We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best spot in Arugam Bay, the best bar in Sri lanka!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf 'n Sun Guesthouse & Restaurant
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best spot in Arugam Bay, the best bar in Sri lanka!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We did not stay in the hotel but discovered the place as yoga classes were given there on a daily basis. The teacher was an awesome, open and very friendly person, and she suggested to come in the evening to try the cocktails. Well, it was an awesome experience! The owner is a very cool and open minded surfer, and the best of the bests is Jo, the amazing barman, so adorable, really knowing his job having worked more than 25years in the industry, and truly interested in meeting & knowing people. Loved the cocktails!
Pizzas were very good as well, we were so sad to discover it only the last day!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Srakoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    27
    10
    4
    18
See reviews for
5
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were only meant to stay 3 days but pulled into this oasis and stayed 10! First things first, unpack and enjoy the best cocktails in town courtesy of Joe, A Bays mixologist extordianar, I would recommend you start with a passion fruit daiquiri. We stayed in a lovely tree house style room and it was the cheapest and the nicest one we found. The grounds are manicured to perfection and full of attention to detail, there is a little pond in an urn which houses a little tortoise we named Bob. The service and people are so friendly you'll probably extended your stay too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Hassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We ate here last night and the food was amazing well presented and the ambience is unbelievable. The staff are very attentive however the service was slow and out kids were falling asleep by the time the food arrived BUT the food was so good that it was worth the wait highly highly recommend this place is awesome

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Serenitee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The design , layout and atmosphere is really good here. The fact they have gone that little bit further to make it a genuinely relaxed and friendly place makes all the difference.
The outdoor shower is a gem after a long session at main point and the music and food just adds to the experience.
- and the hammocks are seriously comfortable.

Room Tip: The ceiling fans do the job- A/C not needed
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank carl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We were the first two to enjoy the brand new bungalow in the back of the compound. It really looks amazing with à stunning bathroom. The place in general is great to just relax and enjoy a drink or some food. Surf n sun was one of the better looking hotels we have seen in arugam.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, England.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Surf n Sun is a really nice place to stay in Arugam Bay. The cabanas are good value and the grounds are fantastic. The "chill out" are is great to have a read or a beer. The staff are really attentive and can't do enough for you around the bar and restaurant area.

When the owners are around they are helpful and good to have a chat with. However, they are often busy doing other things so simple tasks like paying the bill proved quite difficult.

The only criticism would be that the rooms need to be cleaned, towels and bedding changed etc more often. We had a 5 night stay there and they weren't done once! These little things are typical of the "surfer" like attitude of the owners. They often seem away with the fairies but are really nice people nonetheless.

Didn't try the restaurant as it is expensive in comparison to nearby places but a friend recommended the food here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangalle, null, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at Surf `n Sun in May, absolutely loved it. Great value for price, the staff is really friendly and helpful, the owner is there to help you and make your stay as cozy as possible.
We havent had the chance to try out the kitchen, but everything else was just great and would recommend the place definitely.
Its conveniently located, in the center near to all bars and restaurants, so one can walk freely without any 3-wheeler hassle.
Best part is the chill out area, decorated with taste, just inviting you to sit and lay back with a book in your hands.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staša M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pottuvil
0.0 mi away
Arugambay Surf Resort
Arugambay Surf Resort
#7 of 13 in Arugam Bay
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stardust Beach Hotel
Stardust Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Arugam Bay
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Spice Trail
The Spice Trail
#1 of 13 in Arugam Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Danish Villa Hotel
The Danish Villa Hotel
#2 of 13 in Arugam Bay
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arne's Place
Arne's Place
#9 of 29 in Pottuvil
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Bay Hotel
Coco Bay Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pottuvil
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf 'n Sun Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf 'n Sun Guesthouse & Restaurant

Property: Surf 'n Sun Guesthouse & Restaurant
Address: Mainstreet, Arugam Bay, Pottuvil, Arugam Bay 32500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Arugam Bay > Pottuvil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Pottuvil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Surf 'n Sun Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf 'n Sun Guesthouse & Restaurant Sri Lanka/Pottuvil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing