We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Trip Back in Time to "Happy Days"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purple Cow

Purple Cow
Ranked #3 of 12 Dessert in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texarkana,Texas
Level Contributor
481 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A Trip Back in Time to "Happy Days"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

While we were visiting Hot Springs recently we happened to discover this wonderful little restaurant near our hotel. We were short on time so we kept driving around expecting to find a drive thru window but no such luck! We did, however, find parking for take out. When we entered the manager greeted us and suggested that we go inside to the soda fountain counter to order instead of ordering at the take out counter. I could understand why since the Purple Cow was like a trip back to the American soda fountains of the 1950's. It is a real "Happy Days" kind of place that serves their customers Burgers & Hot Dogs, Soups and Salads, and Sandwiches as well as an awesome selection of Shakes and Malts for the Young or Young at Heart and Grown-Ups!

This restaurant is part of an Arkansas restaurant chain with other locations in Little Rock on Chenal Parkway and Cantrell Road and in Conway. Their Business Hours at all locations are as follows:
Sunday - Thursday, 11 am - 9 pm and Friday & Saturday 11 am - 10 pm.

If you are fortunate enough to visit during the weekend, you will discover that they also serve a Weekend Brunch to their customers!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filmbuffintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovepurplecow, Public Relations Manager at Purple Cow, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear filmbuffintexas:

Thank you for visiting Purple Cow on your recent visit to Hot Springs and for posting your glowing review on Trip Advisor. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the nostalgia you felt while dining. Atmosphere is such a big part of the Purple Cow experience and I'm glad that you enjoyed it. We sure hope that you come back and visit us again real soon.

Thanks
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    77
    25
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had excellent service from Brandi and the food was good. I wouldn't call it outstanding, but I would eat there again if I had the opportunity.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soon-R-Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovepurplecow, Owner at Purple Cow, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello Soon-R-Gal

Thank you for your compliments on Brandi's service and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you again at Purple Cow the next time you visit Hot Springs.

Thank you
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
“"A TRIP BACK IN TIME"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our dinner this evening was great! It was like stepping back in time with great music and atmosphere. We had the smoked club and best chili dog which was great, just a little suggestion for the club use more condiment on the bread for it was a little dry [no complaints just suggesting]. The sampler is amazing choice of your sides and fresh chips great idea. Our server Andrew was a little more absorbed with one of his other tables that his service to our table was down right annoying. Thanks to one your other servers Candy that was just checking on her coworkers tables as she left from one of her tables asked how we were doing. Candy was very helpful with the dessert menu and suggested the perfect choices for our grandchildren and us. She told us the story of the nursery rhyme and showed the kids the one hanging in your restaurant then she gave them Purple Cow stickers and continued to other tables passing them out to other children. The banana split and lava cake was amazing and will recommend establishment highly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 137robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovepurplecow, Owner at Purple Cow, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear 137Robert

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor and for visiting Purple Cow. I am delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your Club Sandwich, Chili Dog, Sampler Platter, Banana Split and Lava Cake. I am so sorry to hear that Andrew did not do a great job for you but I am glad to hear that Candy saved the day. We will be sure to recognize Candy's heroics and work with Andrew to make sure he is more aware of his guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you
Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

First time here, love the atmosphere. Staff is great and the grasshopper was awesome. Definitely need to stop by. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovepurplecow, Public Relations Manager at Purple Cow, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Jeremy B:

Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that your first experience at The Purple Cow was awesome and that you enjoyed your Grasshopper Shake! We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Thank You,

Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Purple Cow has great food and better people with great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We totally enjoyed our dinner this evening at Purple Cow. The server, Nick, was right on top of our order. He appeared to be having fun talking with all the customers and was a real pleasure for us. Our glasses were never empty, our food was delivered hot, our desserts delivered cold (ice cream sundaes and pie with ice cream) and always with a smile and a joke. The manager, whose name I unfortunately didn't get was just as pleasant and engaging as Nick and maybe even clairvoyant. He placed an "I Love Purple Cow" sticker on my cap as I was working my way through the club sandwich. How could he know this? Very impressive considering that there were 4 in my party and 5 groups in the restaurant at the time.

We ordered a club sandwich with fries instead of chips; a five alarm burger with fries instead of chips; a small Caesar salad; and a buffalo chicken sandwich with chips. All of us enjoyed the food which was prepared as ordered and delivered promptly so that the hot things were fresh and hot and cold things were cold. We usually don't get dessert but the fun atmosphere, the great people working there, and the wide selection led us to order two double-scoop sundaes, a single-scoop sundae and a slice of apple pie with ice cream. My double-scoop had their signature purple vanilla ice cream and mint chocolate chip with hot fudge and caramel toppings, whipped cream and nuts. It was delicious. The other sundaes and the pie with purple vanilla ice cream were also enjoyed.

If you've never been to a Purple Cow you are missing out on some excellent atmosphere. It is a fun place to visit with family or friends. Jukebox music plays in the background - Elvis, Fats, Jerry Lee, basically just what you'd get on 45's when they still pressed singles. You have to be cool like me to remember those days and the words to the songs. Kids love Purple Cow because it has a great kid-friendly menu with regular foods and great desserts. This is an excellent place for birthday parties, school club parties or functions, or social gatherings.

There is something on the menu for everyone - salads, soups, sandwiches, burgers, etc. and all at prices that are totally affordable with most (maybe all) items under $10. Desserts - $5 I think for 3 large scoops of any of their flavors (mix and match whatever you want) with 3 toppings is awesome!

And, as if it couldn't get any better, they're open till 10 pm on Friday and Saturday and if you show up at 8:50 pm as we did you are seated immediately in a booth or at a table (your choice) and your drink order is taken and delivered promptly. We dined on a Friday night. Great experience for us. Will definitely have this place at the top of our list of Hot Springs stops when we come back through.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovepurplecow, Public Relations Manager at Purple Cow, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear lert:

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your review was very detailed and helpful. We are so pleased to hear that Nick and the management staff in Hot Springs exceeded your expectations. We are also glad that you decided to try out our sundaes and loved them. We can't wait to see you again on your next visit to Arkansas!

Thank You,

Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Cow also viewed

 
 

Been to Purple Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing