We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Alpine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpine Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Bandaragama
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Location: Easy to find. In town area.
Rooms: Well cleaned. Not so big. but nice.
Service:very friendly staff. good service.
Food:should be improved. but b/f was better than the dinner.
parking:enough
Rates: economical
Overall: It s a good place. h/f Rs.10k. its worth. i like the place.

Room Tip: Pedro lounge was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isshani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    33
    40
    27
    40
See reviews for
53
55
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hollande
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

After all the hotels we had visit in the same categorie of prices we were very happy to get such a nice, comfortable and clean room. It made good the poorest breakfast from our journey till we get the bill, every service (bar, laundry) was overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

It mostly comes down to "too much money for too little". The rooms were quite ok and not dirty compared to other accommodations in Sri Lanka. They just weren't what you expect for about 100 Dollars/night (halfboard).

The TV sets are old and don't have a remote control, there's carpet floors which are nice when it's cold outside (it indeed gets quite cold in Nuwara Eliya - and I am accustomed to Middle European winters), but I'm not sure about how often and carefully they are cleaned.
There were no heating elements in the rooms we had, which again would be nice when the room temperature's falling. Also there was no fridge in the rooms, but you could put your food/drinks outside the window during the night time, I guess.
The staff at the reception and the waiters in the restaurant were really nice and helpful, the roomboys were pretty rude though.

If you're staying at the hotel, bring warm clothes and maybe try to get the price down a little, because the rooms are definitely nicer than many other rooms I've seen here before.
But you'd probably pay half of what we paid in many European countries which is quite telling, I think.

Room Tip: The room numbers were 37 and 40, there might be better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thats N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I believe the price range on this forum is outdated. Cost of living in Sri Lanka has been increasing the last couple of years, I believe this is why we paid 9,350 for one night at this hotel. We also enquired how much a night at the Grand Hotel would be for comparison and they quoted about 180 US. We also asked how much a night would be at the Sunhill Hotel and they wanted to charge 6,500 rupees, and the room there was worse than at Alpine Hotel. So prices seemed high at all the hotels when we visited Dec 2011.

The staff at Alpine hotel were very friendly and helpful. The sheets were high quality and the bedroom clean. On the downside, the reception phone did not work, hot water seemed to be switched off over night and generally the hotel could do with some marshlands compared to Western standards. However, almost everything in Sri Lanka us a little worn out or run down.

I can recommend Alpine Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscheidegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I do not reccomend this hotel to any traveller and it was my first and the last visit to this Hotel. It posses a Grosvenor Image once you enetered the Reception but you will be Haunted once you eneter the room.Too old furniture starting from the room doors. Its not worth to write about this hotel and not even worth to stay there. Who so ever planing to visit Nuwara Eliya, i must warn you STAY AWAYYYYYYYYYYYYYY.........

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londan
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I traveled with my family and i like this hotel because the rooms are big and very friendly staff
the lake view bub is a very relaxing place to have a drink.I recommend this place to worth to stay

Room Tip: large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogLondan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The half board rate is expensive for what was provided and the quoted room price does not include tax. Our room smelt musty and the TV did not work although on a positive note the shower was very hot. The internet in the sitting area was haphazard. The food at dinner was plentiful (if a little overcooked) and the solo guitar singer in the dining room was quite pleasant. We requested a heater and unbelievably had to pay extra. We would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
252 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hotel

Property: Alpine Hotel
Address: 4 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 052, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Hotel is situated in the cool misty hill country of Sri Lanka. It's the greenest part of the country, flourishing in flora & fauna. It's lush green tea hills gives it a distinctive mark of its own.Exploring ecology sites you will find this and so much more at this Super Luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing