We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything....that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stay at the Arlington approximately 3 or 4 times a year. We ONLY stay here because we can park our car for the weekend and walk everywhere we want to go. The historical feel of the hotel is great but about played out. The lobby is historically beautiful, the bar is decent and Friday and Saturday nights are always entertaining with the live band and assortment of dancers or those dancers who have defiantly had some liquid encouragement. We love to people watch so this is fun for us.
The rooms and pool area leave MUCH to be desired. It being valentines weekend we were stuck in room 205 on the second floor, just above the lobby (yes, where the live bands plays until 1230 am! And receptions are held, along with the public restrooms for these events) this room was a dungeon! We had never been in a room below the 5 floor. Which is doable if you are lucky enough to face to park. The rooms are musty and NEED to be updated. You would think being a historical landmark this place could get a grant to restore what was once a grand hotel.
The nicest part would be the spa and bathhouse, which are dated but the staff way more than makes up for that. They are so awesome and friendly. They take their time and let you soak up every moment.
We will continue to stay here I am sure for the very reasons listed above. If you are looking for more modern amenities this place is definitely not for you. If you are willing to just deal with it, you will likely enjoy.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GeoffandCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Valentines weekend was probably the busiest we have seen the hotel in years and especially the entire area. I am truly sorry we were unable to move you from the second floor. I do understand on the second night that we were able to move you to the eighth floor for a more restful evening.

Appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service in the future.

Bob Martorana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Many generations came here, makes me feel my mothers spirit, but this is the last straw. My husband and I continued tradition every year for 20 yrs. it has gotten so rough Man off the street almost punched us to take our chair(we actually BUY drinks) not like the rednecks upstairs looking over dance floor. They had 4 domino pizzas and 2 boxes of wine. Class!!
Upon checking, did they tell is that our room on second floor would be vibrating to the rednecks and band until 1 am every night?
No apologies. I miss my parents, but we will NEVER return. Bad plumbing, bad management, and horrible customer service. It is a shame that these local inbreds don't have any class to appreciate the heritage

Stayed: February 2014
5  Thank Sherri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

I was very disappointed and disturbed by the experience you had last weekend. Based on your loyalty it was a shame that we were unable to move your room from the second floor. We did in fact ask the individuals to remove the food and beverage from the public areas.

No matter what the circumstances are we have always strive for good customer service.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused and please accept the gift card I am sending you in an effort to win your confidence back.

Bob Martorana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The quality of this room is ridiculous. I understand that it is an older, historic hotel, but you do have to remodel the rooms. Cracks in the walls, rust stains in the sink and bathtub, it's unbelievable...
I hope they have other rooms nicer than the one I had.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank razorback5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

There are certainly no excuses for the condition of your room and especially the bathroom. We have been installing and renovation some of the smaller bathrooms with pedestal sinks that improve the appearance.

Bob Martorana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Arlington Hotel is a wonderful hotel to stay with your loved one or with family! We haven't had the privilege of staying there in a while but I have wanted to write a review since then! If you go Plz take advantage of the spa and massage! Being within the hotel is a wonderful plus! The Saturday night dance with a live band is so entertaining! There are a few minor drawbacks: Always ask for a room AWAY from the elevator! Also the heat and air is the same in the whole hotel so if you go in say March and its warm the air conditioning may not be on yet! It may not be the perfect hotel for 20 to 30 year olds! All in all I would go back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: ALWAYS away from elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

While the Arlington has a huge historical value it's not someplace I want to sleep again.

I'm sure at one time this hotel was the pinnacle of excellence. However today I believe the Motel 6 has a leg up on the Fire Hydrant known as the Arlington.

My complaint is not with the staff its clearly with the mismanagement and poor long term business planning of the current management team . This hotel seems to change hands more than the outsourced maid staff who changes the sheets.

Customer service should not be lip service. Milking a property for all the cash one can squeeze out of it and then sell it is not customer service its being a slum lord.

To be honest the bar and the wait staff, and the bellmen and the spa all went out of their way to make up for the blatant and screaming failures of this management teams poor decisions.

As I walk in the hotel I was clearly impressed by the historical value of my surroundings and the genuine welcome I received from the bellmen and the front desk.

Everything was going well until I walked into the room. Paint peeling from the ceiling, a musty smell permeated the air, the bathroom was dirty complete with more peeling paint and plumbing which hasn't been updated since the late sixties early seventies.

I was looking forward to the hot springs bath in the room and well after what I just shared with you - no so much actually I didn't want to sit in the tub.

I thought to myself certainly the pool area or hot tub in the winter would be a focal point or a highlight for the property. No sadly it was the focal point for more ridicule.

I have to ask myself who is making the decisions around here? What's more important, reinvesting in ones business future, or just milking the hell out of an already dry cow.

So I think to myself at least I'll just settle in with my computer and try and relax in this manner.

I was pleased to find there was free internet but wait - The internet is so poor I could barely check my email - Actually the internet was so bad AOL dial up would have been a step up.

Honestly I have had better internet service in third world countries.

I was so disappointed I went to bar to tie one on in an attempt to sleep it off, and have some breakfast. My plan in the morning was to head to a hotel who understands the value of customer service.

The bar was good and the locals were great to talk to. I ordered food while at the bar and I have to say it was very good as well as the service, and the genuine nature of the staff waiting on me.

Investing in basic hotel upgrades, investing in the staff rather than outsourcing them and berating them, would better serve this property.

Perhaps a course at the local community college surrounding business management and human resources would better serve this owners management team. But what do I know - I only travel for a living.

So to summarize - if I wanted a room by the hour the Arlington would be my choice - if I want a consistent product where the property reinvests in its customers and staff - well I'll just have to stay somewhere else.

Until this owner gives the hotel a good enema reliving itself of the ridiculous management team I wont be staying at the hotel gain. Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice I'd have to be an idiot.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bob95895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Please accept my apologies for your recent stay.

Due to fluctuating business levels we have outsourced some positions in the hotel which we have found beneficial. The team members are made to feel a part of the hotel staff that has been here for many years.
I can tell you that in the four years that I have been the General Manager we are not milking the profits and plan on spending as much as possible to upgrade the hotel. The maintenance is ongoing in both the public areas as well as behind the scenes which is more difficult to see.

Appreciate your comments regarding the staff going out of their way.

Bob Martorana
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I have wanted too stay in this hotel for awhile and decided too do it at the beginning of January. First the only staff at this place that is respectful and even care about making your stay good. I would have to say is the wonderful men at vallet and at the bar they have manners and care about the customer. By the way this hotel NEEDS TO SERVE SNACKS OR SOMETHING AFTER NINE NOT JUST ALCOHOL some of us don't drink and stale popcorn in a small cup just isn't working for you guys!! The room was a joke the blinds were pulled all the way up where you could see in on the patio; they were the cheap blinds we couldn't get them down don't call it a balcony on the phone when it is a patio closed in please!!! There were bugs the bed!!!! They had the balls to handed me the sheets like i work there to make the bed myself and told me that they contract out the maids!! P.S. I Found out after getting in the bed yuck!!! The toilet leaked and it took forever to get hot water I mean FOREVER!!!! I was heart broken this hotel is so beautiful and so many memories please fix it it needs help and fast it is a shame because it would and could be so much better!!! I would go back if they fixed it like a real 1800s hotel and not a 1970 horror theme!! PS the TV could be from this day and age please all the money this hotel makes they can afford a new TV please!!! And fyi clean the pool and hot tub I realize it is January but show some class!! New management is an understatement for you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank samurai111617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Be careful when you make a reservation at this hotel. I had a very bad experience with them - I wasn't asking for anything except what was common sense but apparently the people/supervisor that work there in the billing department don't care about taking care of customers. It's too bad because it's a neat, historical place to visit. They just need to realize that customers are who enables them to have a business. Smart businesses take care of their customers.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank KathrynRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#4 of 45 in Hot Springs
113 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
423 reviews
6.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: 239 Central Ave., Hot Springs, AR 71901
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: £84 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic icon is perfectly located in Hot Springs National Park on beautiful Bathhouse Row. Since 1925 visitors have traveled to Hot Springs to stay, play and rejuvenate in the healing mineral waters of the natural thermal springs. Step back in time walking in the footsteps of such famous legends as Babe Ruth, Al Capone, Rudolph Valentino, Jack Dempsey, Lucky Luciano, Joe DiMaggio, Will Rogers, Johnny Cash, Marilyn Monroe and Presidents: John F. Kennedy, Theodore Roosevelt, Ronald Reagan, and Bill Clinton. Feel the romance and charm of this culturally historic place. Experience a traditional bath at The Arlington Bathhouse or simply step outside to enjoy shopping, dining, and entertainment at the Ohio Club, the Pancake Shop, Gangster Museum, Superior Bathhouse Brewery or take a cupcake break at Fat Bottom Girls. If nature calls, hike or bike miles of scenic trails in our first National Park or try your luck digging for diamonds or playing the ponies or slots at Oaklawn Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Resort Hotel And Spa
Arlington Hot Springs Arkansas
Arlington Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing