We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our Stay at Sun hill hotel was disappointing. We were stuck in this hotel as we could bot secure reservation for better Hotels like Grand. The rooms are dated and in terrible shape. The old carpet in the room had wet patches. Bed was shaky with very old bed sheets and blankets. There was a constant smell associated with old and closed buildings. Breakfast was inadequate. Hotel staff were helpful with the limited resources they had. Wi-Fi did not work. Hotel however, is located near the main market.
Not Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arvind S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

We've spend there just one night.Nothing noticeable. Not bad but not adorable. The only thing that really disappointed us was piercing cold. My wife was also disappointed with shower in the room it appeared too uncomfortable for her. But for it was enough to take hot shower before returning to cold room. We asked for additional blankets but still felt frozen in the night

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed in the guesthouse with my driver. the stuff was quite helpful and actually was a decision making for me to really stay. The property is not bad, but not overwhelming too. I would not stay there for longer but for the overnight stay through the country the price was reasonable. The karaoke was loud till late night, good luck i can sleep whatever is going on. Nice location with a nice view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanaduchackova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Oh holy jeebus this place is special!! We stayed here as part of a trip organised by Rail Tours. From the moment we arrived I wanted to leave. The smell of cat wee in reception was overwhelming and matched by a smell of damp or mould in the tv room nearby. Part of the hotel roof was made with corrugated iron which didn't seem to cover everywhere it should so the stairs were quite wet and dangerous. We were up a few flights in room 303 which has another interesting smell in the bathroom. So interesting that we decided we couldn't bare to wash in there. We ate in Nuwara Eliya as we wanted to spend as little time in the hotel as possible. So we walked, in the rain, into the town, only returning coz we had to! We stayed in the tv room for a little while and witnessed a very irate German tourist who had waited more than 30 mins for 3 beers and was not happy with the service. We were glad to only be staying 1 night. The beds were actually ok comfort wise but there was a little stain on one and the room was quite grubby - badly needs updating. Even a lick of paint would make a huge difference. The next morning on the way to breakfast I was greeted by a member of staff who directed us to the breakfast room. When I turned around I was greeted by a furry member of staff! Ok, maybe the 2 one wasn't on the employee list!! It was either a big mouse or a you know what! (I shiver at the memory) We were so glad to be leaving that morning. Breakfast was interesting! Eggs, some weird sausage things, toast, coffee / tea and juice. In fairness aside from the sausages and the flies it was ok. Service was a little slow though. Plenty to improve but I'm not sure I'd ever re-visit!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Not recommended for a long time, but if you are in the region of Nuwara Eliya just for one night, what it offers is enough. There's no hot water in the shower enough, the bathroom is poor and linens smell musty. The hotel is plenty of mosquitos. But the breakfast was reasonable. The service was very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreuzarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Seems like this hotel is in terrible decay. Our room seemed okay to start with (on the top floor with a great view) but after the checkin and and staying in the room it wasn't really up to standard. First of all there were loads of mosquitos in the room and no net or plug with mosquito repellant. When we contacted the front desk they said that there were no mosquitos and when we insisted that there were, he said that he couldn't find the plug thing. Furthermore, the room felt very damp and the view, although gorgeous could have been better if the windows were clean and not filled with dead insects. The TV in our room didn't work because the plug was jammed into the wrong socket. We had to access the room through lots of stairs, which wasn't really if it had not have been for the leakages all the way up creating puddles of water and an accident just waiting to happen. After a really long day all we wanted to do was just relax in the hotel for a bit before going out to eat. This was, however, impossible because all of a sudden all you could hear was really loud karaoke. We only had breakfast there and it wasn't really that great. The hotel was barely okay for just a one night stay and I will definitely not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munk4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed in a triple room, it was smelly and water spilled on the carpets, only God knows from what. Its not a star class hotel. we only stayed one night. The staff seems to be friendly. But not a lot a attention given to details. It is ok to stay one day,no more..!! If you really want to see a silver line is, close proximity to the city. Just walking distance.

worst part is that there are not standard prices, each time you call for reservation you get a different prices. I dont think that is cool. However it is my opinion that it is not worth the price you pay.

Room Tip: Better to see the room before you make a reservation. If possible quote the price is too high, you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zihanjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.6 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Winter Cottage
Winter Cottage
#20 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
9 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#19 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hill Town Cottage
The Hill Town Cottage
#8 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
40 reviews
1.5 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#23 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya

Address: 18 Unique View Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £36 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunhill Hotel Nuwaraeliya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing