We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Resort on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarion Resort on the Lake
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbus, MS
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrive at the hotel and was told our room was ready. Wrong-dirty linens still in the bathroom. The iron didn't work-we did get another one-and one of the lamp did not work and it wasn't the bulb. Cobwebs, finger nail clippings, etc were found also. The restaurant for breakfast did not have any milk, apple juice or tea made. Also, the first morning the coffee cup was very dirty with dried coffee grounds in it. The second morning, food was cold, rude waitress and the kitchen was not prepared for breakfast even with a full hotel. The internet service was no service at all the majority of the time. The website is very misleading. The pictures of the hotel show a lot of green grass by the lake-it fails to show the brick fence between the hotel and the owners of the lawn. The only positive comment that I can make is that the hotel does have a boat dock. I encourage you to do down the street to another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullie9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    86
    72
    42
    29
See reviews for
96
102
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Byhalia, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Me and a friend stayed here this week....we will always stay here on our Hot Springs vacations.. the rooms are clean, food is great and the prices are reasonable in the restaurant..gravy and biscuits were the bomb... all the staff were so friendly and the pool area is awesome... if you have
kids, between the playground and pool you will not have trouble keeping them occupied.. and the fitness room looked great even though I didnt use it lol I will be back that is for sure !!!!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 2nd floor and the view of the lake was awesome and the air was cold and refreshing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlexusJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We came down for the Arkansas Derby races. We arrived early and our room was not ready yet, but the staff switched our room since we had plans to leave immediately for the track. We took our bags to out room- a generic hotel room with two queen beds and a tv. Not worth the money we paid, but better than some that were available. We left our dogs in our room (in a kennel) with specific instructions for them to call us if the barked or disturbed anyone. We waited on the shuttle for about an hour (drive or call your own cab way ahead of time if you stay here). Ashley, the wonderful woman at the front desk, was leaving and said that she'd be happy to drop us off at the track, but the shuttle pulled in just as she was getting ready to clock out. Had a great time at the races and even won some money! Afterwards, as we were going to dinner I called the hotel to check and see if the dogs were disturbing anyone (barking, crying, etc.) and for them to call me if there were issues- updated the staff due to shift change. I was assured there was no issues. 5 minutes later the hotel called and said the dogs were barking. As I had taken a cab to the restaurant, I had no way of getting back quickly, but a man leaving restaurant heard me talking to my wife and offered to take me back to the hotel. Upon arriving back at the hotel, I thanked the man and gave him the cash that I would have paid a cab. I walked in and talked to a guy at the front desk who was nice enough. Upon walking to my room there was no barking or noise at all coming from our room. Oh well, I'm sure they quieted down before I got there. I ordered room service from the restaurant- Amazing burger!
Overall, the hotel room was over priced and dated. The shuttle was not on a dependable schedule (not the hotel's fault). The staff, led by Ashley, was phenomenal and went out of their way to ensure that we had an amazing time. The burger from the bar/ restaurant was great. If I go back to the races next year, I'll pay a few extra dollars and stay directly across from the track.

Room Tip: Try out the lake view rooms. We switched ours for a noisier, first floor street view across the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Bathroom toilet ran all night, tub didn't hold water, floors were never vacuumed. Dog treats from previous renter stayed on floor for 4 days, did u look under ur beds...eww and dust was everywhere. We tried to make the maids jobs easy Cuz I've done this job b4. What they need is re trained on how to move a bed to vacuum, and sanitize bathroom by not leaving someone else's hairs all over. Yuk, and don't forget to dust, it was everywhere.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DeAnna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel with GREAT views and a great location (close enough to downtown and the spas but "off the beaten path" so you can get some rest!

The room was a little small (not even a desk in it due to its size), but it had a great view and was clean and had a nice bed.

I think it's a little pricey when compared to other offerings in the area, especially since they do NOT even offer a free breakfast (extremely rare for a Choice Hotel)!

The people were very friendly and accommodating, but due to the price-I will not be returning..

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to have a better view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff was really nice, but a bit inefficient. It was Memorial Day weekend, so it was busy. I watched fireworks from my balcony, so that was nice. The location is good because it's right on the water and next to Smyley's Crab Shack (a popular bar/restaurant). That being said, the beds were WAY too soft and the room smelled a bit musty. It was extremely inexpensive, though. So, overall, it was good value for money and I'd stay again. :)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanHillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great location on the lake! Have to say my favorite is the bar and grill!! Burgers are great and super friendly staff that cared our trip and made sure made the best of it. Their knowledge of places to have fun is impeccable!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank razorbackrws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
5.0 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#5 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.0 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
#23 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Resort on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort on the Lake

Property: Clarion Resort on the Lake
Address: 4813 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71913-7405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Clarion Resort on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort On The Lake Hotel Hot Springs
Clarion Resort Hot Springs
Clarion Hot Springs
Hot Springs Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing