We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, but low food quality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picante's Mexican Grill

Picante's Mexican Grill
Ranked #84 of 269 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: (501) 623-2300
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service, but low food quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I went to Picante's for lunch because Subway was simply too crowded. The chips were great, but the 'salsa' tasted like and had the consistency of a spiced ketchup. I ordered a chicken enchilada with rice and beans. The enchilada was okay, but I'd never been served rice like this before. The rice was mixed with diced carrots, Lima beans, and more.. It was not very appetizing. Also the beans were disappointing. As I tried to check out, they had a problem with the register - not their fault - but caused a delay. Eventually one of the guys working on it, took out his wallet and gave me change out of his wallet.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    22
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I cannot stress enough how amazing the staff was! We have a very picky eater in our group who does not like Mexican food and our server made him up a special grilled chicken meal. The margaritas were wonderful as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go Razorback!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The Razorback Special is delicious and I make two meals out of the serving size. The price is right and they are quick to get the food on the table. It is a "go to" spot for our office outings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tbspavins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a hidden jewel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We were going to the German restaurant that has changed names and owners. So we decided to check out the New Mexican restaurant. What a great idea this was. Th service was fast and caring. The food was the best Mexican I have had in long time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton AndStef... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heber Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were seated right next to another couple when the restaurant was almost empty. That's about the only slightly negative I can say. The waiter was very attentive, he made an excellent Long Island Tea, and served us very well.
The food was GOOD, and we got a lot for what we paid. Our tally was 2 (rather large) entrees, 2 beers, 1 long island tea, and lots of salsa and chips for about $33.....
The best value we got all weekend in Hot Springs, actually.
I would go there just to eat (and drink Long Island Tea) and hang out....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Picante's Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Picante's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing