We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Luton were twinned in Vietnam… it would be with Quy Nhon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Quy Nhon
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If Luton were twinned in Vietnam… it would be with Quy Nhon!”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Vietnam is an interesting place, no doubt. It has some amazing parts, but sadly our experience was more heavily balanced towards the mediocre and sadly on many occasions the poor.

With, like most western tourists, the latest Lonely Planet in hand, we took a 300km taxi ride ($50) from the beautiful Hoi An to the next advised stop of Quy Nhon. The roads are scary, even for the reasonably well traveled, but we eventually arrived at what appeared to be an oasis in a grotty industrial town.

The Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort is, by Vietnamese standards, very good. First impressions are good, with large rooms and friendly staff - one of which was far too excited about the complicated TV.

The location on the beach with grand sea views at the end of a sweeping bay is excellent, but mainly because it is as far away as possible from the Luton-esqe town it clings to.

If you fancy going to town you'll find it lacking in culture, history, and strangely, friendly faces. We enjoyed some local food during the day but in the evening it proved difficult. The 2 places we did go to had rats the size of cats or swarming cockroaches in full view. This experience drove us back to the hotel to find a 4* meal. Sadly it was more 1*.

If you need to stop for a night on your travels then stay here. But get planning to move on the following day, and book in advance, we almost got stuck there!

Room Tip: The sea view from the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    22
    7
    11
See reviews for
15
17
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

When we first arrived, the resort seemed ok with its good location, right on the sea view boulevard of Quy nhon city. The room was quite nice with its ocean view and wooden floor and nice quality wood furniture. However, when we turned on the AC, it's not working at all while outside temperature was around 36C ! We called reception and been told to wait a while for the AC to start cooling. Another 15 min, I made another call and they told me they would send technician to our room. Another 15 min, I called again and this time they said the AC in that room was not working so they would switch us to another room. Just for short, I sweated like a pig and asked for help and it finally came after 1 hr! The breakfast was horrible. It virtually offered nothing with quality that you can eat .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quy Nhon hotels

Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We loved the clean spacious rooms with a huge bathroom & private balcony. The bed was huge & comfy & the whole room was quite tasteful.
The hotel is in a beautiful location at the southern end of the gorgeous deserted stretch of beach. With the great rooms and the amazing beach-front views its just baffling to me that they would neglect the hotels amenities in such a way. You can see from my photographs both pools are in a disgusting state & are completely unhygienic & not fit for use. And the tennis court is a war zone, again not fit for use as it has been completely neglected & remains a big ugly see-sore. The gym at the time was nonexistent with repairs going on, so i guess it will be there in the future.
So with the word 'healthcare' in the title of this hotels name, the irony of it is almost laughable - there is nothing at all healthy about it. In fact, it is most likely a health hazard.
Other than that, the food was good & the service good, and the rooms good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelleramus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We loved the clean spacious rooms with a huge bathroom & private balcony. The bed was huge & comfy & the whole room was quite tasteful.
The hotel is in a beautiful location at the southern end of the gorgeous deserted stretch of beach. With the great rooms and the amazing beach-front views its just baffling to me that they would neglect the hotels amenities in such a way. You can see from my photographs both pools are in a disgusting state & are completely unhygienic & not fit for use. And the tennis court is a war zone, again not fit for use as it has been completely neglected & remains a big ugly see-sore. The gym at the time was nonexistent with repairs going on, so i guess it will be there in the future.
So with the word 'healthcare' in the title of this hotels name, the irony of it is almost laughable - there is nothing at all healthy about it. In fact, it is most likely a health hazard.
Other than that, the food was good & the service good, and the rooms good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleramus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We stayed here two nights and enjoyed it. However, our garden-view room was riddled with damp – all the way round, just above the skirting board were the telltale signs – this was on the 2nd floor too. And the room did smell damp too – we overcame this with some incense but a place that is presenting itself as classy shouldn't be using rooms with this level of damp.
There was quite a bit of (quiet) building work going on – presumably remedial work to deal with the damp that looks like it riddles all the accommodation blocks here.

The hotel has some other problems – the usual overstaffing and ineffectual service. The hotel restaurant was OK but pretty sluggish, the laundry charges were rather high for Vietnam and for a horrible moment at checkout, they appeared to have lost our passports. OK, they found them but it didn't inspire confidence – and the security check of what you've had from the minibar is an irritating policy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDaveCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2010

It was really cheap, but not really not worth going to. the beach was quite dirty and the pool was clean but loads of chlorine in it. The room was fine, but the bathroom wasn't very clean and there were millions of mosquitos everywhere and the hotel couldnt' help us get rid of them. the balcony was nice, looking out onto the sea, but all in all it was really disappointing. You had to ask for towels at the pool, and the sun loungers were tired, as were most things. It was a shame, as when it was built, it was probably lovely, if a bit massive! the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giraffe345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and had the time of our lives doing nothing! We got a great deal on wotif, and there were very few people hanging by the pool, and we were the only ones lounging on the beach. It is on the same beach that goes to town, but some distance away, so may have to take a taxi if you wanted to go to the centre, but we walked part way in to some of the restaurants that took about 15 mins, but otherwise, enjoyed 'the ship' restaurant they have overlooking the water and very reasonably priced. This is off the tourist trail, so beautiful and quiet, although we did leave on a Friday night and there was a conference being held there with a dinner being set up by the pool, so be aware around the weekends, it may be alot busier. Staff were very friendly but english poor. They didn't have a travel desk, but they did help us get train tickets to Saigon at no commission for themselves. They did order a taxi for us which had an extremely fast running metre & cost a lot more than it should have, so grab a Malinh group taxi on the street, but other than that, we would love to come back here if possible. If you want to get off the tourist trap to have a break, then definately come here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quy Nhon hotels
0.7 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#2 of 17 in Quy Nhon
316 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
#9 of 17 in Quy Nhon
107 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
#12 of 17 in Quy Nhon
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hoang Yen Hotel
Hoang Yen Hotel
#10 of 17 in Quy Nhon
36 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunflowers Hotel
Sunflowers Hotel
#7 of 17 in Quy Nhon
50 reviews
4.6 mi away
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon

Property: Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon
Address: 01 Han Mac Tu Street, Ghenh Rang Ward, Quy Nhon 590000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Dinh Province > Quy Nhon
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Quy Nhon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Quy Nhon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon is located in the center of Quy Nhon City with a charming, painted marine location. The Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort, is designed with 131 luxury rooms spread over 500 meters of coastline to create a romantic ambience which will surely make you feel happy, relaxed and satisfied. With Garden and Sea view rooms available, we offer international standards with a romantic, picturesque atmosphere. Quy Nhon City (Binh Dinh Province) is also an ideal area for discovering one of Vietnam’s historical treasures. Champa civilization with more than 90 Champa temples, and the Native Soil of ‘Quang Trung’ King - the pride of the Vietnamese. In addition visitors are also attracted to charming tourist sites as Han Mac Tu Hill, Queen’s Beach, Ham Ho Ecological Park, Nui Mot Lake etc. We welcome you to Quy Nhon to experience these Vietnamese Cultures. At Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon, we encourage you to sit back and enjoy the friendly and warm services we offer you here. Because at the Royal Resort, we serve you with the whole-hearted service you deserve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoang Anh Quy Nhon Hotel Quy Nhon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing