We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An escape from the chaos of urban Vietnam!”
Review of Haven Vietnam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quy Nhon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haven Vietnam
Ranked #1 of 39 Quy Nhon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An escape from the chaos of urban Vietnam!”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Wow! What a week! I stumbled upon Haven Guesthouse's web site by chance and I'm so glad I made the effort to rearrange my bus tickets so I could get there. Rosie and Huw, the two Aussie hosts go to great lengths to make every guest feel at home. I stayed in the 7-bed dorm for eight days and I couldn't be more pleased with my experience. The dorm was the nicest I have yet to stumble upon in all of my travels. Extremely comfortable matteresses, cold air conditioning and fans, secure cabinets for your valuables, and a spacious ensuite bathroom (with hot water!) all for a very affordable price. The atmosphere of Haven is welcoming and relaxing with comfortable lounging areas spread throughout the small property, each with its own stunning view of the sea. Waking up to gorgeous ocean sunrises and the sound of the surf crashing on shore cannot be beat. Each morning began with a hearty and delicious breakfast that often included fresh tropical fruit, pancakes, eggs, fresh baguettes, oatmeal, yogurt, coffee, tea and more. The amazing breakfasts are included in the price of your stay and you can opt to join Rosie, Huw and the other guests for a home-cooked, family-style meal in the evenings. Even after a week of staying there, the meals offered didn't repeat and I was very pleased with the variety of fresh Vietnamese, western and international offerings. Lastly and most importantly, the village and the beaches surrounding Haven Guesthouse make for quite the escape from the tiring tourist trail. There is relatively no tourism in the village, so you're never pressured to buy souvenirs or services. You can go into the village to purchase a locally made lunch or simply interact with the friendly and very curious locals. Overall, I am extremely pleased with my stay at Haven and I was very sad when it came time to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikadidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
We appreciate so much you taking the time to review
Haven Guesthouse. We are so happy you enjoyed
your stay with us!
If your ever back in Vietnam we look forward to
seeing you again!
best wishes
Rosie, Huw Mi and all the team at Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    11
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
94
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here at end of January 2013. Set in a beautiful location and run by a lovely and incredibly hard working couple, Haven was exactly what we were looking for after a busy few days exploring Ho Chi Minh and the Mekong Delta. We had a sea view room with a balcony: it was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable! The homestay style evening dinner was delicious as was the homemade houmous and sesame crackers lunch snack. One of the staff, kindly took us to the pretty local waterfall as a morning trip and we popped over to the Life Resort for an afternoon spa session. We arranged pick up from Dieu Tri station through Haven as well as our onward transport. We heard of Haven through a friend who visited at 2012 and will definitely be spreading the word about this amazing guesthouse! Highly recommended for those who are looking to get away from it all. Thank you Huw, Rosie and co. for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to tell others
about your stay at Haven Guesthouse.
We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us!
Your thoughts mean alot to us
knd regards
Rosie Huw Mi and all the family at Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Haven was one of the best experiences I had while in Vietnam. After the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Mihn and the heavy tourist traffic in Nha Trang, this delightful guesthouse tucked in the back of a traditional fishing village was exactly what I needed. Don't let the thought of a fishing village put you off, Haven is fully equipped with all the comforts you could want or need, you can easily forget where you are if you aren't careful! The private rooms are quiet and comfortable and the dorm was one of the best nights sleep I had in Vietnam. I should mentioned your hosts, Rosie and Hugh. Two of the nicest hosts a traveller could ask for. Along with Mei and the other locals who also work at Haven, Rose and Hugh are engaging and a delight to spend time with but also will give you all the space you could need. They are full of tips for travel in Vietnam and the rest of the world. Having dinner with these two really makes you feel part of the family. A tip for first time visitors, contact Haven a couple of days before your arrival and arrange for a taxi from the bus or train station, Bai Xep is a few kms out of town and can be tricky to find if you don't know your way.

The bottom line is this, if you are looking for a delightful escape from the tourist trail, spend a few nights in your own Haven, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Haven
Guesthouse. We are so happy you enjoyed your
stay with us! Thanks again for your support and
we look forward to seeing you again!
best wishes
Rosie and Huw and all at Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Outstanding isn't enough!
I had the best time in Vietnam far from the noise, ate delicious food, climbed waterfalls, organized a wood fire on the beach, met local fishermen and awesome people.
The owners and local staff provide you anything you need, plus English speaking.
After 10days I felt like in a family, the is also Haven, a funny dog.
The guesthouse is in front at the main beach and in few minutes you can reach the second one and have the beach all to yourself, from both you have a breathtaking view.
What else, you should go!
Sandro from Italy

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandroPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thanks for taking the tume to review Haven
Vietnam! We are so happy you enjoyed your
time with us. Thanks for your support
best wishes
Rosie and Huw and all at Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We found out about Haven Vietnam through word of mouth. We are certainly happy we stayed there for three nights as part of our 5 week trip of Vietnam. Situated just south of Quy Nhon (catch a My Linh bus from Nha Trang) in a little fishing village, and located right on the beach, it was the perfect place to relax and recharge the batteries after the hectic pace of the rest of the country. Rosie and Huw (and their staff) are gracious hosts who make you feel as if you are staying with family. Highly recommended.
PS I'd suggest you book ahead as there are only three guestrooms and a small dormitory of six.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thanks so mch for taking the time to review
Haven Vietnam! We are so happy you enjoyed
your time with us. Thanks for your support and wr
look forward to seeing you again!
best wishes
Rosie and Huw and all at Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Don't have too much to add to the other 5 star reviews... this place is exactly as advertised and as others have described it. Beachside resort quality food and rooms with the personality and friendliness of a family guest house, all set in a tiny village full of happy people who are thrilled to see you and don't try to sell you anything. (But you should definitely have lunch at one of the three food stalls up the street - a bowl of noodles will only set you back 5,000 dong.) if we ever return to Vietnam, we'll prioritize an extended stay at Haven and Bai Xep village. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great, although it seemed liked the two upper rooms might offer a touch more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsAsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review
Haven Vietnam. We are so happy you enjoyed
your time with us! Thanks for your support and
we look forward to welcoming you back to Haven!
kind regards
all at Haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stumbled upon Haven purely by chance. After visiting Hanoi, Hue and Hoi An we wanted to take some time out, visit the coast and relax but were not sure we would enjoy either Nha Trang or Mui Ne. We decided to book a few days at Haven instead and we are so glad we did.

Haven is a beachfront guesthouse with views over a palm fringed almost deserted beach. It is in the tiny fishing village of Bai Xep a few kilometres south of Quy Nhon (a lovely place in its own right). The rooms are amazing with an attention to detail you really don't expect for this price. And the beds are the most comfortable we have slept in since we left home 5 months ago!

Huw, Rosie and the rest of the team make you feel incredibly welcome, and will go out of their way to help you with anything they can (tickets, taxis etc).

And the food, in particular, is absolutely delicious combining authentic Vietnamese cuisine with the odd western luxury!

It is such a laid back place and the perfect place to recharge, The village is tiny and the locals are really friendly and a breath of fresh air after coming from somewhere like Hoi An. We spent our days doing very little, watching the locals fishing and expertly manoeuvre their little round boats in the bay, chatting to the local kids and adults alike, and watching local families enjoy the afternoon sun on the beach.

Haven is a perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle, well away from the well trodden tourist track and it is set in beautiful unspoilt surroundings. If you get the chance, try to make your way to the waterfalls - we were not able to walk through the river to the top but spent an idyllic morning floating in the river and watching the butterflies. We even saw a weasel.

We have already recommended this place to friends. If you want to get away from it all and experience Vietnam at its most laid back, this is the place to do it.

Room Tip: We splashed out on the upstairs private balcony room which was perfect but you will hear the sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary C, Manager at Haven Vietnam, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review
Haven Guesthouse! Your support means alot to us
and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us!
We all look forward to seeing you again soon
at Haven!
kind regards
Rosie Huw Mi Sau and Haven woof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quy Nhon hotels
5.0 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#2 of 15 in Quy Nhon
301 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
#9 of 15 in Quy Nhon
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Life's a Beach
Life's a Beach
#1 of 38 in Quy Nhon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Big Tree Backpackers and Bistro
4.8 mi away
John & Paul Inn
John & Paul Inn
#3 of 38 in Quy Nhon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Vietnam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Vietnam

Property: Haven Vietnam
Address: To 2, Khu vuc 1, Bai Xep | Phuong Ghenh Rang, Thanh pho, Quy Nhon 590000, Vietnam (Formerly Haven Guesthouse)
Region: Vietnam > Binh Dinh Province > Quy Nhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Quy Nhon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Vietnam is a small friendly beachfront guesthouse and bar with stunning views. Off the beaten track and perfect for relaxing and time out after visiting the busy tourist destinations. Delicious and filling breakfast included in tariff, delicious lunch and dinner menu at Big Tree Bistro next door, sunset cocktails. Comfortable king-size beds and spacious ensuites. Four double rooms and one family room (double bed and two bunks). Come and feel a part of our Vietnamese and Australian family. Come as our guests, leave as our friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing