We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in Waiao!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rising Sun Surf Inn
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Im so impressed by the warm hospitality, very nice staff, funny roommates, beautiful place, perfect food:) I wish I could stay longer. I miss the little puppy -Justin as well. Surely to visit again in the future. Cheers

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helloyukiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

I definitely recommend Rising Sun Surf Inn in Wai Ao beach. If you're coming to Yilan, definitely check out Wai Ao and stay at Rising Sun. The staff are friendly, the rooms are super clean, the food is food, the beach is beautiful, and there's a ton of stuff to do in Wai Ao. The surf is great and the scenery is fantastic. Besides surfing, you can do all kinds of outdoor activities like hiking, hang-gliding, boat tours, and biking. The staff at Rising Sun will go out of their way to make sure you have the best time possible. We also went to nearby towns to go to night markets and check out some local restaurants. If you're sick of the city and want to enjoy the small beach town vibe, come check out Wai Ao and Rising Sun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Open view to endless ocean, constant sound of waves and the most importantly, a bunch of great ppl serving there. I'd really recommend chatting with one of their employees, Candy Lin, she has such a big heart sharing ppl about what's the meaning of "having a happy life", also her generosity and warmhearted personality makes this little hostel alive.

If you come to Taipei, please go to I-Lan. And if you come to I-Lan, please you really gotta go this little hostel full with young spirit and a big welcome heart for you! :)

(please believe me I'm not employed by them :P I am just a backpacker like you and just someone has been really amazed by their hospitality and genuine spirit. )

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommyTommy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The environment is clean and easy here, a feeling of warmth and relaxation exudes from the overall atmosphere. The bright airy spaces of the lobby/common room, patio and dorms, make you feel light and optimistic. Not to mention an ocean view, with the beach just outside the door, for picturesque surroundings.

The staff make you feel like part of the family from the outset, and you will feel a strong sense of community during your stay.
During the week, we were taken out by the staff as part of a friendly group and felt more integrated within a community of surfers and friends.
The staff are willing to go above and beyond to assist you on your travels through Taiwan, even after your stay. Candy and Brandon have been so much help to us clueless British folk.

I cannot express how glad I am, that we happened to stay at such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauraa_m1713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I travelled there because a friend recommended me the place. Wasn't disappointed at all. The staff is amazing and willing to help whenever you need it. I am the kind that asks tons of questions, but I always got a good answer. they for sure now about the surroundings, but also about how to get anywhere.

The location is really good, just 2 minutes walking from the beach and the same time to the train station. Maybe the only downside is that the nearest grocery shop is 15 minutes walking away.

They mainly offer surfing lessons and the rental service. The price is amazingly cheap (at least for a foreigner), 500 NTD for a whole day of rental of the surfboard and one of those UV-T-shirts. The rooms are also around 500 if you go for the cheapest one, they are nice, clean, and the price is the same as in all the other hostels. Probably the best deal you can find. They also offer discounts if you bring a bag with garbage from the beach, yeah, as you read, if you pick some garbage from the sand you get a discount.

That leads us to the other point, the staff and the residents willing to help keep the beach and the train station clean, so it is really kind of a socially aware hostel.

What else? They serve food and you have a bar in the hostel if you want to get a beer, some food, soft drinks, coffee or whatever.

Not to mention that they have tons of activities and you also can ask them for surfing classes. Again, they are not really expensive if you compare it to non-asian fares. And you get the 2h lesson, water, a photographer who will take photos for you, umbrellas and stuff.

A great place for sure

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artemi_Daniliuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I needed a place to find relax,activities and fun and I was afraid to spend one week alone in a hostel where I have never been before.Rising Sun Surf Inn really surprised me!The atmosphere I experienced in this place was incredible, I felt among friends since the first day and the owner helps you and suggests you to get the best from your trip in Yilan.I really recommend Rising Sun to everybody,every ages and overall also to who like me wants to disconnect from the pressure of working in a big city and relax in an amazing view in front of the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I didn't have any expectations coming into Rising Sun Surf, and left not wanting to leave the place.

The hostel is owned by Garrett & Candy, two of the most chill, and genuine folks you'll ever meet. I came to Yilan coastline to surf Taiwan, and Garrett goes out of his way to take a bunch of us "wave hunting" up along the eastern/northern coastline all the way up to Jin Shan. And Candy on the other hand is always happy and positive, and I enjoy chatting about future dreams and projects and her optimistic outlook is simply infectious.

I'd also like to mention that the small town of Wai-ao looked dramatically different prior to their opening. Learned that Garrett and Candy have transformed and helped clean-up trash at the train station and beach to make Wai-ao cleaner. They've also helped the local community with clean-up projects, farming, and simply bringing tourism to the region.

As for the hostel itself, its "always" clean. The staff are super friendly and go out of there way to make sure you are happy and enjoy your time. Super comfortable tatami to lay in the common area and take your afternoon siesta. If you venture off to Yilan County and stop by Wai-ao area, definitely stay at Rising Sun Surf, I know for sure I'll be back there, longer at the end of 2014!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HurricaneHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yilan County hotels
5.8 mi away
East Hostel
East Hostel
#2 of 232 in Yilan County
99 reviews
6.6 mi away
Easy Life Hot Spring Inn
Easy Life Hot Spring Inn
#46 of 232 in Yilan County
6 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hangkhau Hotel Bookcafe
Hangkhau Hotel Bookcafe
#5 of 232 in Yilan County
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Yilan Inspiration Hostel
Yilan Inspiration Hostel
#24 of 232 in Yilan County
1 reviews
6 mi away
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
#2 of 165 in Yilan County
796 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel  Suao
Lakeshore Hotel Suao
#3 of 165 in Yilan County
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Sun Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Sun Surf Inn

Address: No.236 Section 2, Binhai Road, Toucheng Town, Yilan County 261, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Yilan County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 232 Speciality Lodging in Yilan County
Price Range: £23 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located directly on the boardwalk of the beach and surrounded by local jungle covered mountains. Wai'ao beach is a very local and authentic neighborhood, get a feel for the local seaside culture in Taiwan. Large common area with a lounge, table seating indoors and outdoors along the sea, as well as a bar and kitchen with food service. Best beachside hostel in Yilan! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing