We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay. One of the best values we...”
other travellers have booked this property
Senani Bungalow Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Senani Bungalow Front View
Rose Garden Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Senani Bungalow Front View
Rose Garden Terrace
Lounge
Fireplace
Lounge
Dining Hall
Dinning Hall
Room 1
Room 2
Room 2
Bathroom 2
Family Room 3
Room 4
Breakfast Room
Putting Green
Putting Green
Lavender Field
Strawberry field
Alstroemerias
Part Of Herbal Garden
Fuchsias
Night Time At Senani
New Rose Garden Terrace
Herbal Garden
Gazebo
Gazebo
BBQ In Progress
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
Morgane B
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
“Wonderful stay. One of the best values we experienced in Sri Lanka.”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Despite bad weather conditions we had during our 3 days stay in Nuwara Eliya, we spent a great time in Senani Bungalow. The place is very cosy. Every day we made a fire in the chimney. We were there for Christmas Eve. There was a christmas tree. Kids enjoyed it a lot. As family group (4 adults, 4 children), we chose to rent the whole bungalow just for us. That was a great idea. We felt like at home. Staff if very discreet but nice and attentive. Food was excellent, probably the best food we had in our whole 3 weeks stay in Sri Lanka. We would definitely recommend this place to people going to Sri Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food. Space.
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighKhos
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience at Senani Bungalow”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in many rental villas and The Senani Bungalow has been our most memorable experience to date. Not only is the bungalow full of charm with the antiques, fireplace and amazing book collection, the outside is equally beautiful with terraced gardens of vegetables, herbs and flowers. The beds and bathrooms were amazingly comfortable and exceptionally clean. But what really made this bungalow unique was the love and care we received from the staff. Marcus, Preema and the others made our stay feel like home and when it was time to say goodbye, we felt we were leaving good friends. Preema is by far the best cook ever and made us wonderful breakfasts and dinners. She even was up at 4am to make us pancakes wrapped with her homemade jam for our hike at Horton Plains National Park. Our daughter (age 10) fell in love with her and there were a few tears at our departure. Marcus, who manages, the bungalow, was so helpful and kind and made sure our stay was exceptional! The location was great and we were able to get to see many sights in the nearby area. We enjoyed gathering in front of the fire each night, drinking tea and relaxing after a full day's adventure. I would highly recommend this bungalow to anyone looking for a beautiful, authentic experience in Sri Lanka's Hill Country. We will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful charming bungalow with a fantastic staff.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattandSt...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“wonderful colonial bungalow”
Reviewed 24 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at the Senani Bungalow. The entire staff was exceptional and met our every need. Prema's cooking is unquestionably some of the best food I've had in Sri Lanka. The bungalow is in perfect condition and extremely comfortable. We all enjoyed having a drink by the fireplace. Thanks for making our trip to Nuwara Eliya a memorable experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara R
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
1 review
“My Stay at Senani Bungalow”
Reviewed 20 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The staff of Senani Bungalow worked tirelessly to make our trip unforgettable. The cook, Prema, prepared delicious local meals for us every morning, afternoon and evening. The manager Marcus and Prema's husband Namarathne made sure everything was of a high standard during our stay, and met all of our requests. The bungalow itself was very comfortable and homely and its 4G WiFi pleased the kids immensely. By the end of our stay, we were genuinely sad to go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountaint...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at senani was a memorable and amazing one. We were traveling with kids and were having a difficult time in Colombo because of accommodation. When we reached senani it was like a breath of fresh air. Pictures don't do justice to the place. Everything about it was perfect but sadly we only had a night there. We wished we could have stayed longer. We had breakfast and dinner prepared by Prema who btw makes wonderful dishes. I highly recommend it to everyone. Her Sri lanka dishes were the best we had during our stay in Sri lanka. The manager had the fireplace ready for us after dinner to sit back relax and just enjoy each other's company. We had the pleasure of meeting Wolfgang, the owner during our stay and enjoyed having conversations with him. We truly felt we were at home and at peace. I would recommend my family and friends to stay at senani. Thank you Wolfgang and team for the most memorable stay.

Christina

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandaken
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Senani is on the list of my favorites”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect break from hot and humid Colombo! Absolutely beautiful colonial house with a garden that one must fall in love with, excellent staff, amazing food and many charming places to visit in the neighborhood. The house and the garden will make you travell in time, it feels like you step in a fairy tale. Rose garden - perfec spot for morning coffee or afternoon tea. Gazebo provides barbecue area and is in the middle of herb garden - yes, they do grow organic vegetables and herbs, there is a spot for golf lovers where they can practice.. In the evening they make cosy atmosphere in the living room by litting a fire in the fireplace..the only "touch" to modern era is a wifi (belive me, it comes very handy when you get there with a bunch of teenagers - there were 5 of them and not for a single moment that they were bored). We visited a beautiful waterfall (30 min walk though tea plantations) - this is a paradise for hikers and nature lovers. The house has an excellent team - they are an added value to this bungalow. They are friendly, yet discrete, and gosh - food they bring you on the table - amazing! Home-made cheese, home made jams and marmelades, sri lankan traditional food (hoppers, roti..I forgot names). To sumarize this all - my family and I cannot wait to go there again.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mountaint...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

The place was wonderful. Exactly what my family and I wanted. Pictures don't do justice to the place. It's way too beautiful. We had dinner and bfast prepared by the in house cook prema and trust me if you want to try Sri Lanka food have her to make it. It was made not spicy because we had kids and the food was awesome. Prema is an amazing cook.The best Sri Lanka food we had during the trip. Manager was very helpful. Had the fireplace set up for us to laze and be cosy in the living area.Giving us tips on places to go and even suggestions on the next location that we are headed to. He is so knowledgeable. We had the privelage of meeting the owner Wolfgang and had good time chit chatting with him while we had our meals. He made us so comfortable and we felt we were home.He made the stay for the kids and all of us a memorable one. To those finding a place to relax this is the place to be,surrounding is so beautiful with a huge garden. We felt at home and will definitely make senai bungalow our top priority when choosing our accommodation in nuraweliya.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people managing the place and the location.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing