We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent camping trip!”

French Creek State Park
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Elverson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent camping trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have been coming to French Creek for many years. It started as an annual camping trip with about a dozen friends and family and has become a twice a year event with over 25 campers! The camp sites are very wooded, clean and the the place is usually filled with nice people. The bathrooms are usually very clean - only one time were they dirty. There are great hiking and biking trails, a lake with fishing and kayak rentals and a wonderful pool in the summer time. You can rent cabins, yurts or tent camp. One of the most beautiful settings for a camping trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    8
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Park for Everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have been to French Creek many times (at least once a month for the last 6+ years) & participated in many different activities there. The camp sites are somewhat small & close together, and the campground can get very crowded on summer weekends. We went tent camping on Loop D & were relieved that the bathroom facilities were modern (running water, toilets, showers, separate sinks for washing dishes). Several miles of hiking trails run throughout the park, we prefer the blue trail & green trail. There are two lakes: Hopewell & Scotts Run. Scotts Run is a stocked trout cold-water lake. Hopewell is a warm-water lake. Hopewell Lake also has a pool nearby, picnic area, and boat rentals. In the winter if ice forms, you can also go ice fishing at either lake. It is also located adjacent to Hopewell Furnace National Park. We like going to French Creek because it is a quiet place away from the ever-expanding suburbs, and each time we go is a unique experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A quiet Sunday into Monday in early September”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We decided to spend a night in the woods, camping in early September, a week after Labor Day, just the two of us and our tent, air mattress, and a little stuff to make the night enjoyable, like Graham crackers, chocolate and marshmallows.

We settled on French Creek State Park because it's just 52 miles from home and because the reviews for tent camping on Trip Advisor were all very positive. We arrived mid afternoon on Sunday without a reservation. Alexa at the Campground office was exceptionally helpful. She told us the campground was virtually empty because the weekend was over and the hundreds of campers that had been in the campground for the weekend were almost all packed up and out of the park. She suggested we first look at site A18, and also suggested we look at the sites in loop D, which we did. We settled on A10 because the picnic table at A18 was in rough shape. A18 is a lovely large site and within 100 yards, or less, of the wash rooms and toilettes, but A10 was just as good, just as close, and just as private. However, there are plenty of similar sites in the A loop, and also in the D loop. B and C loops have electricity and are more likely to be used by campers pulling a trailer or driving a small RV. The wash room in the D loop was the decider for us in taking A10 over anything the D loop had to offer; it was not as modern as the wash room in the A loop. That’s a minor factor but when the entire campground is practically empty, as it was on a Sunday in early September, something has to figure into the “tough choice” of which campground to select.

All the factors that make a pleasant tent site optimal are available at French Creek; the sites are located on one-way loops, deep in the 100-year old forest, with good fire rings, flat tent sites, reasonably close to potable water, and not too far from toilets. Even better, French Creek’s campground could not have been cleaner or better maintained. It was hard to spot even a chewing gum wrapper.

The only consideration I noticed about the site we selected, which was a non-factor for the night we spent there but could have a major impact was the site we selected, as were many others I observed, was the location of the tent was downhill from the road, the car park and the fire pit. If we had gotten an inch of rain, our tent would have been inundated. That’s a factor worth considering if you have the luxury of selecting a tent site on the same day as you arrive. Reserving in advance, blind about optional sites would make selecting a tent site a bit hazardous if a heavy rain occurred.

Other than that, French Creel is an ideal tenting state park, with all the amenities we needed, particularly good and well marked hiking trails, deep in Penn’s Woods. Firewood is not sold within the park but there is wood available from private sellers at the various entrances to the parks. We purchased enough quality, split wood for $8.00 to last well into mid-morning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveVegoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
1 review
“Relaxing camp and park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

One of the best camping grounds I have ever visited. Clean and relaxing and good facilities around.

I am wondering as to how it got its name French?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank eelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Springs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“What a great place to enjoy the outdoors!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I met friends who were camping for the weekend. Bathhouse is updated and relatively clean. Beautiful state park. Great playgrounds for kids and plenty to do. Going back today to play disc golf and kayak!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Creek State Park also viewed

 

Been to French Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing