We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Arlington Hotel in Hot Springs Arkansas is an amazing place to stay. If you are looking for a place that provides you with Southern Charm, outstanding hospitality, excellent service, then the Arlington is for you.
Winrock International just went to the Arlington for a three day retreat and meetings. We had a great time. The Arlington staff worked tirelessly to provide meals, meetings rooms and services that were beyond our expectations.
They provided a wide range of services from meetings rooms, meals and spa and salon services. If your organization is looking for all inclusive hotel and meetings space, check out the Arlington.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and spacious, can’t go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darla Cahoone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,236 - 1,242 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

Had an amazing time at the Arlington. The service is second to none and the valets are very personable. Especially Ted! Staying at this hotel is like stepping back into the 1920s. Great food and lobby bar and entertainment is very nice. Lively place at night. My wife and I enjoyed the spacious patio overlooking all of the happenings on Central. The hotel is 88 years old so don't go expecting a brand new Embassy suites or something. This place is much better. It has character!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimandkrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I booked this as a surprise for my husband. I had stayed at the Arlington many years ago. We stayed in a standard room with a king bed. The room was nice and big, the bathroom clean with plenty of towels. New showerhead with lots of hot water and good water pressure. We were very pleased with our visit. We enjoyed the live music in the lobby at night and everyone was very pleasant during our stay. We did not eat in the hotel but did stop by the starbucks in the lobby several times. We got up one morning and hiked the trails right across the street in the park. The hotel is old with alot of great atmosphere, we were very happy with our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a huge pile of a hotel, and has clearly seen much better days. Rooms are varied in size and levels of comfort. Even smaller rooms are quite comfortable, if rather scruffy and tired re decor and fittings.

Front desk staff can be surly and unhelpful - dealing with them - and seeing how they dealth with other customers - remnded me of experiences of eastern Europe before the Berlin wall came down. They seem to think they are doing you a huge favor. However everyone else in the hotel was helpful and friendly.

The restaurant is a nightmare dining scenaro, with a worn out pianist cranking out tired renditions of jazz favorites. The restaurant also smells awful, even when empty. Private dining areas are much better.

The massage and gym facilities are a bit primitive, but adequate.

Public area decor is tasteless - bordering on the hideous.

This should be a fun place to go, but it isn't. It's tacky and scruffy and best avoided until they spend a few million bucks on a major renovation. Plenty of other options.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeremyCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is truly a trip back in time, especially when partaking of the mineral baths in the downstairs spa. Hot Springs has a surprising gangster history and Capone had his own suite on the fourth floor.

Rooms are comfortable and large and it's so easy to take a trip down the elevator to enjoy the inexpensive "works" mineral bath and Swedish massage. Water from the famous hot springs is piped into elegant wall fountains, and it's free to take as much home as you want. It is wonderful chilled! Bring your own container, or buy an empty jug for $1 in the gift shop.

Walk from the hotel down Central Avenue, smack dab in the middle of Hot Springs National Park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Central Avenue or book Al Capone's suite for a splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jayne1973Dallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My elderly dad grew up in Hot Springs so we have been going to the Arlington for years. Only now, we don't spend the night, but we always go there to sit in the rocking chairs, read the newspaper, have coffee, visit with friends and eat lunch in the atrium or bar area. Their food is excellent, their evening buffets are fabulous and you won't find a nicer hotel anywhere. We went in their sweaty and tired from shopping recently and the waiter brought us glass after glass of tea and water and a heaping hamburger and great food! It's a fun place to gather, take pictures. They have a gallery showing the early days over 100 years ago for everybody to view. It's great Americana. Don't miss a visit!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

If you are looking for a "resort hotel" of the Vegas type, the Arlington is not it. If you are looking for a hotel that has considerable history and -- let's face it, the type of charm that a Southern "lady of a certain age" has -- and you're willing to put up with some shabby chic, then this is for you. The Arlington has been around in its present incarnation since 1924, when it was state-of-the-art, and according to the management, there are continuous updates. I have been visiting the hotel (and Hot Springs) for one reason or another since 1990 and have always had good, if varied, experiences. The rooms are fairly reasonable for a "resort" hotel, but it's always wise to book in advance. Whatever their size, the rooms are painted a uniform pink and white (think "magnolia" theme, which is ubiquitous here). The bathrooms have fairly ancient fixtures (although modern shower-heads in most), and the towels are of the YMCA locker-room type, but if you are attracted to the tiny hexagonal white tiles that were a fixture in bathrooms of the mid-last century (as I am), this can be another attractive "vintage" feature. What's not such a good vintage feature is that the updating, let alone upkeep, of the rooms is an on-going process and some have not gotten the update: in our last room (we stayed over St. Patrick's Day weekend for the races), the pink-tinted plaster in the bathroom kept crumbling into the sink like face powder and you could see layers of paint crumbling on the windows (that you can, thankfully, open but that have no screens. Rooms do have adequate heating and cooling). Even the modern updates are somewhat unreliable: the flat-screen TV in our room got bad reception; the wireless was faint and turtle-like. When fixtures and appliances do break down, however (on occasion I have encountered a leaky faucet or toilet or some other non-functioning item), the staff is prompt and courteous in fixing what they can. Noise, despite heavily carpeted halls, can occasionally be a problem (this is a resort, after all), but if you want to relax, the spa, again with very vintage features -- note, vintage not retro, these are real -- is amazingly restful and offers great massages and facials. There is a great outdoor hot tub fed by thermal springs that has a great view of the mountains behind the hotel, and if you feel up to hiking, you can find a lot of marked scenic trails in the Hot Springs National Park that adjoins the Arlington property. In season, there is also an outdoor pool with a similar view. (Not all the hotel rooms have good views; be sure to ask for one when reserving.) The Lobby Bar (enlarged and rebuilt in 1995) gets jumping in the evenings, with free popcorn from (what else?) a vintage machine. On weekends, there is music that you can actually dance to (that is, if your tastes run more to swing and jitterbug than boot-scootin' or hip-hop). The Fountain Room serves a spectacular (and costly) Seafood Buffet on Friday nights and a Sunday Brunch, but lunch and dinner are available in the Lobby Bar otherwise. Breakfast (if you don't want the breakfast buffet) can be a problem; the onsite Starbucks offers great coffee (very small coffee machines in the rooms also) but packaged Sara Lee pastries and there are few breakfast eateries nearby that offer fast service or short lines. In the racing season, the hotel offers a $5.00 per person shuttle to Oaklawn, which is a bargain, but can be pretty packed at times. There is also valet parking ($15.00 a day) or you can self-park for less (I'd opt for the valet). Some of the staff I have noticed have been at the hotel since I started coming there, and I have found them invariably courteous and helpful. The Arlington is also child-friendly (there's a lot to do for kids in Hot Springs; less for teens) and accepts pets (for a fee; there may also be size restrictions, although I brought my Siberian Husky there once and had no problem). Guests at the Arlington can also avail themselves of the Hot Springs Country Club, although we never saw need or occasion to.

Room Tip: Book ahead; be sure to mention any available discounts; ask for rooms with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#4 of 45 in Hot Springs
112 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
419 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: 239 Central Ave., Hot Springs, AR 71901
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: £85 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic icon is perfectly located in Hot Springs National Park on beautiful Bathhouse Row. Since 1925 visitors have traveled to Hot Springs to stay, play and rejuvenate in the healing mineral waters of the natural thermal springs. Step back in time walking in the footsteps of such famous legends as Babe Ruth, Al Capone, Rudolph Valentino, Jack Dempsey, Lucky Luciano, Joe DiMaggio, Will Rogers, Johnny Cash, Marilyn Monroe and Presidents: John F. Kennedy, Theodore Roosevelt, Ronald Reagan, and Bill Clinton. Feel the romance and charm of this culturally historic place. Experience a traditional bath at The Arlington Bathhouse or simply step outside to enjoy shopping, dining, and entertainment at the Ohio Club, the Pancake Shop, Gangster Museum, Superior Bathhouse Brewery or take a cupcake break at Fat Bottom Girls. If nature calls, hike or bike miles of scenic trails in our first National Park or try your luck digging for diamonds or playing the ponies or slots at Oaklawn Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Resort Hotel And Spa
Arlington Hot Springs Arkansas
Arlington Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing