We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpine Hotel
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have spent a night with my family as my last day of a three day trip to Nuwara Eliya. The hotel location is ideal for a tourist as it is just a few minutes away from the City, Gregory Lake and Victoria Park and any other places to visit. The most significant thing about this hotel is the staff as they are very much helpful and friendly. They will attend to any issues or requests immediately as you report. Food was good but I feel it is bit overpriced for what they offer if you book full board or half board. Plenty of hot water and bathroom was clean. However there was no telephone available at the room and I always had to climb down and go to the front desk to get things done. Overall this is an average hotel and I'm happy with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raji_SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    33
    36
    26
    32
See reviews for
46
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Foods and room service is good. im booking through the rooms.lk website.
i would like to thank Alpine Hotel staff there friendly service.
its really really nice.
Thank you all.

Foods and room service is good. im booking through the rooms.lk website.
i would like to thank Alpine Hotel staff there friendly service.
its really really nice.
Thank you all.

Room Tip: Clean Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiwankalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went there with local rate, the place is clean and acceptable although the toilet is a bit old. At a good location but that's a bit boring at night in Nuwara Eliya. More suitable for retired people. That area all hotels look lovely and you feel like in Europe

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Room was expensive for what it was, bathroom door couldn't be shut from the outside and there was lots of noise from the corridor.
Shower did the job but the water went everywhere.
The lounge area is nice but dated and as some other reviews have mentioned, it's a bit weird having staff's desks in the middle of it.
All the staff I met were friendly.
For dinner I had the Sri Lankan curry and wow, what a feast. Two huge bowls of rice, poppadoms, four different curries and a salad!! It was all very delicious and some of the best food I had in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: 27 has no natural light and looks onto a noisy staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mancduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We checked into alpine hotel on a very rainy evening, we were greeted by the extremely friendly staff on arrival. The location was just amazing. The room was quite spacious with and seemed clean. The overall architecture of the building was what appealed to us the most. Food was also good and they have a lovely bar which was just what we hoped for after a very long journey.

Room Tip: request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

It was a great place to spend your vacation. The receptionists were customer friendly.room service was good.rooms were clean.advice for people looking for a good place to stay, this would be worth and comfortable enough for the amount you pay...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Paid approx £70 for a depressing room that felt like a 1960s seaside boarding house. There was a kettle but no cups, tea bags etc, a very old telly with no remote control, a bathroom door that wouldn't shut.... We did sleep well -in the vast bed that took up practically all of the floor space (along with the extra bed). Breakfast was basic and whilst we were eating a member of staff tried to sell us the book he had written, which was a little awkward. The public areas could have been nice but they seemed to double up as offices eg: the manager's desk was in the middle of the lounge. The staff were nice but we did relocate after one night. If we had paid half the price it would have been too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christineplusfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hotel

Property: Alpine Hotel
Address: 4 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 052, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Hotel is situated in the cool misty hill country of Sri Lanka. It's the greenest part of the country, flourishing in flora & fauna. It's lush green tea hills gives it a distinctive mark of its own.Exploring ecology sites you will find this and so much more at this Super Luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing