We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places I have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Yilan County
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best places I have stayed in”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This was my first ever visit to the Northeastern side of Taiwan and i was booked at this spa resort along with a big team of colleagues for a company event. The drive from Taipei was pleasant and upon arrival at the hotel i felt very relaxed by the de or and the efficient check-in. My room was a two-storied one, with japanese style interiors, a sitting room downstairs, a bedroom upstairs, a wardrobe area, a private spa tub, a sit- out area with a view to distant mountains and everything was tasteful and serene. The conference facility, the food, the efficiency and alacrity of the staff, all very pleasing, really. Breakfast buffet is huge and tasty. I also has a chance to use the karaoke room which was not extraordinary but not bad. Te hotel had given me a coupon to use their hotwater spiring area but i had no chance to use the coupon. My other minor grouse was all the written instructions everywhere were in Chinese. All the same the helpful attitude of staff more than compensates for that. I hope to go back here, one day with my family.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hrishikul298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRJ_PR, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Hrishikul,
First of all, We are so glad we had an opportunity to thank you for spending your time visiting our hotel. How's your business trip in Taiwan? How's your first impression in Taiwan? Hope that was wonderful.

That's extremely thoughtful of you to write the article of recommendation for the Hotel Royal.
We really appreciated your supports and looking forward to your come again. Hope next time you will just see what you expected.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact with P.R.team.

Sincerely,

All staffs of Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    121
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
220
92
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is my first time to stay in Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi. It is a well maintained hotel and the hot spring in Chiao Hsi is excellent. The only defective is that too many guests make the space for public entertainment is kind of crowd. The "crowd" feeling compares to quite high hotel charge, the value for money is not that worthy. Because we visit here for the company year end party, I only had the breakfast buffet. The variety of food is a lot, but the flavor is quite average. I am only delighted by the automatic coffee machine with grinder, the cafe latte is REALLY delicious, just like you buy from the Starbucks.

Room Tip: They use the larger single bed mattress, so the twin bed room is suitable for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank museshao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRJ_PR, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Museshao,
That's extremely thoughtful of you to write the article of recommendation for the Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi. We really appreciated your supports and looking forward to your come again. Hope next time you will just see what you expected.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact with P.R.team.

Sincerely,

All staff of Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I stayed one night there and will definitely go back with our kids. The hotel room is big enough for a family with 2 young kids. The room is well maintained. The buffet dinner and breakfast are the best we have had in any hotels in Taiwan. There is a recreation room equipped with table tennis table, Xbox, wii, books, gym, playhouse, etc. it's very suitable for families. The hotel also organised activities for guests but some of the local tours are quite expensive. It also provides free shuttle to/from the train station. We enjoyed our outdoor spring experience...for families, I would suggest staying for 2 nights.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BXXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRJ_PR, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. BXXL,
That's extremely thoughtful of you to write the article of recommendation for the Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi. It warms our heart to heard your comments. We really appreciated your supports and looking forward to your come again. Hope next time you will just see what you expected.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact with P.R.team.

Sincerely,

All staff of Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We did not stay here, but signed up for their day package (香氛湯屋&午餐) for NT$3,900 (2 adults, 2children).

Unlike hot springs in other locations like Beitou, the hot spring water in Jiaosi does not have a strong odour. We researched a few popular hot springs in the region and chose Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi because:
1) The facilities (香氛湯屋) were sparkling clean (some other hot springs look a little run down)
2) Everything you would need was provided for in your private room (shower facilities, shower gel, shampoo, clean towels, hair dryer, biscuits, bottled water, toilet...) (some hot springs have common shower facilities)
3) The water temperature is adjustable (which was important for my kids) and a thermometer was provided.
Yes, it carried a higher price tag but we felt it was worth it.

I would have rated the day package "very good" if the lunch (雲天自助餐廳) had not been so disappointing. Yes, the spread was good but taste was so-so (palatable but nothing extraordinary). We have tasted much better food in the streets and night markets at a tiny fraction of the cost. (Lunch option added NT$1,700 to the price tag of the whole package.) If I could choose all over again, I would have gone for the hot spring package (without lunch).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRJ_PR, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Msnakim,
That's extremely thoughtful of you to write the article of recommendation for the Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi. We really appreciated your supports and looking forward to your come again. We'll Keep improving, beyond your expectation and serve you better. Hope next time you will just see what you expected.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact with P.R.team.

Sincerely,

All staff of Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Beautiful hotel with excellent service staff. Comfortable and clean room. The restaurant were great and the hotel hot spring facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRJ_PR, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Mr./ Mrs. Ricky604,
That's extremely kind of you to write the message of recommendation for the Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi. It warms our heart to heard your comments. It's our pleasure to provide our services to you. We really appreciated your supports and looking forward to your come again. Hope next time you will just see what you expected.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact with P.R.team.

Sincerely,

All staff of Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I come here every winter with my family. Amazing service, amazing rooms, amazing food. Once I entered this hotel I was always in a relaxed state until I left. The spa and hot spring is the best at night. They have the coolest pool of fish where you dip your feet in and when you take it out it's like as if you had a pedicure - smooth skin! They have a good selection of hot spring tubs to rest at (eg. lavendar, massage chair, indoor, etc.)
The rooms are japanese styled with tatamis and are kept in great condition. The food at this hotel is my favourite part! The buffet has a wide selection of food that also have great quality and taste. The seating are has a large window where you can overlook the infinity pool and a nice view of the mountains.
This is the perfect escape from stress and a great way to spend quality time with family! They also have shows during the night for children in the lobby and a schedule of different events like hiking or biking during the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRJ_PR, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Mr,/ Mrs Areolai,
That's made us feel extremely flatteredl to write the message of recommendation for the Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi. We tender you our sincere thanks for your amazing comments. Close service is our consistent aim and thanks to feel it with your heart. It's our pleasure to provide services to you. We'll Keep improving, beyond your expectation and serve you better. We really appreciated your supports and looking forward to your come again.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact with P.R.team.

Sincerely,

All staff of Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Although our travel agent recommended other hot spring hotels which were not so pricey, I was determined to stay here, based on the recommendation of a good friend, I have stayed in Japanese Ryokans with hot springs, & was looking forward to a peaceful soak in the private hot spring bath in our room. Haha, this was so much more!

When we arrived, we were treated like VIPs. Our hostess introduced us to the amenities in our room, & prepared a pot of tea for us. We stayed 2 nights in a "complex room" with 2 twin beds, & 2 futon beds prepared for us in the evening on the tatami floor. Our balcony overlooked the mountains, & it was lovely to sit there enjoying the breeze at night. The private hot spring bath did not disappoint & the toiletries were from Harnn & Thann & smelled heavenly! Minibar was stocked with soft drinks and snacks, which were complimentary. There were yukatas & slippers for us to wear around the resort, & laundry facilities on every floor, costing 50NT to operate.

Outside the room, wow. The swimming pool/spa area was absolutely gorgeous, with a full sized pool with a panoramic view, & several hot spring spa pools to soak in, in swimsuits. My favorite had to be the Bubble Jet Hot spring pool, where you sit in a submerged white recliner chair in 40deg water, then when you press a button water jets come up through the chair to give you an invigorating warm massage. I miss it so much already! There was also a Doctor fish spa pool, where you soak your legs & the little fish suck away all your dead skin. Towels are provided at the pool, & staff will walk around periodically with trays of ginger tea. The pool is open from 7am to 10pm, so there's time for a soak before breakfast & after dinner.

The meals were fabulous, we knew that we had a choice of a set dinner or buffet, but after the first night's buffet dinner, with a mind numbing choice of food, the family all voted for buffet again the second night to try the food that we missed the first night. The spread ran the gamut from vegetarian to the best roast beef I had tasted in a while, from Taiwanese to International. Breakfast was just as delicious & full of variety, we ate so much we decided to skip lunch.

There are recreational areas, games rooms, pool tables as well as many organized programs to entertain guests including late night yoga and a Chinese opera performance after dinner, & various activities during the day which we eschewed for the hot spring pools.

My mum & friend joined the early morning walk to view the waterfall & catholic church. Unfortunately, about halfway up, mum realized she had taken on too much, & was struggling but determined to reach the church. She only managed by going really slowly & with help from my friend & Verna, the guide. When she reached the church, Verna arranged for a car to come up the gravel path, to pick mum up for the return journey instead of letting her navigate the steep climb down. Thank you Verna for taking care of us!

The hotel is located near the wufenqi waterfall, a little distance away from Jiaoxi town. But we had so much fun we never even thought of leaving the resort until we checked out.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible so that you can enjoy a quieter view. The hotel is only 7 storey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvilCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRJ_PR, 公關經理 at Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Mr,/ Mrs EvilCasey,
That's extremely kindness of you to write the massage of recommendation for the Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi. It warms our heart to heard your comments and the recommendation from your good friend .

We really appreciated your supports, as this is a recognition for the entire Chiao Hsi team, showing how we meet our diversified guests needs, with service that continually evolves to exceed guest expectations, as we continue to work hard together. How we serves our guests from the heart, providing service above and beyond our SOP, to make you feel right at home, as we meet each guest’s unique needs, creating memorable, personalized vacation memories!

We looking forward to your come again. Hope next time you will just see what you expected.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact with P.R.team.

Sincerely,

All staff of Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yilan County hotels
1.3 mi away
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
Evergreen Resort Hotel - Jiaosi
#2 of 146 in Yilan County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wellspring by Silks
Wellspring by Silks
#3 of 146 in Yilan County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lakeshore Hotel  Suao
Lakeshore Hotel Suao
#1 of 146 in Yilan County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
Just Sleep @ Jiao Xi Hotel
#5 of 146 in Yilan County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
5.1 mi away
Silks Place Yilan
Silks Place Yilan
#6 of 146 in Yilan County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Living Water Hotel
Living Water Hotel
#7 of 146 in Yilan County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi

Property: Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Address: No.69 Wufeng Road, Dazhong Village, Jiaoxi Town, Yilan County 262, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Yilan County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yilan County
#2 Spa Hotel in Yilan County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the Wufengchi Scenic Area, less than 50 minutes in drive to the downtown of Taipei. The hotel uses a post-modern Zen style to combine with the childlike image of Yilan Country. Immersing in the pure hot spring, you may enjoy a broad eyesight through the French window, and overlook the extensive landscape of the Lanyang Plain while enjoying delicacies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Chiao Hsi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing