thin, so do take care when speaking loudly or singing while in shower – your neighbors are hearing every your word. As there is a very limited parking place, there was constant mill of cars in front of the hotel, so you have to take care when coming or going.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are obviously the noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Acorna,

Firstly let me thank you by selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our Hospitality, and your valuable notes are greatly appropriated and well accepted to provide better services to our Guests.
We hope to see you back at Green Hills.
Thanking You,

Nihal Jayawardena
Director General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Clean friendly staff was a bit noisy at night as u need to open the window for air as there is no Air condition in the room, rooms are average bathroom average also, breakfast was fine, the location excellent as it's 5 minutes walk to the center of the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ousha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Ousha

Firstly let me thank you by selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our Hospitality, and your valuable notes are greatly appropriated and well accepted to provide better services to our Guests.
We hope to see you back at Green Hills.
Thanking You,

Nihal Jayawardena
Director General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We love the hotel from best value for money, excellent facility, very helpful and extremely professional staff. The location is ideal for tourists, we didn't try food in lunch and dinner but breakfast was great as well. Overall great experience and we would recommend to everyone traveling to Nuwara Eliya....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhasnain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly let me and my Team thank you for selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are really impressed that you have enjoyed our Hospitality and your notes keep my Team's Moral-Up.
Many thanks for your encouraging comments.
We hope to see you back at Araliya Green Hills.

Thanking You,
Nihal Jayawardena,
Director General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel and its staff were very cooperative. We all felt comfortable at all times... while all the people were really helpful, I would like to mention their IT guy, Charitra, who is a great person and a helpful bloke. We were traveling with family and it was lovely staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Their Presidential suite is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yrazvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nihal J, Director General Manager at Araliya Green Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mr. Yrazvi,

Firstly me and my team thank you for selecting our Hotel for your Great Holiday.
We are really impressed with your note that you have enjoyed our Hospitality, and your encouraging comments will keep my Team's Moral-Up.
Charith is an "ASSETt" to my Team.

Thanking You,
Nihal Jayawardena,
Director General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,478 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,505 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
647 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Araliya Green Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Araliya Green Hills Hotel

Property: Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Address: No 10 Glenfall Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Araliya Green Hills Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Araliya Green Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing