We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been to lake ouachita before”
Review of Lake Ouachita

Lake Ouachita
Ranked #5 of 78 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest lake in Arkansas covers 48,300 acres.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never been to lake ouachita before”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a surprisingly beautiful lake! It was different than any lake I have ever seen, and the only thing I regret is that I did not have enough time there. Would love to go back.

The whole place is surrounded in forest, it looked a bit exotic. There are a variety of islands all through the lake and plenty of open space. The water isn't clear like the Caribbean, but for lake water it was clean and clear and fresh.

The fishing is awesome! Check out Xtreme strike guide service if you get the chance...it is well worth it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    59
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Milton, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful clean lake for swimming, fishing, whatever”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent 4 days on a houseboat on this lake. It really lives up to its reputation - very clean. There is little development on the shores of the lake (marinas really) so keeps it's rustic feel. We practically had the lake to ourselves the first week in June; the water was cool but it was warm outside so was good for swimming. The houseboats are too big to explore some of the smaller coves so it may be better to explore with a little boat. We docked our houseboat (you just tie up to trees on the shore) and swam, explored the island. The water is clear to about 10-15' down.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SfdbMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A must-see lake, quiet, serene, up on the mountain, not far from town. Gorgeous ride - pack a lunch!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank txchiquita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My Lake to share”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

You will never regret spending a day walking trails and swimming in one of the premier lakes Arkansas has to offer. Just drop dead gorgeous! Mountain creeks that lead right into the lake deep pools to just relax in and islands to camp on. NICE!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JimWithrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cleanest lake in Arkansas”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The water in Lake Ouachita is wonderful for skin diving or snorkeling. The Corps of Engineers rates the water as the cleanest and clearest of all the lakes it administers. The fishing is excellent, as well as all water sports

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Orville P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Ouachita also viewed

 

Been to Lake Ouachita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing