We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Seagull Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Seagull Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Quy Nhon
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent six nights here after a very busy week in Saigon. A great hotel which is right on the beautiful beach. Great for swimming and the water iis like being in a big warm bath. Our room was on the 10th floor and overlooked the stunning beach. At night, the view was again transformed with the lights from the crayfish breeding pots creating the image of a city on the water.

Staff are very friendly and very happy to offer information. Most staff speak good English.

An very extensive complimentary breakfast is offered but it is a good idea to get down early to get to the fruit.

Dinner is also nice with an extensive menu offered. Lovely views over the water whilst you dine.
The wine list doesn't really reflect what wines are on offer so, it is a good idea to go into the restaurant to have a look at which wines are in stock. Lovely Californian reds whilst we were there.

Food and drinks are also available at the hotel pool. Fabulous little fish served with pineapple..a little bit like grilled sardines...yummo!

Staff do need a bit of training in drinks service....my husband provided a training sessions for staff one afternoon and it certainly improved things and provided for a bit of fun.

The hotel is within an easy stroll of the town where ther are also many great (cheap) places to eat. Friendly people who dont see that many Westerners.

Lovely to walk along the beach in the early morning or evening.....people love to chat and are very friendly. Yummy snacks available on the beach walkway in the evening.

WiFi can be a bit tricky. It seemed to have good and bad days. We asked the housekeeping staff to re set the modem on our floor and this seemed to fix things.

The in house Spa is excellent with very well trained staff. Prices are very reasonable and the spa is very clean and well maintained.

Motorbike hire available across the road at Barbara's..cheap and bikes are reliable and in good condition.

We would certainly come again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th floor give you a stunning and uninterupted view of the beautiful beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagullhotelqn, Manager at Seagull Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Polly R. Thank you for having shared your experience at Seagull Hotel. We appreciate your comments and are so happy you enjoyed your time at Seagull. Thanks and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    145
    48
    9
    4
See reviews for
45
115
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just a single afternoon and night on the journey north but an excellent stop off. The view and position would have been nice to have rested to for longer but the itinerary didn't allow. Great rooms on the 8th floor overlooking the bay to the south but because of the angle of the hotel to the beach (90 degrees) all rooms in the tower will have a view one direction or another.

You'll have the beach and warm sea to yourself during the day but even when the locals come out in the evening it's hardly busy. In fact you'll find just as many locals using the facilities at 6am!

There's a roof bar where you'll get a good breeze, cake and coffee at the end of the evening - unfortunately we can't recommend the cappuccino.

The hotel is used as a conference hotel and for weddings so breakfast can be busy, though there's an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you're in a high floor in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagullhotelqn, Manager at Seagull Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind thoughts. it is our favorite time of the day. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bright, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stay recently for two nights on a Wendy Wu tour great place to stay all rooms have a great view looking down the coast line. Lovely walk along the beach in the evening and nice beach to have a dip in during the day nice pool also and to have a cold refreshment as well. Great view from roof top and catch the early sunrise would stay here on my next visit back to Quy Nhon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagullhotelqn, Manager at Seagull Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks for your review. Everybody at Seagull is so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found this hotel to be excellent. It was a busy local holiday period and the hotel was very busy, however we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly in all aspects.
The breakfast offered many selections & options and the restaurant was in line with expected hotel prices. There are some very cheap and delicious eating places along the beach towards the main town.

One area that could be improved is for the hotel to offer bicycle hire as the bikes we hired from Barbara's/Kiwi Cafe were in a terrible state of repair and not worth the bother.

The beach is very nice and at night the view of the lights out at sea is amazing, especially when sipping a cocktail at the rooftop bar. Drinks & cocktails are also very affordable at the poolside area.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we ever go back to Quy Nhon. We also met many very friendly local people, particularly university students who wanted to practice their English. We chatted for a couple of hours with one group and really enjoyed the opportunity to learn about the local area whilst also taking the time to give something back to the community.

Room Tip: Generally the hotel was very quiet. Local people go swimming at the beach from around 5am (to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagullhotelqn, Manager at Seagull Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear HayesNZ
Warm Greeting from Seagull Hotel!
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and sharing your impression here.
It is a huge pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed all of our services and especially when we hear you say “We would definitely stay at this hotel again". To the hoteliers like us, that is the best thing would like to hear from the guest. You will never know how much that simple word makes us happy and encourage us. Once again, big thanks for that!!!
Kind regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for 5 nights having just travelled from Ho Chi Minh where we had stayed in a 5 star hotel.
Even though it is normally considered as 4 star, The Seagull was actually much nicer.
The room was very clean, quite spacious and well furnished . The air conditioning worked well and the bed was very comfortable.
We ate in the hotel restaurant every evening and enjoyed very reasonably priced, very tasty meals.
The staff are unfailingly friendly and attentive .
Even the sort of extras that many hotels charge a lot for ( mini bar, laundry etc) are extremely reasonably priced at The Seagull.
I frankly cannot begin to comprehend the petty, ill considered, spoilt brat frame of mind required to write one of the very recent negative reviews. This is a nice hotel. It's not The Ritz Carlton , but it doesn't claim to be and it's room rates reflect this.
We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MIKEANDMARTINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagullhotelqn, Manager at Seagull Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here. And thank you for the constructive feedback which helps us to make sure our future guests have as nice a time as you did. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Amazing views across the bay

We booked the hotels transfer for us$20 from Qui Nhon airport. Glad we had prebooked as we were approx 1 hr travelling to hotel. (And the airport is in the middle of countryside) We were lucky to have a room on the 10th floor - facing the sunrise. A beautiful view.

Staff service was very good. Evening turndown service with a plate of fruit. Wifi free throughout the hotel! Pretty stable.

Room was spotless. Small but very reasonably priced minibar. Reception staff were excellent in their assistance. Laundry service good. (All done by the next day)

The pool was undercover with no sun after midday. However if your a sun worshiper the beach is amazing ! I think if the hotel had put some sunbeds on the beach it would be brilliant.

There were lots of tour parties, conventions and weddings during the 5 nights we were there but no real disruption to our stay except on the Saturday when there was a very loud outdoor bank convention with kareoke (I think), although it finished pretty early. (And the manager did come to our table and apologise for the noise)

Good location, 10 - 15 mins walk to clothes market, electronic stores, supermarket and KFC. Beautiful gardens both sides of the hotel (public). Flat promenade that you could walk for miles. Plenty of little bars and restaurants which we did visit. The food in the hotel was excellent though so mainly ate there. The people in the town are also really friendly. (Not too many foreigners so everyone wanted to say "hello")

Loved the relaxing stay. Would definitely recommend the hotel.
It's marketed as a 3 star in the UK and I wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martine_floridahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagullhotelqn, Manager at Seagull Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We appreciate your comments and are so happy you enjoyed your time at Seagull! Thanks and safe travels. With best wishes from all at Seagull.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is one of the many so-called 4 star hotel in Vietnam, which foreign tourists are "welcomed" but where nobody speaks a word of english. Everything is, at least, disappointing in this hotel and at the most, horrible. The carpets everywhere are a verrrrryyy bad idea in subtropical weather and in corridors without aircon. The smell of humidity is everywhere, not to mention the smell of the big aquarium in one of the restaurants ; the water has not been changed for a decade. The swimming pool is small (and moderately clean), whereas there is huge empty spot next to it, which has no particular purpose. The smell in the rooms is unbearable (again, carpets.......) if you don't put the aircon on the freezing temperature mode. When it comes to food, one may wish the management (anyone ?) had the idea to set up one good one rather than to propose four bad ones. The service is beyond description : be prepared to ask three or four times your dishes if you don't speak vietnamese. Yes the food is cheap. But even the Pho Soups are made with dried noodles and reprocessed beef. And they are not available for lunch, only at breakfast. The last problem is : nobody cares.

Room Tip: Ask one without the stinking carpets, if there's one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemarysbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quy Nhon hotels
1.4 mi away
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
Saigon Quy Nhon Hotel
#9 of 15 in Quy Nhon
105 reviews
1.5 mi away
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
Muong Thanh Quy Nhon Hotel
#12 of 15 in Quy Nhon
39 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel & Healthcare Resort Quy Nhon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunflowers Hotel
Sunflowers Hotel
#6 of 15 in Quy Nhon
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoang Yen Hotel
Hoang Yen Hotel
#10 of 15 in Quy Nhon
35 reviews
5.2 mi away
AVANI Quy Nhon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Hotel

Property: Seagull Hotel
Address: 489 An Duong Vuong Street, Quy Nhon 956841, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Binh Dinh Province > Quy Nhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Quy Nhon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seagull Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seagull Hotel is a luxurious 4-star property located right on the beautiful and romantic beach of Quy Nhon city, just 20 minutes from Dieu Tri Train station, 45 minutes from Phu Cat Airport and close to historical spots and major landscaped sites, and just some walking steps to the central city with shopping and entertainments. The hotel is specially designed with the architecture of European style in a high standard, providing their guests a comfort and luxury during their stay. Moreover, all hotel rooms are fully equipped with modern facilities and have balconies with spectacular views facing the ocean. In some distance, Seagull Hotel is an ideal destination for both leisure and business travelers, especially for any one who really loves the Ocean.Come and experience your stay at one of the most luxurious hotels in Quy Nhon city- Seagull Hotel to soak in the fresh air at a charming beach city. * 170 Luxurious Rooms with 03 Suites* 06 Courteous Restaurants* 03 Bars* 05 Ballrooms with capacity from 20 up to 420 pax* Swimming Pool, Fitness Center* Spa & Massage Services* Water Sports Games* Seagull Travel Center* Seagull Event Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Seagull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing