We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp, cold, smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Damp, cold, smelly”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Worst hotel on my trip...
Bedsheets, pillows, carpets were all moldy and dirty.
They didn't even provide towels... and even if they did... they too would be too dirty to use. I'm surprised that there were no cockroaches.

The new manager was accomodating and friendly, so perhaps he will help to turn things around because this hotel needs a serious revamping.

I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: don't stay here... there are no good rooms out of the 3 that I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sfernand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    15
    13
    21
See reviews for
13
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I went to Nuwara Eliya with my family members (12 adults & 4 kids) while I am in vacation. We went to the Sunhill (They called Hotel) November 12th around 8.30 pm. We got 3 tripple room(each Rs. 4200/=) and 2 double room(each Rs. 3500/=).Same time I said we gonna have dinner here, just arrange for us.They start to arrange the table around 10.00 pm after I have stay at the restuarant and gave the direction to the kids(They called waiters). Finally we got foods 10.45pm. I think they went to shop after I gave an order. That time nother young couple came to reception and ask for double room. They got a room next to me(Room 202) only Rs. 2500/=. I have got really shock.There is no standerd price. Are you still call that a hotel.
Room is smelly. Bed and blanket ice cold.There are TV each and every room, but 4 of them not working. The other one didnt have a remote. more than 3 time we ask for it. Couldnt help. They have lots of kids working without experience and respect. They just came in side the room without asking.
Next day we went to breakfast. We had string hoppers and few curries.After eat my wife ask for a finger bowl. One kid ask her to go to kitchen and use that sink. Then I have looked around and I saw next table had finger bowl. I ask him about it. He said we have only 6 finger bowl. They have charge me Rs. 700 + 10% for 1 mega soda and 1 mega coca cola bottle.
They still call this place "A Star class HOTEL". But its not any more. Few years ago they had one star. Now hotel board took that star awy. Can you imaging how good there service and cleanliness.

If any body want to contact me: I am Mansil Kamburugamuwa, e-mail: montel73@hotmail.com

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Nate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The rooms were not good and the food was very expensive. The hosts were very unwelcoming. :( evey evening after 6 you hear a loud prayer going on the kovil or something nearby and its annoying we couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank astroanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

we were due to stay there on the 3rd day of our tour on arrival there was a musty smell inside the hotel.they only had one room instead of the two booked then found us a 2nd room which clearly had,nt been used for a while.damp smelly sheets and stains on the carpet with a horrible musty smell and flies around the hotel.clearly no way was we going to spend a nite there so had to move to another hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chelseawolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2007

Me and my wife went to Nuwara Eliya for a 3 day holiday.
We considered a lot of places to stay from 4* hotels to small inns. The hotels are severely overpriced and the inns were of sub standard. Sun Hill gave us a great rate and the room we've got was excellent when the price is concerned. We had a room with hot water and TV, wall to wall carpeting. The cons were the food, it was not up to standard and the rooms were located 4 floors above without a lift!
I would say go there to stay, but eat out!
Shanake De Fonseka
London

  • Liked — Cheap, value for money
  • Disliked — climbing floors without a lift
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.5 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#20 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#22 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya

Property: Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya
Address: 18 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing