We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place!”

Lake Catherine State Park
Ranked #14 of 74 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers good hikes, but it can be humid.
Memphis, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lake Catherine State Park is so beautiful. Being from dry hot Texas our stay was wonderful. We made reservation for the 26th of May cause it was full over Memorial weekend. They gave us options of sites and we picked number 61 cause it was closer to the water and a bigger area from what our reservation site put us. Nice level area so was easy to set up. Lake was very pretty and the whole park is very clean. Lots of wild life( we enjoyed watching the ducks). First day there it was pretty full and lots of kids playing and swimming but had no problems. Everyone was nice and the staff was great. Like any state park the bath rooms and showers were clean but you still had to watch for bugs. (I hate spiders) lol. I have seen lots worse in other parks. Most left after Monday (Memorial day) so it was pleasant and peaceful the rest of the week. We stayed 4 nights in our 34 ft. camper. There is a lot to do if your into hiking, swimming, fishing, boating or if your just wanting to relax. We do hope to go back again. There is a wash room and dryers also they came in handy with all the rain. Hubby walked to the water fall and he enjoyed it and took lots of pictures. I was very impressed with this park. We took some fire wood with us and kept it dry so we had a nice fire most nights. Most of the sites we saw are big with plenty of space. Nice picnic tables and a tent spot if needed. The camp host were very nice. Shady in most sites. I am sure the weekends are busy most of the time cause this park has so much to offer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    106
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wylie, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Lake Catherine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We first visited LAke Catherine State Park when my daughters were 4 and 5 year old. HAve continued to go back have taken my Grandkids and now my Great Grandkids. Leaving tomorrow for Lake Catherine again for a week. YOu cant go wrong some of the most beautiful hiking as well as the Friendliest people you will ever want to meet. We spent Thanksgiving this past year there with the family. LOVE IT and you will too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ljt6113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, Arkansas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Another beautiful Arkansas state Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I've visited several of Arkansas' state parks. This one is one of the best. It has camping, hiking, lake activities and you can even camp in a yurt.

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Spring, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a great Park! Nature Cabin, Waterfall and Swimming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I visited this park with my wife and 6 year old over Memorial Day weekend. I was impressed with all the different things that were available! They have a really nice visitor center and gift shop, a nature cabin with all sorts of critters, lots of hiking trails, a swimming beach, and lots of great fishing spots! We went by the nature cabin first and visited with a couple park interpreters. Keith and Steve were both very cordial and helpful. Next we hiked the Falls Branch trail. It was beautiful and just the right length for my little boy. The waterfall was really neat and lots of people were swimming in the pool below the falls. It was about a 2 mile loop trail, but if you want to cheat you can do the trail backwards and it takes you to the falls in about .5 miles. You could also float in from the lake in a kayak and be right at the falls! This little park is a gem and we will definitely be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty but can be noisy ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Pretty view even with odd steam plant. Trails well maintained. Very friendly staff. Tent pads need maintaince to raise centers so rain drains out not to center. Bathrooms O.K. but no towels. NOISE - Once Friday/Saturday came whole different crowd. Very unruly kids (lots and some wore scout shirts) back and forth through campsite and took over fishing pier, yelling constantly, riding bikes loudly early Saturday morning - and no supervision. The disrespect for fellow campers continued with the loud, drunks later. Finally had enough. Park Ranger gave them warning and things got better. Pretty waterfall until the weekend people/kids descended and took over. For pictures go early. If you're looking to relax and quietly enjoy the beauty of Lake Catherine - avoid weekends. Shocked at lack of camping etiquette. Maybe signage regarding quiet time (like other states) would help.

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Catherine State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Catherine State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing